We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy, Modern Hard Rock Hotel in the heart of Gaslamp district.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #36 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Trendy, Modern Hard Rock Hotel in the heart of Gaslamp district.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I would definitely recommend this place for trendy folks that enjoy night life and high energy that
surrounds this hotel. The room we stayed was on the 10th floor. Whenever there was a music playing on the terrace roof of the 4th floor, we could hear it even with the closed balcony door. So get ready to "dance in your sleep".

It was interesting experience staying in this place.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be best as night life is a big part of the aria where this hotel is situated.0
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Levinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,739
    1,313
    446
    169
    135
See reviews for
513
1,253
220
1,802
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,052)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diegan in Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our get-away here. We had a couples massage at the Rock Spa, cocktails down the street, and later dinner at the in-house Nobu. Breakfast the next day at the pancake place downstairs was dynamite.

The next day I camped by the pool and ate tacos ... it was just really lovely, relaxing, and nice...without being too posh.

The two things which keep this hotel from earning five stars: (1) the modern decor, while nice, seemed a little cold in places; a fact which may also stem from the coldness of the lobby with its 'airport check-in' vibe. (2) The pool opens to the public halfway through the day and subsequently turns into a club...it got very out of hand very quickly...there was even a giant inflatable penis thrown into the pool as there were multiple bachelorette parties getting warmed up.

So I'm taking points off for lack of class and lack of warmth...but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! Also, it's convenient to all the shopping downtown as well as the convention center.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The name says it all. The food was good. The gymnasium well equipped. The service as always on the ball. The people are friendly and well trained for the job. The location is good, close to the places you want to be.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkFairhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at the Hard Rock San Diego for four nights. This is not your standard business hotel. Rooms have a modern, hip feel. Staff members are casual but extremely friendly and helpful. Location is outstanding - right in the Gas Lamp district, across the street from the convention center, a block from the baseball stadium, and close to the Bay. Excellent restaurants abound. A very unique property. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just returned from a business conference at the Hard Rock in San Diego. I thought the staff was excellent; they were very helpful and friendly --- and all very nice looking! The food was EXCELLENT. I had room service delivered one night, in addition to the meals provided for our conference.

The memorabilia around the hotel was cool: handwritten letters from musicians, original, handwritten songs by the stars complete with cross-outs, etc., great pictures, signed instruments, and musician's costumes are all over the place.

The room itself was just okay: I got the sense that they don't keep up on the maintenance as they should (granted, it's a Hard Rock Hotel, so who knows what kind of partying goes on in these rooms --- I guess all the maintenance could get a little expensive!) For example, my toilet paper holder was loose on the wall, and each time I used it I thought the toilet paper was going to fall off. I only had one wastebasket in the room, which was very inconvenient. I actually had to bring it out and leave it in the doorway between the bedroom and bathroom so it was close to me wherever I went. The maid didn't pick up on this, though, and I spent the entire 4 days with just one.

I ALMOST bought a Snicker's bar from the snack tray, but when I picked it up it was sticky on the bottom, like someone might have spilled a drink on the tray or something. My room was right in front of the T line, so every so often I heard the whistle as the train went by.

No coffeemaker in the room! This really sucked, since I had to get dressed and go down to the lobby right out of bed! Another pet peeve of mine (maybe not yours): no sleep mode on the remote.

Other business associates said they could hear the partying at the club all night long, but I didn't hear anything, since my room was probably not right on top of it.

Can't comment on pool, spa, area attractions, etc., since this was a business trip and I didn't use any of these.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is located near the glasslamp quarter, so a nice location, unfortunately you can hear the trains passing by in the early morning. The rooms are newly made, offer a very cool look and are clean. The hotel is very modern, the service is ok, but could be better. There is only expensive valet parking available. The meeting rooms are very nice and modern. The price is a little to high.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

A different hotel compared to the normal 4-5 star hotels. Sunday was the Last Intervention Sunday which brings a large crowd. Security is very good, the hotel is located in the gas light area near restaurants & bars. A fairly young crowd. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Only down is there are no coffee pots in the rooms. A nice hotel, I would recommend and return

Room Tip: The pool area can be loud so if you plan on turning in early choose a floor above 6 or away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#44 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Property: Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing