We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top hostel, sweet location”
Review of Lucky D's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lucky D's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Awesome place, super cool building and clean. Staff are helpful and great to meet, the front office desk with Loes, Nat, Micheal are all super stoked to help out... recomend it for sure if your staying in San Diego. Also they have free food some nights!! top eats.

Room Tip: top floor is more quiet and view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncsmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 686 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed i think on the 2nd level in a 4 bed dorm (females only) with shared bathroom. My review does seem to be a bit out of the ordinary compared to the others for this hostel, and really not sure why there are so many positive ratings. Anyhow:

The room we were allocated smelt AWFUL. I can't even describe it - I think someone threw up somewhere and the windows hadnt been open so the smell was sort of just festering. It was so bad! We turned on the ceiling fan which did help, but everytime we got back to the room, we could smell it. I don't know how it smelt like that - was such a mystery. To be fair though, after ten minutes or so, it was possible to get used to the smell...

I thought the guy at reception was a bit weird, but this is a hostel.

The sheets didn't look very clean and we ended up going to Ross to buy new ones. There was hair all over my sheets (as well as the sheets of the 2 other girls I was with), so not sure when it had been changed.

The shared bathroom was fine - fairly clean (suprisingly).... I think there were only 2 showers on the floor though.

I've stayed in hostels before (Europe and Aus), but this was definitely by far the worst.

WiFI worked fine.

Room Tip: Don't get the one that reeks on the 2nd floor. Avoid it. It is a bright hot pink colour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pagda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed here last month with my girl, Shelia, during our anniversary weekend. Never been to san diego before, and shelia always talked about it, so I was like, "Why not?" Things are going pretty well at the garage, I can afford to take some time off.

Lucky D's was clean, affordable, and most importantly the staff was friendly and hospitable. Hamza was the man.

Shelia got mad cause it was our anniversary, and she didnt want to eat at McDonalds. I dont get why she didnt just say something if she didnt want burgers? So I ate both burgers, and she went back and locked herself in the room. Hamza was all like "Don't worry man, she loves you. She'll unlock the door when she's ready." He let me hang out while Shelia was in the room. We had a really great talk.

Well, Hamza was right, and Shelia came out of the room, adn the rest of the trip was great. l will definitely be back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank etthayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here for a night and it was awesome. Great location and friendly staff. Hamza, one of the guys running the place, was super nice and helped point me in the direction of some cool places to check out in the neighborhood. Highly recommended; I'll definitely stay here again if I'm in San Diego.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had so much funs at this hostels! Great location in San Diego by bar and nightlife. Food was good and helpful with activities for museum. It was clean and people were all nice. Big John was so nice and helpful with locker. Want to go back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmekSmek1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I've never been in a hostel before, this was my first experience, and it was a really good experience. I really enjoyed my stay, everything was perfect, the staff was really helpful and cheerful especially one guy named Hamza, this is the best place to stay in san diego.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farouk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I traveled to San Diego and lived here for a couple days. This is a simple and warm place. Great atmosphere to meet new friends. Brion is a roommate of mine who is very talented and fun. He shared a lot of information to me. This is the best choice to stay and find inspiration for artists, musicians, and travelers!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentSCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
The Horton Grand Hotel
#73 of 286 in San Diego
913 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,356 reviews
Downtown
USA Hostels San Diego
USA Hostels San Diego
#2 of 66 in San Diego
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
USA Hostels Ocean Beach
#1 of 66 in San Diego
565 reviews
Downtown
ITH Adventure Hostel San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Address: 615 8th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6405
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 66 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range: $31 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky D's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the party! Stay because it feels like home. Lucky D's Hostel is a top San Diego hostel, and it is a guaranteed good time. When is the last time somebody promised you that? Lucky D's is fun, comfortable, clean and safe. It has an amazing atmosphere and a perfect location. Lucky D's has a wonderful team on staff. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will make sure you have a good time. San Diego is a fantastic city and Lucky D's is in the middle of the action. There are fun things to do every day, a party every night. We are conveniently located just steps away from the Gaslamp District, home of San Diego's hottest nightlife, restaurants, bars and shops. It's close to all of the city's attractions and the best beaches are a quick bus ride away. With Lucky D's, you'll have so many new friends you won't know what to do with them all. Why are you still reading this? Go make a reservation already. Lucky D's Hostel in San Diego has it all and we're waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing