We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun hostel - Staff plan good activities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lucky D's Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lucky D's Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun hostel - Staff plan good activities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here back in October. The hostel is great, they have nightly activities and the staff do a good job of showing you around. We went out for their club night and were a little nervous about being taken to a crappy club. They took us to Barracuda with a nice roof top patio and it had a very healthy mix of girls to guys. They got us in no hassle and cover free. We stayed in a dorm room that they let us have as a private. The rooms are okay beds a bit old and linen a bit tired but it's what you expect from hostels I guess.

Location is good, a short walk to gaslamp but if you walk 3 blocks up to 10th ave your going to see nothing but bums. They're harmless but don't bother walking up walk down.

If you had a car like we did, you'll hate San Diego's stupid parking lots. You can't seem to buy a 12 hour parking pass, just obscure times like 8 hours and you can't buy 2 of the tickets. No 12 hour or 15 hour. So if you are like us, who park there car around 8pm, want to start drinking and not move our car until 9am in the morning your out of luck. There is free street parking but you need to be out by 8 or 9 and it is hard to find close to weekends. There is a small lot behind the hostel with a person attending it to collect $. Throw him a few extra bucks and you can park until the morning.

They had some all you can drink night for some really small amount I think $10, we didn't do it but apparently it's really easy to break even.

The hostel didn't have many people when we were there, but the staff took us out to good places, some went to go visit the USA hostel but we didn't bother.

The place could use a few more bathrooms, thats all I can add.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelsRboring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    139
    53
    24
    16
See reviews for
8
66
232
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

12-29-2012 **This is, hands down, and I can say this because I have been to many of the hostels here in San Diego, this IS the best, My Favorite hostel. I love everything about it, namely the people that pass thru are all as friendly and fun as can be, like a big ol family where everyone has a unique story. You can start up a conversation with anyone here, and I'm not even very social to begin with. Aside from the warm feelings vibe, it is very very artsy, the walls; it could very well it's own art museum, no joke! You have to see it to believe it. And I highly recommend that. They have plenty of events planned such as bar-hopping to having free dinner and beer several times a week, with free breakfast, including homemade waffles on the weekends. They have Xbox360 with the latest games, awesome tunes played thruout the hostel, respectively (it quiets down a bit after 11). It is just a few minutes WALK from Gaslamp Quarters (5th Ave.), and the coolest mall ever, Horton Plaza (on 4th). Also, Petco Park, home of the San Diego Padres can actually be seen Out of my bedroom window here in the distance. Seaport Village is just around the corner, and Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo is a 30 minute walk if u like to walk, however the transit system is very accessible, not only bus system but there's trolley stops just a few minutes up the street as well. -The trolley can get you pretty much anywhere from Qualcomm Stadium, to Fashion Valley and Mission Valley Mall, and my fave, Old Town. Not to mention the infamous, Tjuana Mexico (it drops you off just 20 steps from the border and you just simply walk across, and you will find yourself in another world, and have an experience you will never forget. San Diego is amazing town. Don't forget to check out the beaches, namely Pacific Beach and Ocean Beach. Although Coronado Island's beach where the Famous Hotel Del is located, with its beautiful white sands, was just named Best Beach this year! I could go on and on. The hostel puts you in the middle of anywhere and everywhere you want to go. The staff who lives in, keeps it clean around the clock and can help you with any accomedations such as directions for example. There is adaquate bathroom/shower facilites, 4 to a room MAX, and the beds are comfy; and on the plus side, it's not nearly as noisy as some of the other ones in downtown (i wont say any names, like US Hostel, located on 5th Ave on the main Gaslamp street where the party dont stop til 4 in the morning, and sometimes never, just total insanity, screaming drunken party people all damn night. As a matter of fact,i left there to come here, lol. The only problem there is with Lucky D's is that you may never want to leave..! :) Thanks for reading. -Jeff, Detroit, 29

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

i felt completely at home the moment i arrived... met other awesome travellers.. such a happy vibe, especially in the kitchen when meals were prepared for everyone on certain days. Even when i felt abit fluish i was taken care of sooo nicely. Its close to the party scene, so always something happening. The hostel itself very arty.. so cozy. i nearly just wanted to keep staying. I recommend this hostel best in San Diego.. with helpful staff all the way.. and has made my journey In USA that much more fun.. Thanks guys ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I reserved the hostel for four nights but only stayed one. The first room they gave me was a disaster so I asked for a new one. The girl at the desk said, "it's a hostel." I've stayed at hostels all over the world and none were this dirty. The electrical socket near my bed was broken and exposed. I was hoping it didn't catch on fire while I was sleeping. There was an extension cord in the hallway with all kinds of things plugged into it. The toilet handle was broken and wouldn't flush in the morning. They play loud music in the hallways until 11pm. The only good thing I can say is the manager/handyman was nice. He went to check the toilet as soon as I told him it was broken.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msu_gurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I absolutely love Lucky Ds! It's in the middle of downtown, surrounded by endless amount of bars and restaurants. It's located right above a bar, so if loud noises bother you it's not the hostel for you. Definitely for the younger crowd 18-30s. It is kept very clean, and is decorated almost like a real world house! Very artistic, be sure to read the signs most of them are hilarious & tell you the hostels activities going on. Staff was okay, some were very friendly while others don't even acknowledge your presence. Miles & Jason were the best!! They make you feel very welcome and fun to party with as well! Overall I had a blast and met so many people from across the world. Definitely a must stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalaest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

went here quite a while ago, its location is great as near the bars etc. The rooms were absolutely tiny and i also got a diamond ring stolen from here so wasnt happy about that!lots of military guys who stay there now n then as they want to be close to bars so thats fun.staff were very nice, relaxed atmosphere,very very old building,kitchen is very big and breakfast is good!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hi guys! We're a couple and we stayed 4 days in San Diego..we spent the most part of the day visiting the city so we were in the hostel just to have breakfast (a good and generous breakfast!)..to have a shower..to have dinner..and to sleep! We also cooked an italian dinner..the kitchen is big and well-equipped! There are enough bathrooms, so that there are not queues to use them!
Rooms are hot, but enough ventilated. The only problem is that the fitted carpet stink a little bit and the towels absorb it..but you can bring it from home if it's a problem for you!

We really appreciated the artistic design of the place made by travelers and people that pass and decided to leave a picture, a sentence, a framework..

We would return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaraFil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Residence Inn San Diego Downtown/Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky D's Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky D's Hostel

Property: Lucky D's Hostel
Address: 615 8th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-6405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Specialty Lodging in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lucky D's Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come for the party! Stay because it feels like home. Lucky D's Hostel is a top San Diego hostel, and it is a guaranteed good time. When is the last time somebody promised you that? Lucky D's is fun, comfortable, clean and safe. It has an amazing atmosphere and a perfect location. Lucky D's has a wonderful team on staff. They are knowledgeable, helpful and will make sure you have a good time. San Diego is a fantastic city and Lucky D's is in the middle of the action. There are fun things to do every day, a party every night. We are conveniently located just steps away from the Gaslamp District, home of San Diego's hottest nightlife, restaurants, bars and shops. It's close to all of the city's attractions and the best beaches are a quick bus ride away. With Lucky D's, you'll have so many new friends you won't know what to do with them all. Why are you still reading this? Go make a reservation already. Lucky D's Hostel in San Diego has it all and we're waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lucky D's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky d`s Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing