We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay!”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #23 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing stay!”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Spent 2 nights (wish it had been more) at The Pearl as part of honeymoon in Oct 2011 (apologies for late review) . Can't recommend the hotel more...just such an amazing and relaxed atmosphere about it. Lucky for us we were for both the bingo and dive in movie nights....superb! Forget the soulless chain hotels....this is the only place you want to be staying in San Diego. Staff super cool and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mickymcc1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for the review. Better late then never. Appreciate you taking time. Please come visit us again soon. Tell a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    215
    57
    30
    21
See reviews for
105
456
112
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The negatives: parking issue (fee), poor Wi-Fi, very dated hotel (more like a motel), no high definition TV channels, road noise. Uniqueness: Oscar the fish in the fishbowl light fixture - very cool. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, but overall we were disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We do have very limited parking (10 spaces) so we charge $10 a night for parking, BUT there is plenty of free parking in the community. Guest choice. Our Wifi is usually very strong, going to look into it. I strong WiFi is extremely important to me when i visit other hotels.

all of our rooms are outfitted with modern 37" or 42" Flatscreen TV's. We have a have an expanded Cable package that includes about 50+ channels. to help keep our room costs affordable we don't offer HD TV.

Hotel was completely renovated in 2008 to award winning quality. we have won numerous awards and honors. I am sorry you felt our hotel was dated.

Our staff is amazing. They truly strive to meet and exceed guest expectations and experience. It's our main focus. I'm honored to work with them. They truly care the most.

I hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I loved this boutique hotel - the design is great! The room was great, staff was friendly and helpful. For the price I felt it was a great value and I would stay there again. I have already told a lot of friends about this great find in San Diego.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review. We appreciate your support. Come stay with us again soon. All the best in 2014. Tell a Friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2014

MY NEW FAVORITE PLACE! This hotel is so-o-o-o groovy! i love it, it is a must to check out if you're in the area looking for a stay-cay or cool lounge for some dinner and drinks. The staff is so attentive to your needs and although the rooms aren't that big, it's all very comfortable and cozy. Flat screen TVs, comfy beds, a fish in every room (so different!), and a sweet hangout on a hammock by the pool. But what really tied up the experience was the dinner at the restaurant. Our server was Sarah and she was probably one of the best servers I've had. It's hard to find good service lately, lots of restaurants seem to be forgetting service is key but Sarah was right on point. She was very amiable, smiley and helpful with drink and food choices. I tried the best burger in town and the bun sealed that deal. so yummy, and great fries. my boyfriend had the pork chop and although we were afraid it would be dry, it was very well prepared! and their drinks!! oh man, so amazing. i loved the pickle party shot! who would have thought to even make that up? jameson with a pickle back!! oh also try their cinn-ful berry! thank you sarah for a memorable night of great service and great food. will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica_R733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
On behalf of the Pearl Hotel. THANK YOU VERY MUCH for your awesome review!!!!. appreciate the detail. Hope you will come visit us again soon. will share with the entire staff, especially Sarah, she is a rock star. Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I grew up in San Diego and it wasn't until I moved to Point Loma that I discovered The Pearl. I find myself visiting this great hotel/restaurant a couple times a week!! From the chic hotel and rooms to the fantastic restaurant (Eat at the Pearl), this place is my second home. Much of the staff is led by Adrienne and this "team" is the best! Nice work, Adrienne!! I highly recommend The Pearl to stay, eat and relax. It really is "Hospitality as warm as the sun...."

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you very, very, very much for the review. We love locals and out of town visitors alike. Adrienne is a rock star!!!. Hope you will come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
913 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The location: You are ten minutes away from the airport, towards Point Loma. This also means a fifteen minute drive to downtown San Diego, twenty minutes to Coranado Island, and thirty minutes to the coves of La Jolla.

The setting: This is a motel that has undergone an Ikea style refurbishment. Some of the higher priced rooms have new bathrooms; the cheaper ones still sport the originals from the days before the refurbishment. The restaurant and bar are busy during the weekend for brunch, late afternoon drinks and dinner. We didn’t eat here, but the locals seem to like the place. There is a small pool in the center of the courtyard, with Ikea style deck furniture.

The rooms: Mine was the middle category room with a dated bathroom; my friend opted for the best room type and had a modern bathroom. Both rooms came with small patios. The platform beds were comfortable. The flat screen TVs were nice as well. The boxed (not bottled) water was a nice touch. The water pressure was excellent but the toiletries mundane. WiFi was good but lagged at times.

All in all: This place is a great value, especially if booked ahead. If you are renting a car during your visit, stay here and save money. The place is clean and the location is great. There are lots of conveniences on Rosecrans, the main road fronting the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
On behalf of the entire Pearl Hotel family. Thank you very much for the review. We appreciate your support. Come visit us again soon. Tell a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rieste, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Pearl Hotel has modern furnishing and is pretty clean. I liked the style a lot but the hotel is quite small. The rooms are located around the pool and the bar and restaurant. When we stayed there, the restaurant was closed. The staff was great, parking on the side streets or in the hotel park (has to be paid for) is possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrice80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We appreciate your support. Hope you will come visit us again soon. Gratitude. all the best in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Dolphin Motel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 1410 Rosecrans St, San Diego, CA 92106-2239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in San Diego
#24 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#35 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Hotel San Diego
Pearl San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing