We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Will try again” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sipz Cafe

Sipz Cafe
Ranked #1,419 of 4,615 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Thai
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Will try again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I ate lunch at the Sipz North Park location (3914 30th St between University Ave & Lincoln Ave). I ordered Garlic Jalapeo Fries (not really crispy), Tom Yum (basic stuff) & Oshinko Baby Roll (interesting taste). I wasn't impressed with any of these dishes but I saw a lot of items on the menu that I would like to try so I will come back again. The pricing was reasonable and the atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anointedhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oily and greasy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I wanted to like Sipz Cafe but the food was just incredibly oily. The drunken noodles was full of oil and the large cup of water they supply you with won't get rid of that grease on your tongue so well. I thought that Ranchos Cocina next door had better dishes than Sipz.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Even though they label themselves as a vegan diner, the food is pretty much a heart attack waiting to happen. Mock meats drenched in salt and msg isn't really healthy for you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Vegans and Vegetarians Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I really enjoy coming here. The food is sometimes so hot when you get it you have to wait to eat. There are so many choices. Before I learned I was gluten intolerant I tried a few of the mock meats, the chicken in their spicy basil dish was really good. Now I get it with tofu. I like their fresh spring rolls. Haven't tried their 'sushi' but most mock meats contain wheat gluten so I'll stay clear.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silicon Valley, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good vegan food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food well prepared, very clean place, workers friendly.
Prices reasonable. Lots of variety on menu. Didn't try their fake "meat"--usually that's what makes or breaks one of these places.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MVFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sipz Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sipz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing