We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Agree with the good oppinions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #10 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I Agree with the good oppinions”
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Hotel is in apublic area near park and water. Try to get a high floor with water view.
Good rooms, bads, kitchen, TV , bathroom , breakfast, and afternoon buffet.
Room with pool table - free. wifi works fine, but not best reception in all the room.
Pool and hot Jacuzzi.
All buldings have access only with room card- extra security.
Service is good , but too correct. FAst check in/out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,114
    358
    82
    27
    15
See reviews for
835
293
46
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This is a great base to explore San Diego. Only minutes to the zoo and with free parking and a lovely area to walk along the water - there's a great playground about 5 minutes along the path which our kids loved. The breakfasts are very nice and so are the evening reception light dinners. It was great to have an early dinner with the kids without having to go out, although there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Rooms are spacious and new, everything was very clean and it's great to have the kitchen to make a quick snack.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at The Homewood Suites on Labor Day as we were planning to be at Sea World the next day. The location is wonderful with a beautiful promenade along the water and parks and shopping center all very close by. We especially enjoyed Corvette Diner for a milkshake on our stroll and Pizza at Oggie's right across from the hotel. The hotel is very nice with a lot of ammenities like a pool, hot tub, basketball court, patio terrace overlooking the water, exercise rooms, a great breakfast, and very nice and clean rooms. Our room had a great view of the water with a sliding glass door leading to a small balcony. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was separated with tub and toilet enclosed from the vanity, and the kitchen was well stocked for a quick stay. We were told when we booked the room that they would be having the dinner reception that night even though it was Labor Day but when we arrived we were told they did not serve on holidays, but the hotel clerk reimbursed us $20. for dinner that night. They were very service oriented and we would highly recommend this hotel if you are in San Diego.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valuetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We were in this hotel over the recent Labor Day weekend. The room was excellent, no complaints at all - very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. and we had a partial view of the harbour. However the breakfast area was extremely crowded on all three mornings and it was very difficult to find somewhere to sit and eat - we went outside one day and shared tables on the other days. Also the free evening reception is only available from Monday to Thursday which was disappointing. The hotel has no bar or restaurant and the nearby restaurants are all "fast food" places. We ended up at the Marriott hotel next door on all three evenings which serves good bar snacks and has a restaurant and a nice bar area. The riverside area around the hotel is very nice for walks etc but to get into the city centre you do need a car. I would stay here again though.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welshgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My wife and and 2 children (12,11) stayed for 1 night in July 2010. The night we were there the hotel appeared full and we were smilingly upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite. This suite was excellent with a king bed in 1 bedroom and a queen in the other. The 2 bedrooms were connected by a compact sitting room and a decently equipped kitchen. Because we were only there for 1 night, we didn't use the cooking facilities. However we did want to get ice and even though I searched high and low, I couldn't find an ice bucket. I ended up walking to the ice machine to collect ice with a saucepan from the cupboard. This was no big deal but on my return,I met a guy going the other way to collect ice also carrying a pan so it didn't seem to be an isolated omission for our room. It's a bit strange these are not supplied but as I say, it's no big deal.
As others have commented, the'free' evening reception meal with wine and beer for the adults is of excellent quality but because the hotel was full the night we were there, there wasn't enough tables to seat all the guests. Since you were not allowed to take alcohol out of the dining area, we had to rutun later in the evening in order to get a table to eat. In the morning, it was the same story. The dining area was very full with some big parties cramped around some very small tables. The breakfast was good and plentiful but nothing exceptional. Although both the evening meal, breakfast and parking are 'free', don't be fooled into thinking that Hilton haven't baked these costs into the room rate. The night we spent at the Homewood Suites was the most expensive (in rate terms) of all the 18 nights we spent on the West coast and that included staying in some city centre hotels in places like San francisco.
Having said that, the hotel is excellent and rightly deserves its high Tripadvisor ranking. It's very convenient to the airport and you can access all the major tourist attractions with ease (top tip - we were pleasantly suprised with the USS Midway museaum which is close by. If you have young bys, its a real hit as an attraction).
We like staying in suites compared to regular hotel rooms because of the extra space and the Homewood Suites is a great - particularly if you can get a good room rate!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghTimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Spent two nights here while on vacation in Southern California with wife and two sons (10 and 7). This is truly one of the best hotels I have stayed at in all of my travels! Every staff member we came in contact with had a friendly smile and "what can I do for you" attitude. The front desk provided a map and directions to the zoo and the lady in the manager's reception area helped me wrap up some dinner items to take back to the room for my family. The most outstanding service was when a couple of the engineering staff helped clean beach sand out of my rental car. I even had a chance to visit with the manager while the staff were helping with my car. She is a wonderful lady who is focused on having the best hotel with the best service in the area.

The suite and bathroom were very clean and everything was in great working order. The wireless internet connection worked perfectly. The small balcony was a nice place to get a bit of fresh air. Airplanes regularly take off over the hotel area, but the sound in the rooms is minimal.

The pool is a little on the small side, but was the perfect temperature and plenty of fun for the boys and some new friends. There is an outdoor terrace on the third floor that overlooks the waterway and airport. The walkways around the hotel and surrounding grounds, including along the waterway provide great strolls.

We ate dinner there one of the nights - plenty of good food that was replenished regularly. Breakfasts were good overall, even though I still don't much care for the Homewood Suites scrambled egg "mix" or whatever it is. They did have some cheese and pico to put on the eggs that made them better, though. The business center was great for printing boarding passes.

All in all, this is the place to stay in San Diego as far as I am concerned. It is close to downtown, the airport, and the Zoo - and parking here is free! I highly recommend staying here.

Helpful hint - you are allowed to take in food and water (just not in coolers) to the zoo.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

New Hotel - spacious suites - friendly staff - wonderful park -
very good restaurants in walking distance - breakfast buffet is
very, very full of people !!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loisl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing