We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Hotel, Great breakfasts, look forward to stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar
Ranked #12 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I was on business, great hotel, quiet and great breakfasts. I appreciate the quiet to plan for next day meetings and to unwind from long day. I needed the great breakfasts to get started for long day of meetings. Look forward to stay at this hotel again for future trips to San Diego. Reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Traveler58349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

Great place to stay, excellent staff, rooms are spacious, free internet access and also great breakfast deals.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greattraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

This hotel has everything a business traveler needs: Extremely friendly and helpful service, good restaurant, nice spa attached (!), and quiet, comfortable rooms. They even provide free shuttle service to anyplace within 5 miles. I couldn't have hoped for a nicer experience. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2011

Dear RHTraveler67,

Thanks so much for staying with us during your visit to San Diego and the comments with regards to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed and liked the amenities that we provided for our guests from the Bistro 39 to the Serenity Spa and Salons as well as the complimentary shuttle services.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Y. Liu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

The hotel gave away my room, despite my having a reserved a room in advance through a major travel agency. To make matters worse they sent me to a nerby hotel that was a throwback to the sixties, and "had only one room left" that smelled like a smoking room.

All this after I arrived after a long day at the office, needing rest for an early meeting in the morning. I would not recommend this hotel to any business traveller!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BVT_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Dear BVT_71,

Thank you for your comment. I am so sorry that you experienced a poor stay on your recent trip to our hotel! It was not our intention to give your room away; unfortunately we experienced a maintenance issue, so we made the decision to find you accommodations elsewhere. I appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel that we sent you too, I will be sure to review our policy of paying for guests to spend the night at that hotel in the future. Our goal is to make your day great and I am deeply sorry that we were unable to do that for you.

Sincerely,

Y. Liu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

The staff was terrific. We were there for the Golf Tournament and they did everything possible to make our stay great; shuttle rides to and from the tournament, recommendations on restaurants and places to see and directions for everything. Thank you and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chc4134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

Dear chc 4134,

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our team members. It is our goal to accommodate our guests in all areas, I’m glad that you have received the service from us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn San Diego/ Del Mar in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Y. Liu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

All in all, I felt like the majority of previous reviews have hit the spot on this place. I'll just go through some of the main points:

Location: if you don't want to be right next to the beach, this is a good place. As others have said, it's in more of a business area, well away from the ocean. (When I jogged to Torrey Pines State Beach, it took just more than 3 miles.) The good thing about this is it was a quiet place. No children, mostly business people. So that was nice. It takes 15-20 minutes to get to the Gaslight Quarter from here. Also about a 15 minute drive to get to Del Mar Beach.

Accommodations: standard Garden Inn. No better or worse than what I've been from other places. We did have an issue with a couple ants in the room. But that was about all.

Amenities: pool and hot whirlpool. Both were fine, though the whirlpool was a bit sudsy. Decent fitness center with treadmill, recumbent bike, a few weights. What I liked about it was a restroom is attached to it, so you don't have to go looking for one. Fitness center could use a fan, though.

Restaurant: they've got one, but I didn't use it. The first night, we were told it was closed for an event. Later learned the event was an off-site staff party. Which was fine, but it would've been nice to be told when reserving that it'd be closed. The second night we were there, it was very, very busy.

Staff: again, standard Garden Inn. If there's one recommendation I'd give them, it's to remember that the business center is attached to their offices. So customers using the business center will hear everything that's being said in the office. Also, for travelers, be aware that there's no Hilton Honors recognition, if that's important to you.

All in all, a decent stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear kcboy,
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at our property, it is guests like you that help us improve! I am so sorry that you were unable to have dinner in our restaurant. At the very last minute the staff we had scheduled to work in the restaurant (from another hotel) called to say they couldn’t make it. So we made the decision to close the restaurant so that our entire team could attend the annual Holiday Party; therefore we were not able to contact all of our guests ahead of time. I hope that you were able to enjoy one of the many panini’s, salads and sandwiches that our Executive Chef prepared and put in the Pavilion Pantry.


Thank you for reminding us about the business center. It seems that is almost no insulation between the two rooms! I have asked our Chief Engineer to look into a solution.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to San Diego as a valued Hilton Honors Member.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We were in town for a family function and picked this hotel for its proximity to the event and price. The rooms are very comfortable, restaurant and bar are very good -- even better than many more expensive hotels I have stayed in for work. It seems very well-maintained. Special thank yous to Joanne at check in and Chanda in the bar for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jooles_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager006, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that our people were able to make your trip so enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in San Diego.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Sheraton La Jolla Hotel
#6 of 24 in La Jolla
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar

Address: 3939 Ocean Bluff Ave, San Diego, CA 92130-8654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in San Diego
#5 Business Hotel in San Diego
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#33 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $107 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Hilton San Diego
San Diego Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing