We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Nearby Hotels
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$329
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Bayfront(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$422
$386
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency La Jolla at Aventine(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$215
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$200
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$298
$203
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
The Westin San Diego(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$186
$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,710)
Filter reviews
5,710 results
Traveler rating
3,340
1,529
503
191
147
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,340
1,529
503
191
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrock starconvention centermary janesrock royaltypool partygaslamp districtbachelorette partypetco parkking suiterooftop poolthe gas lamp districtmini barbars and restaurantsvalet parkinggreat roomnobuhardrock
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,829 - 3,834 of 5,710 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The Hard Rock was the perfekt Hotel for us...Top location to the convention Center and inside the best district....Trolly in front of the hotel.......and if u want to Party, its the place to be (-;
Nobu Restaurant in the Hotel....and very nice and helpful guys at the Vale ( Tyler )!!
Dont miss the city tour, the outlet mall and of course a trip to Tijuana .....take enough time for the way home over the border ((-;

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

What a fun trip, Martin! We are happy that you experienced everything our hotel has to offer and that you had an amazing time exploring San Diego. We really enjoyed your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Visited San Diego for the first time with my girl friend. The Hard Rock Hotel is clean, modern and most importantly in a great location. It was easy to get around downtown by walking, biking (hotel offers free bike rentals) or by cab. We stayed in the Woodstock room which was more than enough space for us.

I definately recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicvun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your first trip to San Diego, vicvun! It sounds like you had an excellent time and we are glad you explored the city with our Electra Bicycles. Also, thank you so much for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in a good location relative to the Gaslamp and the trolley. Near lots of great restaurants, shops, Petco park. Rooms were clean and modern although a bit small. Pool area was dirty - often saw globs of hair and other yuckies floating around which was gross. The pool was always crowded and there was never anywhere to sit. Much of the seating by the pool needed to be paid for and reserved. Our room faced the street and the noise from the trolley alarm was very annoying at night, although I know other hotels nearby like the Omni have the same issue with that. Maybe a room facing the other direction would be better. The shower in the bathroom was very confusing to use and I ended up blasting myself with ice cold water during my shower. We got a great price on this place, but I would stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank JROWE416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

JROWE416, thank you for sharing your positive feedback about our central location. We are sorry that you experienced some issues and we would really like to follow up with you. Can you please contact us at customerservice(at)hardrockhotelsd(dot)com?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Rooms were very clean, spacious, interesting...not sure I would want to share one as the bathroom facilities were open and in between the bed and living area. There is a curtain you can pull, so maybe that would work for some couples. One unfriendly desk person and seemingly no one else around...felt like I was in a condo building rather than a hotel. The Hard Rock restaurant is NOT located in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dana, thank you for sharing your experience and we would like to learn more about the customer service you mentioned. Can you please contact us at customerservice(at)hardrockhotelsd(dot)com so we can learn more details?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I was unhappy about the mandatory daily charge for the All-Access pass, since we were staying for a conference and didn't have the opportunity to use the amenities. I think this charge should be optional.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Hi Lisa, we are sorry that you did not like our All Access Pass and we will share your feedback with our team. We hope you are able to use it next time, as it provides guests with everything they need during their stay from Wi-Fi and free coffee to use of our 24/7 fitness and business centers and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews