We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Ranked #36 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Above and Beyond, that is how my stay was at the Hard Rock Hotel San Diego. I was there for New Years Eve 2012, and again the greatest hotel in San Diego by far. From the day I arrived till the day I left, nothing but down to earth staff, helpful all the way around. And of course, the NYE party thrown by Hard Rock, no one can touch it... Thanks!!!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Woodstock Suites, the balcony overlooks the pool area... Not a bad view at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leidown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
This is so great! Hopefully we don’t have to wait until NYE 2013 to see you again! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,881 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,785
    1,333
    455
    171
    137
See reviews for
528
1,265
222
1,838
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Great people! Great! I really can't emphasize this point enough. Didn't get a chance to party, I was there for business. I hit a lot of awesome hotels, Gansevoort, W, Ian Schager Hotels list goes on and can say with ease that one of my best experiences in service happened in this Hotel. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellsxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
I can’t wait to share this with the team. We’re so proud of our service and each and every one of us is excited to hear that you loved your time here. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Was recommended by my Travelling agent for its good location, for a conference I am visiting. To my opinion the hotel is great for "party animals" and less for business travelers who will seek for a quiet place to rest. Room Devore is very nice and neat. For some reason no prices for the mini bar items (maybe it is all for free...). I think there are other near by hotels for similar or lower prices for business traveller. Or the hotel will offer quieter rooms for such guests. My general rank to them is 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yehiel_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
269 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Hard rock hotel in San Diego is convenient close to city and to San Diego convention center. Very loud and party hotel, you need to stay close to the reception desk to hear info about your roo. The roomas are fantastic, big, modern, designed and we had two big flat screens and of course a good sound system. Unfortunate no balcony.
Nice pool that however was closed due to the parties at the pool place...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Next time you’re in, ask for a balcony room. We have several with great views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

I chose to stay three nights this past week at the Hard Rock hotel due to its location, which included being in the Gaslamp District & across the street from the convention center, where I was attending a conference. The hotel has a cool vibe, an excellent restaurant in Nobu, a good breakfast place in MaryJane and nice bar in 207. There is also a pool level bar area, but the weather was a bit subpar during my stay, so it was not explored. I stayed in a suite, which I would highly recommend given the regular rooms seemed on the small side. The staff was excellent, especially Andrew, who took care of a minor problem to my complete satisfaction.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClarkGFVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
You’ll have to return when the weather is great so you can hang out at Float! Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have nothing bad to say about our experience at this hotel. The location was amazing. The staff was great. The rooms were clean. The mango daquiri's were AMAZING!!! I cannot WAIT to go back!!!

Room Tip: We did not pay big bucks for a room... we probably had one of the "cheapest" - & it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Yum! That drink is the perfect way to relax in sunny San Diego. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

The Hard Rock Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for easy access to the gas lamp and all it has to offer. The rooms are comfortable, the staff friendly and accomodating and the location is within walking distance to the gas lamp or the trolley for more San Diego exploring.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chamoorita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Guest Relations Manager at Hard Rock Hotel San Diego, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,054 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel San Diego

Property: Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Address: 207 5th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101-6908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Business Hotel in San Diego
#25 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#58 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Rock Hotel San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Rock San Diego Hotel Downtown is where VIP service meets urban-chic design with world-class dining and ultra-hip nightlife for an unforgettable experience that rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock San Diego
San Diego Hard Rock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing