We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel, pool and nightlife”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved the lobby, the hotel room was immaculate and modern, the pool is small but you're not there to swim. Great music by the pool. I CAN't BELIEVE THEY DON'T SERVE COORS LIGHT. The nightclub 207 was amazing, great DJ and chic vibe. Had an awesome time and can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxie_rae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Sorry about the Coors Light!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,431)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,937 - 3,943 of 5,432 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hard Rock is definitely the place to stay when your in San Diego. In the middle of the Gas Lamp District, across the street from the convention center and across the street from the Padres Stadium. Norstroms is a couple of blocks away and the restaurants in Gas Lamp are excellent. The best restaurant though is Mary Janes in the Hard Rock, Eggs Bennedict and Bloody Mary are to die for and great friendly service. The hotel also serves Starbucks and has a to go area with some quick grabs. Rooftop bar is fun, attended a party there. Went to the bar in the front of the hotel lobby, service was not great, they didn't get my roommates drink right and the seats were old and worn and we sunk in.

Check in was very easy although, just ok, service isn't overly nice unless your male. Also, if you are not paying attention as we weren't, you need to put your card into the elevator to get to the next floor, LOL, we had fun greeting people though until we realized what we were doing wrong.

Rooms were clean and cozy, loved the rainfall shower. Hotel was quiet, stayed on the 11th floor and didn't have any issues. Felt safe and had a blast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2fortheroad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Sounds like you had a blast and took full advantage of the Gaslamp District. Hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at the Hard Rock San Diego. We are in our early 60's and so enjoyed the photos and music throughout the hotel of the rock groups who were famous during our early years. We were there when it all happened! The ambiance is great and the staff could not be any nicer or helpful or adorable. We had a great stay pretending we were back in the 70's.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're glad we were able to give you a great trip down memory lane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stay at the HardRock every Sunday for intervention to see great Djs and have fun.
But there is always something going on Downtown its in a great location near Petco Park and in the hart of the Gaslamp Quarter near tons of Nightclubs and restaurants. Right across the street from the San Diego Convention Center,bay and the trolley.The Horton Plaza mall is down the street.One of a kind the services is great.Depending on the day you go you can ask the staff to place you on a floor that wont be to noisy if your gonna sleep.I prefer 8 and up if your gonna sleep and 7 and below if your gonna party. Also late check out is great some times i stay till 2pm> I love the Sunday staff and heres a SHOUT OUT TO( Wildman Maggy(room service)Neil D Bill(engineering)Rolando Carlos(House Keeping)Gary Mike(Security)Nick Patrick Adam Alex Tyler Natalie P Adriana Steven M Tisha C Spencer C Tara Deborah C Hector)10 stars to every one that works on Sunday!
RED I :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for being such a great loyal guest and for the staff shout outs. We'll be sure to pass this along to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

There's not really much I can say other than I loved this hotel!!!! We were treated like stars from the moment we arrived and they guys at the valet parking greeting us and making us feel welcome was a nice treat!!! Staff were friendly and helpful and we got discounted tickets from the concierge for the zoo and sea world!! The room was something special also, very modern and had great views over gas lamp quarter!! Location is perfect for a great night out at the baseball too!!!! A+ for this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks so much! We're glad we were able to rock your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Anyone who knows Hard Rock Hotels and Casinos and the restaurants will know what to expect at their hotel in the Gaslight District of San Diego.
This is a clean, fun hotel with friendly staff who are encouraged to dress the theme.
Not for those who expect quiet, calm, serene, low key hotel stay.

Rooms are surprisingly big and the upgrade to the one bedroom with terrace was well worth the small price differential. Large bathroom was a surprise and very welcome. The bathroom did have a wind tunnel noise from the vent which staff said was a fact of life from the hotel design. Not too loud but noticeable so close the bathroom door at night.

Great pool area and club at night.

The Nobu Japanese restaurant on the first floor is far superior to the Nobu in LA and South Beach. Fresh, off the boat sushi, sashimi with many creative dishes you will not have experienced elsewhere.

The hotel faces the train tracks with the light rail train stopping about a block from the hotel every 20 minutes or so, fewer stops at night but warning cling-clan when crossing gate comes down is noticeable and may be anointing to some guests although not me. If it is a bother, ask for a room not facing the train tracks.

This hotel is centrally located at the bottom of the Gaslight District near all the restaurants and evening activity. Also within a short walk to convention center and waterfront.

Good for business or leisure stay, good for families with kids, great for old rockers in their 50s who want to remember growing up with Janis Joplin, Beatles, Stones, and the Punk rockers.

Room Tip: Take a room not facing train tracks if noise bothers you. Eat at Nobu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. You have a lot of good insights here for future guests. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The staff was very friendly. Always willing to lend a hand or ask if everything was ok and if I needed anything.

The rooms were clean and modern. The lobby smelled incredible :).

Two issues were the pillows were uncomfortable and the hallways smelled bad.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We received some feedback from a few guests regarding a smell on a couple different floors, but this has been addressed since your stay. We hope you join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
4,546 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,097 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $187 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing