We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place - good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #16 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place - good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is a very well-run hotel in a good location, right off the I-5, close to Torrey Pines and Del Mar. Mission Bay, Sea World and USD are close, and the downtown area, harborfront and attractions are a short drive down. Staff are very friendly and aim to please. The breakfast, which can be included in a package, is fantastic, and the service very attentive. The outdoor pool and hot tub are clean and well-maintained (not always a given in small hotels). It is a great choice in the Del Mar/Torrey Pines area, and is a good home base for any San Diego trip. It really feels like a home away from home. The only minor complaint is the slow internet service.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tcf999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    243
    44
    21
    9
See reviews for
289
213
62
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn on a trip to visit UC San Diego. The room was clean and very pleasant. It was a comfortable size for the three of us. The service throughout our stay was excellent. Also, a full hot breakfast was reasonably priced for hotel guests. Our only small complaints were that the ethernet was unusually slow. It was free, but sluggish! And, there were no movie channels.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton for 3 nights with a 3 year old and 10 month old. The staff was very accommodating with our requests and house cleaning did a great job. The room was bigger than I expected and comes with a fridge and microwave. It's a very family friendly room and has a great breakfast buffet and made to order entrees. Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urmi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

This hotel would get five stars except their Internet service is horrible. I have stayed here around once a month for years. The staff is always fantastic, rooms are clean and the atmosphere is professional and welcoming. Truly a home away from home. But the simplest task on the internet slows to a crawl. As a professional programmer the internet service is essentially unusable for anything beyond reading news. YouTube or other video cannot be used. Downloading an attachment on an email will take forever - and forget remote desktop over VPN. I will continue to stay at this location now that I read that the are fixing the service but I will find another hotel if it does not support all of the above services in the next trip or two.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MaypoJMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAGM, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear MaypoJMV,

I want to begin by thanking you for your review and all your kind words. We truly strive to make our property a “home away from home.” Each employee is dedicated to providing our guests with the exceptional service that you have become accustomed to. I am pleased to announce that our Internet upgrade will be complete by Tuesday April 24th, 2012! We understand that a quality high speed internet is essential to the productivity of our guests. We have upgraded the internet speed to far surpass the requirement for our property. I want to assure you that the internet upgrade has been of the highest priority and thank you for your cooperation throughout this process. We hope you will visit us soon to enjoy all our wonderful property has to offer.

Best Regards,

Andrew Kalfayan
Assistant General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel was in a great locattion within walking distance of most of the major attractions of the city. The rooms were tastefully decorated, and the staff was unfailingly charming and helpful plus all the facilities. By choosing this hotel, you can be assured of having a wonderful experience in this marvelous city.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wassilik k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great location. Clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Good food, including a great breakfast service.

Room Tip: Nothing to fault about the hotel. Only change I would make is the bar could stay one longer. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basing325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

First off, I really do like this hotel. I've stayed there several times. It is very nice, clean and well decorated. The staff is the friendliest around. They remembered my name and said, "Hello" or "Good Morning" every time they saw me. The housekeepers don't disturb your belongings but clean the room very well. The reason I have marked this location as average is because of their internet and cell service. The wireless internet is terrible. It could not be slower. Trying to get work down is extremely frustrating. Also, the cell phone connectivity is just as terrible. I am not sure if the local terrain plays a factor in that or not, but the hotel really needs a cell repeater to boost the signal. I lost service many times in the conference room with my iPhone. I really hate to rate the hotel the way I have because it is so fantastic in so many ways, but if you are on travel for business and need a steady, half-way decent wireless capability or strong cell connectivity, you might want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QuinnEskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGIAGM, Owner at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Matt939,

I'd like to begin by thanking you for your review. Guest comments provide us the opportunity to constantly improve. With the advent of technology, we can't rest solely on our "wow" customer service. We need to challenge our technology providers to constantly step up and improve the "tech" side as well.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the cell phone signal may have caused you. Unfortunately, AT&T does not have a strong signal in the area, however we are hoping that AT&T will take us up on our offers to place a cell tower in the immediate area to increase service. As to the wireless service problem you encountered, recently we have noticed that our wireless signal is weakened when we have large groups on property. While yours was the first complaint on this subject, we have started the process to upgrade our wireless service and should have it upgraded very quickly.

I was pleased to hear that our team was able to provide you with a high level of service as they are dedicated to making every guest feel welcome. We hope that you will return to see the upgrades in the very near future and thanks again for the candid feedback.

Best Regards,

Robert A. Rauch
Certified Hotel Administrator and Managing Partner
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/Del Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Empress Hotel
#3 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#4 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing