We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bel hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #36 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bel hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

J'y étais pour un événement Cisco. Le wifi était gratuit. C'est un hotel où y a souvent des partys, surtout la fin de semaine alors je n'irais pas avec de jeunes enfants. Il est situé dans le district Gas Lamp tout près du stade de baseball Petco Park. Il est en face du Centre des Congrès. Vous allez retrouver tout ce que vous rechercher à distance de marche ou un petit trajet en taxi.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duggerzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,790
    1,335
    456
    171
    137
See reviews for
528
1,268
223
1,842
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I was in town for a conference and had a choice b/w the "new" Hilton adjacent to the water or this hotel. I selected this one b/c of its location, primarily. I was upgraded to a corner suite. The room was very spacious and the decor very modern. The beds were SUPER comfy and it was not difficult to find my 5 hrs/night sleep refreshing. You cannot beat the location and the Mary Janes restaurant was great. The hallways are feeling a bit dated and dark but overall I would stay again. I was not a huge fan of the frosted glass bathroom doors and the light for the bath mirror was not ideal for shaving (too limited) but these are minor things.

Room Tip: The city can be noisy in the am b/c of outside trash pick-up etc but turn on the room fan and you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you're able to come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Even though I live in San Diego when the wife and I decide to do a little staycation we always choose the hard rock in downtown. Its perfect, we get a small suite with a lounge overlooking the city, relax a little,eat some dinner at NOBU, which is in the hotel. After dinner you can enjoy either their club FLOAT or 207, and its a guaranteed good time.

We wake up in the morning, grab some food from their breakfast place Mary Janes and we head home. All the rooms are great, ask for a higher up room though because the place is happening so the clubs can get a little loud, but they have set up acoustics so well the sound is contained. For people watching it does not get better, and the staff are amazing. We look forward to our next stay there.

keep up the great work

Room Tip: the higher up the better the view gets
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLindes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We always love hosting locals and providing a fun backdrop for a staycation. We hope you can do it again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Hard Rock hotel was a huge disappointment. From the moment my wife and I checked in with the receptionist Deborah to when we checked out, the service was horrible. The entire hotel has the attitude that you should be grateful that they are letting you pay to stay there.

Our disappointment started at check it. The day before checking in for a one night stay, we called the hotel to ask if we could get a late checkout on Sunday. The lady on the phone said it will not be a problem because they do not have many reservations but she cannot authorize it because the computers are down. She then said to just ask at check in. At check it, we asked the receptionist, Deborah about a late checkout and she rudely stated it was not possible because they were very busy. When I told her that we called ahead and they said it would be no problem she stated “the hotel would never say that”. Only after talking to a manager did he modify our reservation to check out at noon vice 11:00.

That night, my wife and I went out for dinner to meet a friend and received a bottle of wine as a gift. When we tried entering the hotel at the first entrance, there was a bouncer who would not let us in even though we had key cards. He said this entrance was not available for us and only special access. He then said “if you would read the sign, you would know this”. We then tried to use the main entrance only to be stopped by another bouncer to be told we cannot bring in outside alcohol. We explained the wine was a gift and we had no intentions of drinking it and he reiterated that hotel policy is no outside alcohol. We were not even allowed to bring our gift in. Apparently though, pot is legal because the room next to us was lighting up.

Another issue was the $17 for internet and access to the gym. I am convinced the hotel has cell phone blockers because in downtown San Diego, I only received a Verizon signal next to my window. My wife with AT&T had the same problem. The $17 internet was also very slow.

There were many other instances but the bottom line is they treat the hotel like a club where you should just be honored that they are allowing you to spend hundreds of dollars to stay there. There are plenty of other great hotels in downtown SD that will gladly take your money and treat you right. My money is going back to the Manchester Grand Hyatt for my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westport53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this experience here and on Yelp as well. A guest services manager has reached out to the registered guest on this reservation to learn some more details about your stay and address your concerns. We are sorry for that your time with us was less than ideal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at the Hard Rock Hotel in San Diego while in town for a convention. For previous conventions in San Diego, I had stayed at one of the more typical convention hotels. Staying at the Hard Rock was refreshingly different. The hotel has a very different feel to it. Some of it is a rock and roll feel, but some of it is just that it is a modern design.

The rooms were quite comfortable, with a separate sitting area and an incredibly well-stocked minibar. There is no desk in the room. So if you plan to work in the room, you may have to make adjustments. The bed was comfortable. But I found the platform design a bit awkward. It was quite easy to jam your shin into the bed frame. The shower is separated from the sitting area by a sheet of translucent glass. People can't see in, but vague shapes are visible.

The hotel is located at the bottom of the Gaslamp district. You are walking distance from many restaurants, bars, and clubs. The convention center is across a street and a set of tracks for the light rail system. You can hop on the trains to get around San Diego.

I took advantage of the "Picks" program, meaning that they delivered a Fender Strat to my room, along with a powered effects box and headphones. (I guess they no longer hand out amps.) It was a blast to unwind on the guitar after a long day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwardDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. It seems you took full advantage of our property, location and unique rock & roll amenities. Next time try out the Mix program, which is similar to Picks, but instead of a rocking out on the guitar in your room, we bring you a full DJ set up and laptop loaded up with a bunch of awesome danceable jams. We hope you can come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is perfect for people with a TON of money, no standard and no self control! We found trash in the bed, stains on the bed lamp, and a pill on the floor that looked like an Advil (but who knows)! And the cherry on top.....there was not even a coffee pot in the room!! Seriously? There are coffee pots in la Quinta's but not a classy place like the Hard Rock!!

Also, two out of the three elliptical machines and two of the treadmill's were not working in the gym!

When we told the staff about our concerns they acted like we were asking them to change the rotation of the earth!!

We stayed two nights then moved to the historic St. James Hotel a few blocks down. Best choice we made the whole trip!

We will not stay at a hard rock hotel again, EVER!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We're sorry your experience wasn't all that you had hoped it'd be. We did have one elliptical machine in our gym that was out for a couple of days, but all of our machines are currently functional and ready to rock. Our staff routinely is praised for their willingness to go the extra mile, so we're disappointed that we weren't able to live up to this reputation during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hard Rock while I attended a seminar. Upon our arrival the front desk noticed that it was my birthday and gave me a room upgrade...really nice! The rooms are very cool...contemporary, clean and bright! Super cool shower with two shower heads. Fully stocked bar and two big flat screen TV's. The bed was really comfortable. The cleaning staff did an excellent job. On Saturday night the place was hopping, especially the club on the lobby floor. Hotel is located very close to the trolley and is on the gas lamp district main drag. Close to everything you want in downtown San Diego including Petco park just a few steps away. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help and give you ideas for restaurants or even things to do on a rainy day!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a suite not just a single room it is really worth the difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thanks for the kind words Greg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,059 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Property: Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing