We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I've stayed in this hotel last June with my cousins Pay & Marie. It's really a very beautiful hotel and the services are excellent. Great breakfast and the people at the check in is very kind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerForPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    258
    47
    22
    8
See reviews for
309
232
68
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hOTEL IS LOCATED IN A VERY NICE AREA AND ABOUT 20/30 MINUTES FROM EVERYYTHING YOU WILL NEED TO SEE IN sAN dIEGO. We do suggest Highly this Hotel. Very close by there is the Beach area Camino Real that reallty worth a visit and they have plent of good restaurants there not even mention that it is only 15 minutes from La Jolla

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Ca.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in the first week of July to move our daughter from one college house to another. Arrived at the hotel at 9:30 PM tired and hungry after 10 hours of driving and 4 hours of moving furniture. The young woman at check in was genuinely pleasant, engaging and helpful. The hotel is located in a business park area with no obvious nearby restaurants so when we inquired about a place to get a late dinner she suggested the hotel's Bistro 39. We were too tired and hungry to go exploring so we gave it a try. The bar menu was pretty limited but the service was quick, the food was great, the local brew was tasty, and the bartender was charming. She loved her job, local management and the Hilton corporation and it came across in her entertaining and enthusiastic service. We ate breakfast there each morning with comparable professionalism and courtesy from all staff members we encountered. The hotel location is somewhat remote but only a 20 minute drive from most area attractions. The facility is immaculately clean, customer service is excellent and pricing is a good value. The only disappointment was the unusually firm mattress which was somewhat uncomfortable for a side sleeper. In spite of that we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I travelled to the west coast in late March and early April of this year for a business trip that was scheduled for the week before my vacation. I stayed in the region for vacation and travelled with my family down to San Diego and stayed at this property for a week. If I can describe this hotel in one word, that word would be "cozy." It's not fancy. It's not near the water. It doesn't have the same amenities that a number of hotels in the area have (as is the case with Hilton Garden Inn properties in general - no room service). But it was cozy, clean and comfortable. The staff treated us very well. Breakfast was fantastic. We had thought about trying to book a hotel that was on the water to get a more scenic view of the ocean. But the HGI Del Mar was so cozy that we never really felt like going through the trouble to leave.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The area that the hotel is in, while not on the water, is beautiful and scenic. We were close to the highway, which meant that we were close to everything else.

We may be headed back to San Diego later this year and chances are that we'll end up back at this cozy little HGI.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CommonSenseDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We arrived after a flight from the UK with our 3 year old and lots of traffic. We'd never stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn hotel, but I was definitely impressed. The room was spacious and clean and the staff very helpful. The room had both a fridge and microwave which was great and very handy. Being from the UK, a cup of tea is most essential and the guys at the bar were great especially i think his name is "Saeed" who no matter how many times i went down to get hot water would have a chat and get me water for our tea. Yes it is a drive away to everywhere, but there are shops and a mall about 10 minutes away and so are the beaches. We did different beaches and Seaworld all from this hotel and even to the outlet mall at the Mexican Border. We never ate there as we were always out and about. Free wifi and parking which was great too. The lady at the bar was very helpful too and also gave us milk for our daughter and didnt charge us. There were always coffee and cookies out too. We would definately stay here again. We drove to Palm Springs (Rancho Mirage) and stayed at the Garden Inn too, but it was nowhere near as nice as this one. It didnt have the same feel to it and no hot water!!And last but not least the husband left one of our bags there!!! and they have arranged to FedEx it to us at the Hilton Anaheim where we are now. (We are of course paying for that, but they saved us a 4 hour round trip)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riyasmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We just returned from our stay at this lovely hotel! Our daughter graduated from UCSD on June 17, 2012. We checked in on Sat. evening and the young lady who assisted us, Kirsten, was so professional, pleasant & helpful! What an impressive ambassador for your establishment! We wanted a late night bite so Kirsten suggested "Bistro 39" located right there in hotel lobby. Our bartender & server were identical twin brother's and were a delight! We recommend this hotel 100% and can't wait to return and visit our "new" friends!
Marian & David Hanst

Room Tip: Noise was never an issue because we stayed in Rm. 313.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is great,clean,comfortable,good value for money.
The only downside is the location - about 20 minute drive on the highway to most city attractions. It is located in a living neighborhood, nothing much to do in the area. However there is a nice kiosk in the hotel w
here you can buy drinks,food etc and a nice restaursnt in the hotel- breakfast is big and inexpensive.
The staff is very nice and helping and there is a business center,pool, fitness room and free parking and wifi.
If you are visiting san diego witha car,great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,346 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#22 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing