We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place- wished we could have stayed longer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Love this place- wished we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. Everyone was so nice, cookies at the front desk and fresh fruit water in the lobby. The hotel had a really nice sitting area too in the lobby. The Bistro 39 restaurant in the hotel had really delicious food and they were allergy friendly as well. Plenty of parking, easy check in and check out. Room was very nice, pool area was outside but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aloha08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    258
    47
    22
    8
See reviews for
309
232
68
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

For the past 4 years, I have stayed at the Hilton Del Mar across the street from the Del Mar racetrack. I had gotten to know the staff and really enjoyed my stays there. This trip, however, the hotel was totally booked so I chose to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn on Ocean Bluff Ave. What a nice surprise! Easy access to the I5 and shops. The rooms were immaculate with lovely bedding and firmness control mattress's. The restaurant offers a $10.95 breakfast that is wonderful. I had a veggie omelet with several strips of bacon (or you could have potatoes or sausage) and the price included the buffet of several kinds of fruit, yogurt, juices and breads. We ate dinner there also and I think the hamburger was quite possibly the best one I have ever eaten. The staff was very friendly and I felt very comfortable there. And the big bonus over the Hilton Del Mar was the free parking! I most certainly will stay again on my next visit to San Diego!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Had a wonderful stay with friendly staff and very good food and service....I will definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone who visits the area. I will be back for sure for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeCool23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nice hotel with friendly staff! They went out of their way to make sure my stay was pleasant and everyone from the front desk to the service staff greated me with a smile. I suggest booking an apt at the Spa if you have the time. Great facial and massage!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed here the first week in march 2013. I have stayed at hundreds of hotels in my 40 years of travel and by far this was my most enjoyable stay. Great cooked to orfer breakfast, clean and very modern rooms. Lots of parking. Employees that bend over backwards to be helpful.and my wife likes the free home made chocolate chip cookies.

Room Tip: Get one on a high floor away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfw447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin E, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. The fact that you described your stay as the most enjoyable in 40 years of travel is an unbelievable compliment. The team and I are thrilled to be apart of that and reviews like yours are the inspiration that keep us going. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We first chose this hotel because of the name, we originally thought the hotel was located in Del Mar near the fairgrounds but it really isn't. It is close but you still need to get back onto the highway to get to the fairgrounds area. The hotel looks nice and the staff is pretty friendly. The
rooms are comfortable but at the time they had only one working elevator and it is extremely slow. The hotel pool is no larger than an oversized jacuzzi so if you have a family and they enjoy swimming then you should choose another hotel. The hotel is trying a new coffee maker in the rooms which I tried and it was very good. Overall I would stay here again if breakfast was included with the room price which it wasn't when I booked the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aries808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location of the hotel was horrible, there was nothing near by. The pool didn't get any sunlight until late afternoon and only lasted a few hours. Very bad tv channel selection and no guide. No comp breakfast. Comforter was not up to par. Room didn't look like room online. One of the elevators was broken. Tea/Food was overpriced. No tourist guides/pamphlets. Way overpriced! The employees were very helpful though!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoliMS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#9 of 24 in La Jolla
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,347 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing