We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Christmas Eve Dinner”

The Patio on Goldfinch
Ranked #291 of 5,744 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Modern American cuisine, a pet-friendly outdoor patio, and an incredible ambiance have made this Mission Hills restaurant a favorite spot where locals from the Banker's Hill, Hillcrest, and North Park neighborhoods come to dine, relax and enjoy a craft cocktail or local beers. Join us on Mondays for All Day Happy Hour, and Bottomless Mimosas at weekend Brunch. The casual chic vibe starts with living-plant walls, a cozy fireplace, a lively bar area complete with a glass-enclosed cheese cave! Ideal for a romantic date night or Happy Hour with friends, The Patio is a popular event space, too. Locally sourced and sustainable food goes into our chef-inspired menu dishes. Ahi Poke Tacos and Whole Fish are among San Diego's best seafood dishes. New York Steak and our delicious flatbreads draw raves. Make a reservation, drop in or take out. Friendly service is part of our welcoming atmosphere, where you can watch the game on TV or connect to free WiFi. There's bike parking, too.
Reviewed December 31, 2017

The atmosphere was relaxing and inviting. The dinner was devine and the small plate appetizers delightful. Everything was so fresh and plated up so eye appealing it made your mouth water before first bite. Kudos to the chef and the entire staff . Will definately return next time Im in San Diego.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kwazy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 190 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2017

We had a large party on a Sunday morning, and they were super accommodating and took a reservation the morning of brunch with us coming in at 1145 for a party of nine. Every loved their meals including the little kids. The service was excellent. We also enjoyed the coffee options, including cappuccino and lattes. I ordered the shrimp and grits with poached eggs, and it was delicious. We sampled multiple things on the menu - eggs, French toast, pancakes, burgers, and everyone loved their dishes. We will definitely be back.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cincy45209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

My friends and I really enjoyed our meal at The Patio. We made a reservation and were easily able to be seated upon our arrival (a Friday night). I ordered the burger + a side
Of Brussels sprouts instead of fries. They were both absolutely delicious! One friend ordered the creamed spinach + Brussels sprouts and liked the sprouts, but thought the creamed spinach was a bit watery. My other friend ordered the large charcuterie board that is paired with wine. She loved it all. We all shared a dessert (The Twisted Elvis - banana bread + peanut butter mousse + chocolate + ice cream). It was pretty tasty. Our waitress was super nice too! I would definitely come back again!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Robonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

After visiting friend in nearby building, we decided to go here for lunch since we had never been there before. Service was prompt and attentive. We shared the mussels and steak and blue cheese flatbread. The flatbread was excellent. The mussels were very good but the toast to dip in broth was heavenly. Good selection of beer and wine

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank kathiodom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

Need I say more? But I will!! The short rib dinner was very nice! The roasted beet salad and chop salad were refreshing! We had ours with a side of shrimp and avocado!

LOVE the ambience: open air, super clean chic. ---Very typical of America's Finest!

Waitstaff was just lovely! A knowledgeable , committed people person from Iowa, who made great suggestions and pleasant small talk! And who had perfect waitstaff rhythm.

The dessert was one of The Best I have ever had! Just fabulous!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Northfielder2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Patio on Goldfinch also viewed

 

Been to The Patio on Goldfinch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing