We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a place to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #37 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not a place to sleep”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was there for a convention. The location is great just across the Convention Center and right at the Gaslamp District. However if you plan to rest after a long day, please be aware that this is not the place for you. I think it's a great idea to mix party and entertainment with a hotel but only if it is done right. The night club pumped the music right into the bedroom and if you put your head on the pillow you could even feel the base. Ear plugs - not helpful. Friday night until 3am, Saturday night until 3am, Sunday night until the morning hours.....otherwise yes, very hip. Oh yes, the concierge desk was chronically understaffed. Recommendations were done with the help of Google....not really helpful. But yes, nice bathrooms. Great pool area.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is on the upper floors and best not facing the convention center
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTheWorld2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We're sorry to hear that the noise made your stay with us less than ideal. We do have two nightclubs on property that can get pretty lively on the weekends, so those of you coming for a conference or for business may want to request a room on a higher floor upon check in (or even after check in if your room is too noisy). Our front desk staff is always willing to accommodate these requests whenever possible. The clubs close do last call at 1:30am sharp, with the completely off by 2am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,930
    1,395
    467
    176
    146
See reviews for
555
1,322
234
1,940
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 6 nights for a conference. Check in was smooth and entering the room with your favorite music playing was a nice touch. My room was VERY clean. I ordered room service for breakfast three mornings. Each meal was delicious, served quickly after the order was placed, and delivered by a very friendly server. The fitness center had nice equipment, but wasn't always clean.

The first three nights (fri, sat, and sun) were extremely loud! Coming from the east coast, I was exhausted and not able to rest. Lots of club music and loud guests in the hallway. The hallways and lobby are also loud with music playing 24/7. At first, it didn't bother me, but over the course of the week it just seemed you couldn't escape the noise. The bathroom is very dark and one of the lights is connected to a fan, so if you want light, you also get noise!

I know I sound like an old lady with my complaints about noise, but it just seemed like an assault on the senses with no escape. This is not a hotel for relaxing. I expected some of that knowing it is, after all, a hard rock hotel! But, the noise was constant and there was no escape. This place would be perfect for a bachelorette weekend, but not for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlycanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We do love music at the Hard Rock, and do play music 24/7 in our lobby, though the volume and energy level of that music does change based on time of day and day of week. Our front desk agents are always willing to accommodate a room move if noise levels are too high for a particular guests tastes. Our spa is great for those of you looking for a little rest and relaxation. We will speak with housekeeping about the cleanliness of the fitness center. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Gorgeous hotel with exceptional service starting with VIP check in. Drink offered at the start from front desk vip Jennifer. She had amazing customer service, was very detailed with the best places to eat and go out every night to suit our needs! Our room was gorgeous, beds are very comfortable there is a sit in bar as well as a nice couch for a lounge area inside your room. Bathrooms very clean shower is separate and gorgeous! Had a balcont but not a wrap around one, its great for fresh air.

Location is great in the gaslamp there are multiple clubs and shopping, so you can go to your business meetings in the morning and enjoy activities after.

Company breakfast had fresh fruit and croussants coffee etc.. also had an event in one of their private rooms, the entertainment was great fun and classy. Marilyn monroe was our guest lol. We followed by going downstairs to 207. The security guard gave abit of a hard time to get in asked us to go in from "outside?" , even though we had reserved table with bottles, but after showing vip card they will let you through. Hotel is packed at night as there are many events, it is very big as if it is it's own resort.


Overall if you want to have an amazing time in a gorgeous clean hotel, book the hard rock! It exceeded our expectations!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite, window is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank c_abo_66_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We LOVE reading reviews like this. You really seemed to make the most of your stay & embraced the energy & spirit of the Hard Rock! We're so glad we were able to exceed your expectations and we'll also be sure to pass along your kind words to Jennifer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, nice amenities, and GREAT location in the gas lamp district. My only issue is that the rooms are very dark. Not enough lights. If you want to be able to sleep on your weekend stay make sure to stay on the outside rooms. The club music can be loud and heard even in the high inner rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoski1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for your review. We're sorry the rooms didn't have enough light for you. You can always call down to the front desk and we will try our best to resolve ANY issue that you might have, be it light, noise, etc. We enjoy every opportunity to go the extra mile for our guests so please don't hesitate to ask!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at this Hard Rock Hotel while travelling for business with a colleague. I was very excited to stay there since it looked very modern and fancy but in the end, I couldn't get out of there fast enough! I will focus this review on my own experience, however it is what happened to my colleague that ultimately prompted our early departure from the Hard Rock.
Overall, what I thought to be a fairly minor incident, I have a major problem with how it was handled or lack of how it was handled actually. At 2 AM I heard knocking on the door next to mine and someone announcing themselves as room service. I thought to myself, "great... neighbors who order room service at 2 AM" and then the knocking continued for 5 more minutes and then the phone in the room adjacent to mine started to ring. The door knocking and phone ringing persisted for 15 minutes. I looked through the peep hole and saw a man standing outside with a clipboard in hard rock attire and a phone in hand. I'm guessing he was calling the room next to me but he didn't have any food with him... When I reported this to the manager, Ryan, before my colleague and I departed the Hard Rock, he told me that there was no room service ordered to that room. It must have been a prank. My complaint was completely disregarded.
So, I called 3 weeks later, after noticing a charge on my credit card. I was charged an early departure fee which I shouldn't have been charged. And when the finance department checked on it, they said a message had been logged under my colleague's visit but not mine and that is why I was charged. So, not only was my complaint disregarded, it wasn't even logged! I asked to speak with Ryan and was told he was in a meeting and would call me back. He never called me back. 2 days later I call the hard rock again and said "Ryan never called me back." They told me that he wasn't working today so I asked to speak to any manager on duty. They put me on hold and then told me there was no manager on duty for the next 3 hours.
Who runs a business this way?! I have never in my life ever had a worse hotel experience OR customer service experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We're very sorry your stay didn't go as planned. This is not the type of experience we want any guest to have at our property. We have investigated this matter and spoked with our guest services team at length about this instance. We unfortunately were not able to resolve your issue in a way that was satisfactory and for that we are sorry. We hope you are able to find a hotel more suited to your needs upon your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Don't listen to negative reviews...this place was perfect! I took my 13 and 11 year olds, and they loved it! You cannot ask for a better location or a nicer place! Everyone was friendly and helpful and made our stay wonderful! Everything you could ask for is in Walking Distance.
Tip: one block over is a parking garage that is less than half the price of the valet, and you never have to wait for your car.
A special thanks to Wayne in maintenance who was completely patient with my kids when they needed help with the TV!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessirae33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for your kind words. It sounds like you really took full advantage of what we had to offer and really got into the rock & roll spirit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

the service I experienced was really friendly and beside fun, the room was very easy to use and logical, needs thought a little maintenance, the location is wonderful, specially if going to the petco park or expo, everything else on San Diego's renewed downtown is a block away, besides all surrounding nightlife and fine dining the hotel has amenities that are the best for any purpose.
What I liked the best are the beds! Really fell in to a wonderful sleep.
Thank you Hard Rock.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillermo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Property: Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing