We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice looking modern rooms, but.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Hyde Park, New York
1 review
“nice looking modern rooms, but.”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed in 754, a king suite. We arrived an was met by a friendly polite valet service. Check in was quick an easy. Room was clean. The couch modern but not something that was very comfortable. The shower thou it looked beautiful an water supply good the drainage was designed by an amateur with a 4 inch lip keeping the water that bounced off walls or you from going down the drain that was in the actual shower leaving water in the adjacent area. They charge almost $20 daily for your internet. OK that's fine I new this prior to arrival. I would think for that much money the speed should be very good and not have to keep signing back on repeatedly when you take a short break. The bill for mini bar comes via e-mail but is not itemized which I think is unfair to the guest if you are in question as to the charges. Staff was friendly. When the room was not cleaned after first night I questioned this on our second morning as to the policy of cleaning. They apologized for the over site and sent someone asap. We enjoyed our stay here. Service is quick, if you come down for a free cup of coffee from Mary Janes and a convention nearby has a line at the counter they will serve you ahead of them giving you that rock star experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelparkerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thanks for staying with us, Michael! We truly appreciate your feedback about the shower and All Access Pass, and we will share it with our team. Our All Access Pass covers more than just internet as it is designed to provide guests with everything they need while on a trip. This includes internet, access to our 24/7 fitness and business centers, local and long distance calls, and free coffee from 5:30am-9:00am. It also includes fun, unique amenities like rental of a Fender Guitar, Traktor S2 DJ controller or Electra Bicycle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,887
    1,378
    465
    175
    143
See reviews for
543
1,302
232
1,921
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This hotel is great, staff very kind and helpful. Restaurants are good. Room is big, clean and bathroom looks like new. The only complaint is that at night it has a little too much noise from the train and on weekends from the pub downstairs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artubozu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
artubozu, we like how your review highlights our staff, restaurants, and accommodations! We are sorry you had noise issues, and in the future please let us know so we can do our best to accommodate you. Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Hotel staff was amazing. They took great care of us. Hotel was very nice and at an excellent location. Bed was very nice and had almost everything needed. I say almost everything because there was no coffee maker in the room and the fridge was full of beverages for purchase. Coffee is available in the lobby but I would have liked to wake up and relax with a cup.

Room Tip: Coffee maker in room, fridge in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are so glad you had an amazing time, MFM123! We really appreciate your feedback about having coffee makers in the rooms and we'll share it with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Me and my friends come here every year for our guys trip and always have a blast!! The staff is super cool and friendly, the rooms are great and its right in the hub. Cant ask for anything more. Props to Derrick, the rock royalty manager for the sweet hook up. Weve been here many times and wont even consider anywhere else. Thanks!!!!! Justin

Room Tip: Upgrade to the king suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
It is great to hear that you visit us every year for a guys trip, Justin! We are happy to hear that you always have a blast and we will share your awesome review with Derrick! We look forward to seeing you for your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was a Great Experience. few are the hotels in the States where your requests are actually followed through, your modifications on site immediately implemented and all this with a smile.... I felt like i was on vacation ...

Room Tip: I wish the curtain separating the sleeping quarter from the living room was placed on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredDUPONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
FredDUPONT, thank you for your amazing compliment! It was our pleasure making sure that your meeting was perfect, and we are glad you felt like you were on vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I had a blast at the Hard Rock and the suite was awesome !
I definitely recommend it. The food that is served at the Mary Jane is also excellent. The room was big and I love the fact that you can rent guitars for free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
It sounds like you had an awesome time, Jp! It is great to hear that you loved everything our hotel has to offer from our luxurious accommodations and delicious food at Maryjane's to our unique Sound Of Your Stay program. We cannot wait to share your great feedback with our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I fell in love with the Hard Rock as soon as I walked into the lobby, not only was it decorated awesome but the staff was pleasant and very helpful. My room was not just accommodating it was beautiful. Unfortunately the weather did not permit enjoying the pool area, however it was beautifully set up. Thanks for a memorable time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Our pleasure, Lisa! We enjoyed hearing that you fell in love with our hotel, and that you had an awesome experience. We hope you can visit us again soon so you can enjoy our pool area. Thank you for sharing your excellent review with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4,190 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 279 in San Diego
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Property: Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing