We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #9 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

On booking this hotel, I was a little perplexed as to why it would be amongst the top ranked hotels in San Diego. Having stayed there, I remain a little unclear as to why it holds the top spot but I think the answer is that it does-what -it-does very well. It doesn't have the usual attributes of a popular hotel - it's located in the car park of a shopping centre and isn't particularly luxurious. However, the rooms are very spacious, the staff are unerringly helpful and the breakfast quite hearty. It is also very near to the airport and located next to a park. In sum, the Homewood Suites doesn't seek to be in any way upmarket - it aims to do an outstanding job of providing comfortable and welcoming accomodations and certainly achieves that.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mutandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,067
    347
    79
    26
    13
See reviews for
798
286
46
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

With two children living in San Diego and a new grandson - we plan to visit as often as possible and will definitely stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean, well equipped and it is great having a suite with 2 flat screen tv's. I needed a place to work during the day and the two tables in the living area were perfect. The location is fantastic -- very close to downtown, airport -- and yet removed enough to be calm and peaceful. Hotel sits on a bay inlet with walkways and well manicured greenspaces.
Breakfast is provided at no cost 5 days a week, as well as a light dinner. The pool area is adequate with plenty of seating areas. There is a Starbucks, Pizza restaurant and a few others about a block away. a shopping center with restaurants and good church are all within 1 mile.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randy_howarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

There were a total of three adults and two children(5yrs and 2yrs old) in our party. We rented a two room suite which included a kitchen and two full baths. The adults stayed in the rooms while the kids slept on the pull out sofa. The beds were comfy and the two bathrooms made getting ready in the mornings quick and easy. The breakfast and light dinner that is included in your stay is great for those traveling with children. We didn't have to wake up extra early to go and eat somewhere before heading out for the day and at the end of the day the light dinner was perfect and kid friendly (i.e mac and cheese, taco bar, etc). There are also grocery stores and restaurants near by which alowed us to buy drinks and snacks for the kids and keep them in our room. The location of this hotel is also great for those planning to see the theme parks. It was about 20-25 mins to both sea world and san diego zoo and about 45 mins to legoland. It is also right down the street from the airport but you would never know it. You don't hear the planes flying over head. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

We had reserved a 1-br suite, but were upgraded to a 2-br when we checked in. We stayed for 5 nights. The staff were professional and the service was good. The suite itself was immaculate with a good kitchenette.

The property is fairly close to the airport and is about a 5-minute drive from downtown and Sea World.

Overall, one of our most comfortable and memorable stays. Highly recommended!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kmrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

The suite style hotel was great for our young family. The small kitchen allowed us to have snacks and quick treats available. The breakfast was great to get the day started. Easy access to the freeway and downtown San Diego. The grounds were nice and it is located very close to grocery shopping. This hotel was not in the busy downtown area, but if you don't like Southwest flying outside of your window, you might want to choose another place to stay. Good price for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

This hotel is not so easy to find for first-timers. I had the address and had looked it up via an online map, but we still had to ring them to be sure of the location. Hint: if you can see the old navy ship (?) which is (now?) set in concrete, you're getting very warm. But the hotel is well-hidden behind a strip mall/convention center.

We stayed a night at this hotel while making a trip to San Diego for a conference at a nearby location.

The rate for the room was $139 plus tax, if I recall correctly.

The hotel is not far from the airport. I know this in part because I could hear jets coming and going continuously. If you're a light sleeper, this detail could be a bother, but we were not really put out by the constant air traffic. I slept OK for the first night in a hotel (which is often an issue for me).

The room we were given had a kitchenette. It was wasted on us, but I can imagine it might be useful for some folks. I did appreciate the refrigerator, which was spacious and empty. Sadly our stay was very brief, or I probably would have grabbed some beers at the local market to chill in the refrigerator. We did note that the cabinets in the room were well-stocked with plates, pots, and stuff one might use to cook. But again, we were only in the room for about 8 hours, most of it spent sleeping, so it was not of use or interest to us.

The room we got was reasonably spacious, but the layout was sort of odd. It's one room, not a suite, and at one end there is a couch and coffee table. At the other end there is a bed. The TV is between the two, on a high dresser. If you want to watch TV-- the channels were limited-- you need to swivel the TV so it can be seen from either the bed or the sofa.

There was a balcony, but it was just for show. It was so narrow as to be all but unusable.

The hotel has at least one workout room/gym, but we did not use it.

Free breakfast is available from the hotel, too. On the morning we ate they had scrambled eggs, home-style fried potatoes, and breads, etc. It was appreciated, even though we were not quite blown away by the quality. I've stayed elsewhere and had much better free breakfasts.

Overall, This was a reasonable place to stay for the night. We would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZippyPinhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

A fantastic hotel for families or business travelers. It is close to everything including the airport , beach, bay waterfront and downtown. The new Liberty station park area nearby was relaxing and fun. An exceptional bargain, with great breakfasts, snacks in the evenings, large rooms with suites and kitchens. All around an incredible vacation destination.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winedoenecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing