We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You just can't beat the free breakfast and dinner!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #10 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Loved it-- comfy rooms ( stayed in 1 bedroom suite with fold out couch and roll-away, 2 TV's; perfect for 2 adults, 2 kids, 1 preteen!) Awesome, accomodating service. Once when we were in line to get free face painting, and they were about to run out of time, we left--- and the hotel staff member overseeng it came out and found us outside to tell us they could fit us in. That was above and beyond!

Really, for a nice, clean, comfortable hotel, you just can't beat the free lunch, dinner, glass of wine, parking, and wifi. Saves you a ton of $$, especially when you are spending your days buying lunches at theme parks and lots of souvenirs. My kids also loved the pool table, and the pool. The only thing I would have changed was the chilly weather, but I guess they don't have any control over that.=). Definitely would recommend if you are headed that way.

PS- Didn't hear the planes at night, but it sure was fun to drink coffee and watch the planes take off in the morning! Also, the front of the hotel is pretty humdrum looking, but don't let that fool you- it's great!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dukeofllano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2010

The property was lovely, situated on the fomer Naval Training Center. The rooms were very clean. Every staff member we encountered was extremely friendly and willing to answer all of our questions.

We enjoyed walking on the nearby waterfront over to the park area. There are several museums/points of interest along the way.

After a few days, the same fare at breakfast was a little disappointing. There were a couple of days out of the 4 that we stayed where we ended up going elsewhere for something other than scrambled eggs and waffles. I suggest investing in a couple more waffle irons due to the wait time.

We did not utilize the pool, but it looked sufficient. We did not experience any of the 'noise' issues as the other reviews state. The property is located right next to the airport, but the jet noise ceased after about 10pm. We didn't have any problems sleeping with the windows and arcadia door wide open all night. We also didn't experience any noises from other rooms as previous reviews speak of.

All in all we would definitely stay here again. We would probably bring items that we enjoy more for breakfast than rely on the hotel's offerings every day. We brought our own items for lunch, utilized the gas grills on the property and enjoyed picnicking along the waterfront.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0veSanDieg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This hotel was absolutely awesome! The location was perfect to all of the attractions. The staff were always nice and accomodating. The rooms were clean and housekeeping changed the sheets every day! We stayed here for 7 nights and I thought this was great. Cleanliness is always my top concern. The breakfast each morning was outstanding. They also provide a light supper with cocktails included Mon-Thurs from 5:30-7:30pm. We took advantage of this only one of the nights and it was very decent. Complimentary beer and wine is always nice. We paid a AAA rate of $249/nt. Parking is free, which you won't find at many other area hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cfred29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

The staff was very friendly. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping to meal hosts always greeted us with a smile and made us feel welcome and comfortable.

The rooms are nice-comfy beds, clean, a t.v. in every room, full size fridge, microwave, 2 burner stove, and all the cooking utensils and dishes you need. There's a Vons a couple blocks away for stocking up. They offer full complementary breakfast every day and dinner M-Th, including wine and beer and a vegetarian option. Even my picky family members enjoyed the food. We hardly dined out during our stay as breakfast and dinner meals were provided and we packed our lunches and snacks in the room.

It's very close to a lot of attractions-we weren't more than 10 min from the Zoo, Sea World, Old Town, Seaport Village, and it wasn’t very far to drive to La Jolla beach or the Wild Animal Park.

Amenities at the hotel include exercise rooms, pool and jacuzzi, a couple balcony patios and a nice courtyard patio with outdoor fireplace, basketball court (balls at the front desk), pool table, and board games you can check out from the front desk. It's located next to a park area for walking along the water and there’s a nice playground a short walk away.

Overall this was a very nice place, wonderful amenities, and great location. This is our new favorite place to stay in San Diego!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dotfurio1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My family and extended family (total of 22) stayed in a total of (4) suites, 3 of them in the large 2 bedroom suites to sleep 6 comfortably with lots of privacy (doors between the main area and bedrooms). The activity perks satisfied everyone: basketball court, pool/jacuzzi, and pool table. Morning breakfast and M-Th reception hour kept our restaurant bills down, and the local restaurants, all within walking distance, supplied great food. A must: Corvette Diner, at the other end of the Liberty Station area (roughly, a 15-20 minute walk along the waterfront), is a fun time for all. The room rates were a bit pricey, but if you take into consideration the breakfast and weekday happy hour, it all evens out. Reception area was a great meeting place for us to invite outside visitors to chat and catch up. Great security (you need your key card to access all of the buildings, including the backside of the main building). If you really want to relax and enjoy the laid-back lifestyle of San Diego, this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disneylovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Driving from Phoenix, we were tight with 5 in a king suite - required some air mattresses on the floor but we don't like to invest in two rooms and REALLY liked the location.

Our room was near an outdoor terrace with a water view. Free wi-fi was a benefit but ran slower than at home. Enjoyed pool, basketball court and the breakfast offered plenty of choices (even if the food was a bit institutional). We did not utilize the evening reception / dinner.

A short walk from the hotel is a huge park with playground and basketball courts -- in addition to sports court at the hotel. Nice running/walking/jogging/ path along the channel. Further along there is better dining and museums and Trader Joe's and Vons.

The hotel is adjacent to a mall with a sports bar/restaurant, yogurt shop, Subway, and other restaurants so teenagers can have a bit of independence especially if you have other plans. We have friends nearby who have problems with airport noise but this was not a problem at the hotel. Close to Maritime museum and Mission beach, I like the location much better than hotel circle and traffic is less congested than driving to Coronado.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisaPBPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Homewood Suites Liberty Station. The hotel was very clean and spacious (we had a 2BR/2 bath suite for our family of 6.) It was centrally located to the areas we visited...SeaWorld, La Jolla, the USS Midway, Cabrillo tidepools and monument, Coronado, Balboa Park, and Horton's Plaza. The area is nice and family-friendly, and there was a Von's nearby for groceries/snacks. We enjoyed the hot tub and pool and outdoor fireplaces. The breakfast area got very crowded, but other than that minor inconvenience, it worked out great for us, and we would stay there again if given the opportunity to visit San Diego again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ls1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $186 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing