We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pearl Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$226
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$219
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$125
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$199
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Terrace Hotel(San Diego)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$187
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
La Jolla Beach Travelodge(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$173
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveler rating
675
224
61
31
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
675
224
61
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeta fishmid centurypet fishdive in moviemovie screenfish bowlshag carpetbrussel sproutsbruce leejewel roompoint lomacool retroroad noisesmall hotelshelter islandcomfy bedhotel guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
656 - 661 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have been wanting to stay at this "boutique hotel" for awhile. Have dined there and had cocktails but never stayed at the hotel. It was a lot of fun. We stayed on a Wednesday which is Dive-In Theatre night. Movie on a big screen, poolside.They were playing Pulp Fiction. Lots of people watching and enjoying. It did get a little loud though when we retired to our room....not the people, the movie. We were downstairs, so I think when we return we will get an upstairs room. One of the very cool things......a fish bowl with a fish in every room. Ours was named Jaws:-) can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the utility room on the bottom floor....it was a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathanstutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thanks for your review and support. Really appreciate it. Having local San Diegan's stay with us means a lot to us. Your comments about volume level on movie are well taken. Thank you for the heads up and note on that challenge. We will correct it. Please tell a friend. See you soon at our little Pearl. It always shines brightest when you are there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel, restaurant/bar, and staff were all great. The room was nice and clean. The restaurant and bar was great. Food was excellent and they had a great selection of drinks/local beers on tap. The staff was superb as well. Everyone was friendly remembered your name. Its the little things!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thanks for the great review. Really appreciate the support. It's guest like you that make this business so worthwhile and fun. Thank you!!!! Please tell a friend and hope you will come stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at The Pearl in August. Not only did they put us in a tiny room next to the kitchen, I had my ipad stolen out of the room. My room was in a hall way that had outside opening next to the bar. basically any one can walk into the hotel at any time. The management did absolutely nothing to help me, they told me I should call the police. They said there was no possible way that a worker could have possibly stolen the ipad. That the consequences where far to much for any of their workers to steal. Well one worker got away with a free ipad , and absolutely nothing was done to them. If your a criminal you should come work here. If it wasn't a worker who stole the ipad, then one of the guest must have just walked into my room and stoled it, sure!!!!! Either way this place is not safe!!! Do your self a favor and pay up and stay some where they don't steal your stuff out of your room!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Chitown51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

All accusations are taken very seriously by Pearl Hotel ownership. It is company policy at the Pearl Hotel to ask the guest to file a police report. Our insurance company requires it. Makes it really hard for ownership and management to assist a guest that accuses our staff of stealing something but refuses to file a police report with san diego police department. I am sincerely sorry you feel we did nothing to help you. As the owner I am always available to discuss any and all challenges with guests.

Regarding our rooms. Some of our rooms are on the smaller side but well appointed with quality beds, linens, Flat Screen TV and amazing spa H2O products.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is so cool and hip. The rooms are very stylish....you even get a pet in the room (a fish). They show movies outside by the pool on the wall. The restaurant is amazing - the food is so fresh and organic. Very cool hip place. Stay or just go for dinner or drinks.....this place will not disappoint!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonlynnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

On behalf of the entire Pearl Hotel crew and family. Thanks for the great review. We appreciate it. Your support and kind words go a long way. Will be sharing with our staff. Hope you will come stay again in the near future. Tell a friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family and I stayed here a few weeks ago and it was love at first sight. We're still raving about it and have told all of our friends that this hotel is a must-see. The overall vibe was amazing; The Pearl is decked with unique decor details (ex. red rubber duckies and a goldfish in each room), personal service, outdoor movie screen, absolutely delicious food, crafty cocktails, and adorable rooms. Our expectations were truly exceeded. We're really looking forward to returning when the weather warms up and we can spend the day/evening poolside!

Room Tip: It's worth it to spend a little more (at least) on "The Jewel" so you have an outdoor patio, storage space and larger bed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModernTraveler10, Owner at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thanks for the AWESOME Review!!!!!! really appreciate your kind words. Glad you had a great stay with us. Please come visit again soon. Tell a friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews