We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and service, too many hidden fees”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #34 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at this property during San Diego Comic Con International. We checked in on a Wednesday and were told that the 'VIP pass' including internet had been included on our room. However when we tried to access the internet we were warned of a $17 fee, and we chose not to incur that charge, and didn't use the internet for the durration of our stay. However upon checking out I was told that the VIP pass, which we hadn't used, was still going to be charged to the room and was "mandatory" something I was not told upon check in.
This was a nearly $100 charge that I had not anticipated and it has had the effect of leaving my account in the red.
I was also told when I paid my deposit on the room via Travel Planners that I had payed the occupancy tax on the room, however when I checked out I was charged again for the same tax.
I budgeted properly for this trip, including the cost of parking, and had I known about the fees in advance I would have happily been prepared to pay them, however because I was not forewarned of this my account in now in the red.
I'm not displeased with my stay. And I would certainly patronize this property in the future, but I would prefer to avoid finding out about charges at the end of my stay when there is literally no way for me to budget appropriately.
I'm sure this property has a majority of guests who wave their card and worry about it later, but for those of us who save up for trips like this, knowing what we're in for so we can plan appropriately is a must.

Room Tip: There were oddly three towels in a room for four people, but maid service was very prompt and agreea...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Hi debshots, we're sorry that the All Access Pass came as a surprise to you. The All Access Pass is our automatic hotel service fee that comes along with your rate. Some of the things it includes are complimentary coffee at Maryjane's, free wired/wireless internet access, all local/long distance calls made from your hotel room phone, our Sound of Your Stay amenity, access to our outlets including our pool, fitness center, Float, and 207 and more. We inform guests of this when they make their reservation as well as when they check-in. We apologize for the miscommunication and we will review your experience with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,268)
There are newer reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,063 - 3,069 of 5,268 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014

It is probably the best location in San Diego, the only downside is that the rooms are not so clean and sound is 24/7. We stay during Comic Con 2014 and they raised the prices of their restaurant up to double which was really expensive, huge pro is that there are tons of decent restaurants around the hotel. The pool was also really dirty.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

AdrianBravo, we appreciate your feedback about the accommodations and pool. We're sorry that they didn't meet your expectations and if this is ever the case please let us know during your visit so we can accommodate you during your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The location was awesome and close to all the best spots.Valet at $40 was expensive. The staff was ok but nothing that stood out or went out of their way to help. The area is noisy so if you are looking for peace and quiet this isn't it.




Room Tip: A room with a view is awesome
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiredandsleepy900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Hi Tiredandsleepy900, we're glad you loved our central location! If you ever experience noise issues during your stay please notify us so we can do our best to accommodate you. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel was pretty, modern, nice room (although very noisy from the outside). We thought the Hard Rock theme would be great for our teenage daughter, but it was just another nice hotel located right at the Gaslamp Quarter (great location!), and it turned out to be a terrible choice for us since we arrived on a Sunday (pool party day) and there were drunk kids everywhere around us...even hotel security had to help some walk out to the street. We needed the concierge but nobody was there Monday or Tuesday, so we had to decide our own touristic plans with very little help from the front desk. Overall, San Diego had great choices of hotels at the same price, and I should have picked another one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Olga870, we are sorry that you didn't have an excellent experience during your recent stay. Our hotel does have a lively atmosphere on the weekends, and we do notify guests of this in the confirmation email. If a concierge isn't available, any of our helpful team members would be happy to assist you. We appreciate you sharing your review with us and we will discuss it with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great location, right at Trolley stop, in Gas Lamp district. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to families because of the crazy Sunday pool party, and it has an edgy vibe. Security is good, but it's noisy and people are partying all night. Don't get a room on the 12th floor, noisy air conditioner, had to switch to 4th floor. If you are up for partying, this is a great spot and the entire staff was helpful and responsive. They were setting up for Comic Con, so it was especially wacky when we were there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hard Rock Hotels & Casinos
Thank jmacSfBayArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Hi jmacSfBayArea, we really appreciate your wonderful feedback about our helpful staff! Our hotel does have a lively element on the weekends, but we're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great Hotel, great location. Rooms were nicely appointed, would have preferred in room coffee maker, as well as additional mirror outside of bathroom.
Arrived last day of Comicon, the place was a mad house.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmonteleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

lmonteleon, it's great to hear that you loved our hotel, convenient location, and accommodations. During your next visit, we invite you to enjoy the complimentary Starbucks coffee we provide in our lobby every morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Bertha the housekeeper on the 4th floor was awesome as was ground control. They delivered ice even on their busy nights. Avoid getting a room on the street side of the hotel. The parties might be loud but the traffic was worse.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the street side below the 7th floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Hi Lori, thank you for staying with us during Comic-Con! We loved reading about your excellent experiences with Bertha and our helpful staff in ground control. If you ever experience any noise issues, please don't hesitate to let us know so we can address it during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,411 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $203 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing