We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Different Kind of Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #37 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Different Kind of Hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It didn't start well. We arrived late on a Friday night and there was a line of people outside for the club and it was loud and not evident where the entrace to the hotel was. The bouncer pointed the way to the lobby. Things got better from there. I had called ahead to make sure that we had a room on an upper floor away from the noise and we did. The suite was spacious and the king bed was very comfortable. There was a large shower with great pressure. The staff is young and for the most part helpful. Mary Jane's is the restaurant for breakfast. Definitely overpriced but the food was good. No coffee maker in the room but they will loan you a Fender guitar for your stay which my husband enjoyed (headphones only,no amp thank God). The lobby has little seating and is not really a place to relax. This place is not for everyone. Convention center right across the street. We were there for a conference.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise. Loud Sunday pool parties happen on during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starglazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are indeed a unique hotel and we pride ourselves on being able to cater to both the weekend fun-seeker and the convention-goer. We're glad you were able to take advantage of our Fender guitar program, as we're the only hotel family that offers this type of rock & roll amenity (we actually just launched a similar program for the aspiring DJ) and a free bicycle rental program with our partners at San Diego-based bike company, Electra. We do charge a premium price, but our goal is always deliver the type of rock star service one would expect with a premium rate. I noticed that you only gave our service three stars, which is far below what we strive to achieve. If you would be willing to email mdufour@hardrockhotelsd.com with some more details of how our service was lacking, we would welcome the feedback, as we are always trying to improve our guest experience and want to make sure whatever issues you had don't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,844
    1,356
    461
    174
    141
See reviews for
535
1,286
229
1,889
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference at the conference center across the street. The location was perfect. There are plenty of restaurants in and around the GasLamp District. There is also a transit stop right in front of the hotel. It's close to the water and in walking distance of the Fisherman's Village. It's also in walking distance of the baseball stadium. The best part of the hotel is definitely the location, but it was also very clean and the service was very friendly.

Room Tip: There are rooms that look over the pool and the area where the "Intervention" is held. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We strive to give every guest the type of rock star experience deserving of a five star review. We're so glad we were able to do this for you and hope to have another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you're single and looking to have a good time in San Diego, this is your place.

The Hard Rock is situated at the entrance of the Gaslamp District. Plenty of places to dine and party. While most places close early on Sunday, the Hard Rock is open late night. For this reason, everyone comes to Hard Rock to unwind.

Rooms, Service, all of it was what you would expect at a Hard Rock.

Don't think twice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2philuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there recently for 10 days. Rooms & amenities were very nice. Good location with close access to the nearby convention center, baseball park & restaurants. My only issue was that it feels like it's being run by amateurs. Room service food remained outside my door for over 20 hours. Housekeeping was inconsistent even when I left their door hanger requesting service. I broke some glass in the room (ROCK & ROLL!) and then cut my foot when housekeeping didn't do an adequate job in vacuuming the broken glass. I found additional large shards in obvious areas after my injury. Housekeeping left a piece of curtain rod on my bed. I called to notify them of this. The next day the rod was propped in the corner. Just amateurish management. Good: Nobu Sushi in the lobby. Bad: Lobby bar wants to be a club.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DactionAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Your experience with housekeeping is definitely not acceptable to us on any level. You are 100% correct in assuming that our staff should be able to adequately clean up broken glass, as it's a safety hazard, and properly fix (or remove) broken curtain rods. We are going to try to find out some more info on this so we can make sure the member of our staff responsible for your room is made aware that their level of service is unacceptable. We'd love to discuss this with you over the phone or via email to make sure we have all the details necessary to properly investigate. If you are open to that, please email mdufour@hardrockhotelsd.com

We are very pleased that you otherwise enjoyed our unique amenities and our killer downtown location. We're sorry that a lack of service prevented you from fully enjoying your stay and we'd very much like the opportunity to wow you on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swift Current, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed for a few days in October. The rooms are setup are nice and have a "new age" vibe. There are a few good restaurants in the hotel and the rock shop. Lot's of music memorabilia on the walls. like the chainsaw that Fergie Ferg used to cut the ribbon at the grand opening of the hotel. The hotel was very clean, The pool is small but plenty big enough for the bikini cuties to parade around it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt D, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room is nice, lots of spaces, nice little touches, bathroom is nice ( no bath though).

Bed is super comfortable.

Although the staff is nice and friendly, things can be a little chaotic.
I arrived at 20.00 and my room was still not ready until 21.00 (some people not checking out).

Room Tip: If you want to sleep ask for a high floor room - to avoid pool area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahess02, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience (and tips) with the TripAdvisor community. We're sorry for the delay in having your room ready. Some of our suites do have bathtubs/spas and our reservations experts would be happy to work with you on reserving one next time you stay with us. We're very sorry your room wasn't ready when you arrived. We try our best to make sure this never happens, but when we're operating at very high occupancy sometimes some delays occur nonetheless. Thank you for your patience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Awesome experience here. Great service all the way around - very accomodating and prudent to a couple of small requests I had. Hotel itself is very modern & hip, and I can't wait to visit again when I come back to San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahess02, Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words. We hope to have you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Property: Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing