We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #36 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
las vegas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2008

I stayed at Hard Rock during a conference at SD Convention Center. The location for going to and from the center is AWESOME! The beds are AWESOME! The shower is SUPER AWESOME! The in-room music channels are AWESOME! But that is about it.

It was $269 a night and didn't even include internet access! There were 8 of us staying in 8 rooms. Each of us was charged $15 a night "turndown" service which was to provide turndown, 2 bottles of water, and internet access. I needed internet so I agreed to the fee. I always had internet and turndown but didn't always get water. I mentioned it to the front desk and she instantly took a charge off. Other coworkers never used the internet or got water or turndown but still paid the fee. Some of us got various pieces of the package.

The room was spot clean. Like the floors and main table areas were clean. But when you spend a week in a room you start to notice that the back corners are full of dust and even old trash!

I was overlooking the pool side. On the day we checked out (Thursday), they were building a concert stage right outside my sliders. There was going to be some concert right outside my room that night. Which might have been the best ever or not. I asked the front desk if it was really going to be right there. She said yes, it gets pretty loud around here on the weekends. So note to self, if you are looking for quiet on a weekend, this is not the place for you.

It was quiet when I was there (Sun-Thur). And I loved a lot of it. Just be warned.

  • Liked — the shower
  • Disliked — hit or miss service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank christiepooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,785
    1,333
    455
    171
    137
See reviews for
528
1,265
222
1,838
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed at the HR Hotel for one night just to check it out and be a tourist in my own town. The location of the hotel is great, right in the heart of the Gaslamp District and next to Petco Park. The rooms were modern and clean and we had a good view of San Diego Bay.

There is music all around the hotel which is cool.

My major complaint about the Hard Rock is the bars and the cost. The bars are trying to be "exclusive" by limiting people and creating fake lines to get in. If you are a hotel guest you can get on the list, but have to be in the bars by 10pm. I saw at least 5 different arguments between doormen and want to be patrons because they were not being let in and had to wait in a line even though the bars were not crowded. One lady was an owner of one of the units and was not let into the pool. She got the manager and was finally let in. The drinks are really expensive at $10 a piece, which is way above other area bars. A friend of our tried to get in but the doorman said he could not go to the bar unless he was willing to do table service, which costs at least $300. We were in the bar and there was no table service going on at that time. The people in the bars are wantabe posers, and like to act like they have money. Although I thought it was good for people watching.

The pool area is really small but the bar by the pool has alot of plush seating and has a good vibe, even though most people are trying to pose. Get down there early to get a seat, otherwise there will not be any.

Parking is $30 which is high, and you have everything is expensive in the hotel.

We saw at least 5 different bachelor/bachelorette parties going on at the hotel. This place would be good for that.

Overall, the rooms and common areas are nice and modern and have a hip vibe. It was fine for a night but I thought too expensive for more than that for what you get.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bar Scene
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PBLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2008

We stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel, because my husband was going to a conference at the Hotel. As we walked in, the rock vibe resounded off every pillar and wall, ceiling and floor surface - it was going to be a noisy stay.

The staff were very attentive, if a little too cool. The room was actually amazing. Really comfortable - it was all very new so was lovely and clean and fresh. The bed was very comfortable to lie in - but the corners of the base were keen to catch your shins and ankles and we ended up with very fashionable black and blue legs. The bathroom and loo were very spacious, but had glass doors, and although that can be quite seductive for the shower, a little more privacy for the toilet would have made it more comfortable. We had a living area and a bedroom area with two very large televisions. We had a nice balcony which meant we could easily have some fresh air as well as aircon.

The only gripe really was the other guests - they seemed to party all night and didn't seem keen to close their bedroom doors, so the noise travelled! I began to sound like a very grouchy head teacher.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — the bed frame and the other guests
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank soulmates63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

I agree with the other person, there is a smell of rotten eggs in some of the rooms. Another person that I know is staying here and said exactly the same thing, So if your lucky, you won't get one of the rooms with a ventilation problem, and if your unlucky like my friends and myself and can't change rooms, then you live with the bathroom a bit smelly...

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank misledgeekboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

I recently went to this Hotel recently with a few buddies for a relaxing weekend in a suit overlooking the pool. I had stayed at the Hard Rock in Chicago and had a good experience with that property, so I though the San Diego property would be similar.

At first blush, I liked the modern design of the hotel. But I can see how people would be turned off by the design. The valets and front desk clerks were great, but that's about the end of the positive comments.

At night, getting back into the hotel was like getting into a prison. They set up a velvet rope at both entrances and make you display a key card to get into the lobby (even though you need a key card to get the elevators to work). I can see some safety logic to this, although the hotel is in a safe area. But the problem I had was the doorman refusing to accept my key card on multiple occasions.

As others have noted, there is the Sweetwater Saloon on the ground floor, which might be popular at some time. During the weekend I was there, it was not busy. Regardless, the bouncers are incredibly rude to the hotel guests. We went to have a drink after dinner and were told that we couldn't go inside, even though we had put our names on the stupid guest list you have to use just to get a drink. The bar was less than half full and the bouncer let another group in while we were arguing. After I asked why the new group was allowed in, he told me that I had to leave the lobby or I would be arrested for trespassing. I'm not sure how I could be trespassing in a hotel that I had paid to stay in, but that was his threat. At the same time, I was soon surrounded by a bunch of bouncer-thugs who "insisted" that I leave the lobby. I went back to my room, but it seems like a weird way to treat your customers.

The next night, we hung out on the bar by the pool. We met a few new people who had rented out a cabana and had purchased some bottles of vodka. Last call came and another bouncer stuck his nose in the cabana and told me I (and just me) had to leave. I showed him my key card and he accused me of having a fake card. He played with the card and talked on his walkie talkie. He eventually gave me my room key back, but then said that I "had a lot of balls" to be sitting in there. I don't think anyone should have to be insulted by the hotel's staff, especially in front of someone you just met.

The whole thing left a bad taste in my mouth. What made it worse is that I've stayed at the Omni, which is basically across the street, and had a wonderful time. I would suggest anyone who is not wedded to the Hard Rock to stay at the Omni, unless you don't like being treated like a valued human being.

Also, the rooms are fairly small and the tv remotes suck. There's no lock on either the toilet or the shower, and the both have frosted glass walls.

Mary Janes' was pretty good for a diner. The location is great, but as I've said before, there are a ton of hotels nearby and the Hard Rock's location is not better than any other.

  • Liked — The valets were great
  • Disliked — The bouncers and security guards
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JackJackSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joletr
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

This is a great hotel. It's in a fun area with lots of people out for a good time. It's not a golf resort. It's not a caribean resort. I have no idea what the people who have given poor reviews expected. It's a great hotel in the best area of the city. It's modern and hip and you can't go wrong. The pool is amazing as are the clubs and dining. You can't please everyone unfortunately.

  • Liked — The spa!
  • Disliked — Trip was too short
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joletr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,054 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Property: Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing