We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun hotel, amazing location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #34 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the minute you walk into the Hard Rock, San Diego (right by the Gaslamp district)...you know you're going to have a fun time (even if it's for work!)

Upon check in, you get asked what kind of music you like so that when you enter your room, it's playing. A great touch!

The rooms are extremely modern, very funky. I was assigned a room with a shower but switched to one with a tub and both rooms were lovely.

The hotel has a GREAT bar which gets really lively at the weekend, a fab coffee shop for a breakfast stop off and a pool bar which wasn't open when i visited due to the time of year.

The spa has some fab offers mid week and the treatments they offered was varied and well priced. The spa itself was very lovely and felt very seperate and relaxing in comparison to the rest of the hotel which was bold.

Would love to stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StacieJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

What a great write up! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this. We hope you come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,268)
There are newer reviews for Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,973 - 3,979 of 5,268 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Hard rock for two days for fun. It was what we expected. The hotel was nice, clean and the room that we were was really neat, the location is right at gaslamp where all the bars and restaurants are. Everyone was friendly and helpful. I arrived at the hotel before my friends and the reservation was not on my name, so I could not checked in but the girl that helped me out at the front desk Deborah was really friendly and knowledgeable. She gave me some suggestion what I should do while I was waiting for my friends arriving at the hotel and she took my number to give me a call to let me know that they arrived.I definitely would recommend this hotel and I can wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely higher floor rooms on the north side are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thanks for posting this. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and we'll be sure to pass along your shout out to Deborah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I had a great time at the Hard Rock. We loved our corner room with a balcony. The decor is very cool and beds were very comfortable. Everyone was friendly and helpful. It's a great locations close to restaurants, shops and Petco field. We wish we had more time to spend there to see more things in the area. We used the parking next door to the hotel instead of using their valet parking. If you park after 5 pm the nights stay is only $10. Definitely would recommend staying there and hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope you come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the Hard rock for almost a week on business. It was quite a bit nicer than I expected, and I really enjoyed the stay. Service at the front desk was always helpful and quick. I never had to wait more than a minute or so to be helped. The location is perfect, as it's just on the edge of the gaslamp quarter, which houses tons of great shops, restaurants and bars. And it's a block away from Petco park, which would be nice if it had been baseball season.

Concierge desk was also very helpful. multiple recommendations on a good place to eat or watch the game all ended up being greatly appreciated, including the map they provided with how to get there

Stayed in a studio room, and the accommodations were adequate. The room was clean, and had a nice decor. The lighting was a little frustrating, as it seemed that all lights were backlit or indirect. There wasn't an actual bulb anywhere to be seen except a little LED reading light attached to the headboard. Made the room feel a little dark. Enough desk area to set up was appreciated, and audio/video in/out to the TV was a nice plus to have, along with the ipod/iphone clock radio. Bathroom was spacious with a double-head shower that was not really necessary but different.

Only minor complaints about the room. They still have the antiquated idea that you will purchase a candy bar for a ridiculous price off a tray of items they leave out for you. And the mini-fridge is completely full of items for purchase that leaves you no room to put anything you may have with you in there without being charged for moving something that's in there already. There's a CVS just a few blocks away and I went and bought a few drinks and just used ice from the machine on each floor to keep them cold.

Besides that, you could definitely hear the horns and street crossing bells of the local and freight trains nearby, but I'm not sure if that's just because my room faced the convention center and the tracks. That may be the case regardless.

Overall it was a nice place to stay for a few days, with great access to food and drink nearby.

Room Tip: You may want to request that your room not look out on the convention center. You will be able to he...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yobiebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We do read each and every one and take them very seriously. We're very happy that our staff got some shout outs in your review, as they are the ones who really make our hotel special and are at the front lines of making sure each guest is treated like a rock star. You'll be glad to know that as of this week a new "Downtown Quiet Zone" ordinance is in effect that all of the train operators need to abide by, so the noise from trains and trollies will be significantly decreased from when you stayed with us. We hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a great hotel to use as a home base for exploring San Diego's Gas Lamp District. Plenty of fun restaurants, bars, and shops within an easy walk. The hotel has a fun Vegas feel to the lobby. The rooms are comfortable and modern. We also enjoyed Mary Jane's, one of their restaurants for breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsp-alisoviejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thanks for the kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you'll come back again soon and give us the opportunity to give you a five star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hubby wanted to take me to San Diego for the Thanksgiving weekend and he wanted to stay in the Gaslamp quarter; he had stayed there before and booked a room here.

I have to say I was taken aback by some of the reviews here. The lobby is very astute and overly hip with a large screen behind where you check in. Rock music playing in the background it is the Hard Rock Hotel, right? So people complaining about the loud music I personally have no smpathy for.

Got to the room, hubby somewhat disappointed with the size. It wasn't very large. It was clean and well appointed. Modern "rock star theme" Kind of weird, no coffee maker but plenty of overpriced vodka and "intimacy kits" which included condoms , etc. Obviously they are aiming for a younger market. I would not recommend this hotel for families with children at all!!!

Room service did a good job while we were there. Ate breakfast at MaryJanes one morning and it was good and service great. Had drinks in the bar 207 a couple of nights and the first couple of nights it was fine, the Saturday we were there the seats around the bar were all taken and all that you could have was a private table with bottle service which is outrageously expensive, no thanks. Several women walking around looking like porn stars, people obviously intoxicated, yelling and being obnoxious. Got drinks to go to take to our room.

Overall, not a bad experience , room clean and quiet, staff we encountered were nice and helpful. It is right in the Gaslamp Quarter which is great. Negatives: Not for families, too many trampy women and "wannabe's", outrageous prices for drinks, room service.


  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamstrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We do cater to a younger audience, especially on the weekends, but do try provide an experience that can be enjoyed by guests of all ages. We'd suggest checking out our rooftop bar, Float, if you stay with us again. It offers a fun atmosphere that's a little more casual and laid back than the club atmosphere of 207. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed there for one night (a Saturday), our first in town, while attending the ESRI conference (then moved to another hotel for the rest of the week - wanted to try out the HR and could only get one night at the conference rate). Stayed with my 9 month old baby and a friend.

PROs:
Mary Jane's is fantastic for breakfast and right downstairs - big plus. Also the convention center is right across the street, as is the trolley stop. You can't beat the location.

CONs:
Yes, the HR should probably not be your first choice when traveling with a baby. I knew this going in. If I had been traveling without a baby and in the mood to party, it would have been more enjoyable. But I would say that if you want to sleep sober you might want to choose a different hotel or just make sure you end up on a high floor. The noise was very loud, even in the room, up until about midnight and then it actually got louder. I was on the 3rd floor so maybe it's not such a problem higher up. And maybe it's only bad on Saturday, but I doubt that being the gaslamp. The gentleman who helped us with our bags saw the baby and warned us, but also said they were full so there wasn't going to be anything they would be able to do about the volume. Again, self inflicted wound but I wanted to give the place a try.

The mini-bar had not been checked when we checked in. We were contacted after checkout to try and charge us for items which were missing from the mini-bar. We explained about the mini-bar not having been checked before we got there and the bill was taken off our credit card without any issues.

The shower and bathroom area are pretty big and lovely. The bedroom is tiny - very little space to move around the bed. I don't think I would have been comfortable spending much time in the room with 2 people in the room - 1 might be the max.

I would only stay there again if I could get some kind of confirmation that I would be on a higher floor. For the money and convenience of access to the convention center, I think I would choose the Omni next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank espritnumber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. We do read every post and take them all very seriously. We're sorry that your stay with us was anything less than fantastic. Traveling with a little one is always tough and we're sure the noise didn't help matters. We always try to accommodate a room move whenever possible, especially in cases like yours, but unfortunately sometimes it's just not possible due to high occupancy. We do hope that you stay with us again. If you call a few days before you check in to request a high floor, we will do everything we can to make sure that happens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,408 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $203 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing