We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Best pizza in America".....maybe so!”
Review of Pizza Bella

Pizza Bella
Ranked #124 of 4,745 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Best pizza in America".....maybe so!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

When I saw that they had been voted the "best pizza in America," naturally I was skeptical. I ordered the pesto delight and it was a delight! Was it the best in the country? I don't know, but it was among the best I have had!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    85
    27
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Salad and Pizza”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant is in Old Town San Diego, and a moderate walk from the Marriot Courtyard and Fairfield Inn on Jefferson Street. My family and I visited on a Saturday night about 7:30 and were immediately seated. We ordered a combination of a mediterranean salad, pasta, and pizza. The salad and pizza were absolutely delicious and portions were generous. The bow-tie pasta was served with marinara sauce they was more of a garden home style. Service was very good and the atmosphere is family friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reitziger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vergne, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It wasn't as good as I had hoped...”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I mean, it was pizza. A step above Dominos/Pizza Hut and alike, but it definitely could have used some more tomato sauce (it was almost kind of dry). My wife had a Greek salad and it was drowning in the balsamic vinegar (her words not mine). Good for a snack maybe, but not dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“good pizza”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We ordered a large Hawaiian pizza for 4 of us. It was very good although one person commented he couldn't find the pineapple and the other said it was too tomatoey. I thought it was hot and delicious. The drinks were very good too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank camamare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Level Contributor
207 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere & excellent pizza”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Found Pizza Bella on tripadvisor. Arrived on a Sunday evening and were seated in the courtyard. The pizza was every bit as delicious as the photos showed it to be. It was tasty, fresh and the crust was perfect. Service was excellent and timely. Prices reasonable for the amount and quality of the food. We had a very relaxed and enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Bella also viewed

 

Been to Pizza Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing