We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #9 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We stayed 5 nights here and had a great time. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a king bed in one room and a sleeper sofa in the other. Since my kids don't like to share a bed, we also got a rollaway cot for no extra cost. The free buffet breakfast is excellent (scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes, choice of toast/english muffins/bagels, pastries, cereals, fruit, and waffles). There is a nice pool (it was a bit breezy and in the shade during the later afternoon). The staff was very helpful in bringing us extra blankets and helping us figure out the thermostat. We had dinner there Monday and Tuesday nights. Monday was Salisbury steaks, potatoes and gravy. Tuesday was a baked potato bar. Both nights they also served wine and beer. There is a lovely outdoor area, and we saw that some people used the grills provided. The room was very quiet despite the proximity to the airport, and we shared only one wall with another room, which was nice (we have noisy kids).

The parking is plentiful and free. There is a kitchen area in the suite and it was well-stocked with plates, utensils, etc.

Another service they offer that I've never seen mentioned is that they will go grocery shopping for you! We didn't take them up on this service, but I can imagine it is very useful. There are grocery stores nearby, including a Trader Joe's. There are also several restaurants right next to the hotel, including pizza and Mexican.

The one downside was that we felt the wifi connection was a bit weak and dropped out on occasion. However, at one point we had to print something, and the front desk person made it very easy (he gave us a flash drive, we copied the document to it, and he printed it at no cost to us).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ww1614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    358
    82
    26
    15
See reviews for
833
293
46
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2009

I chose the Homewood Suites for a girlfriend getaway Feb 17-21. It was very easy to get to--just a mile west of the airport. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and our room wasn't yet ready but they pointed us to the restaurants across the parking lot and we enjoyed a tasty meal at the Mexican restaurant there while we waited. The room was on the fourth floor on the end of a wing. There was a nice view of the walking paths and the water behind the hotel. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. The bed had plenty of pillows and extra blankets were available. The mattress was very comfortable. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom and they were replaced each day. We enjoyed the two large HD flat screen TVs, one in each room.
Having free breakfast and a free light dinner was very convenient. The food wasn't the best we've had but then we did not expect it to be. The restaurant staff seemed genuinely happy to be working there.
It was a little chilly the first evening we were there and the discovery of an outdoor fireplace with big comfy chairs beside it was a treat. A great place for chatting.
The only negative of our experience, and this certainly was not the fault of the hotel, was the construction on the bridge adjacent to the hotel. The "pylon pounder" started at 9:00 am and didn't stop until 5:00 pm. We returned to the room in the afternoon for a nap and found it difficult to sleep with the noise. Apparently this construction had been going on for a month.
The location of the hotel was great for sightseeing. We made trips to Coronado Island, Torrey Pines State Park and Point Loma. They were all easy to find.
Overall, a great experience and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDeerRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2009

The Homewood Suites was a very nice hotel. The suite really felt like a house, everything was provided for the kitchen, even a dishwasher. The breakfast was scrumptious and really generous. The light week night welcome dinner they had was very good, also.

My kids enjoyed the pool. The workout room and laundry was very conveniant. Be sure to get change at the front desk for the laundry to avoid the torture device they call a change machine.

The price was not feasible for a long trrip for a regular family but it was a nice treat for our stay to go to Seaworld. No shuttle to Seaworld, which meant we paid parking, whihc was disappointing. It is so close, a shuttle makes sense.

  • Liked — Very homey feel, conveniant for many reasons.
  • Disliked — Quie expensive, no shuttle to Seaworld.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skrypnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

Our group of three adults and two children stayed here in Jan 09. We found this hotel via trip advisor.
The suites are wonderful. They are modern, clean, and comfortable. I have high expectations and they were all met or exceeded. There is a full size kitchen. Someone had mentioned that dishwasher detergent wasn't provided, but I asked for some at the front desk and was given 6 packets.

One of the best parts of this hotel is the service. All of the staff were helpful and cheerful. A full hot breakfast is served each morning with a rotation of bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, etc. On weeknights, they have a welcome home reception. We were skeptical because we had never had a hotel offer a free dinner option so we had planned to go out each night. However, the food is terrific and there is plenty to eat. For example:meat and meatless lasagna with a garden salad, cold bean salad, garlic bread and cook.
This hotel costs less than most in san diego because it is not in the popular downtown area, gaslamp area, or harbor area. But, it is only about 5 miles from there and about 3 from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GoHerdHuntington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, bc
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2009

Our family of 4 stayed in a 1 Bdrm Bayview Suite for 7 nights after Christmas. We had a kingsize bed in the bedroom with a queen size sofabed in the living room, and 2 large flat screen TV's. It was a large corner suite on the third floor which had 2 windows both with nice views of the waterway. There was a large closet in the bedroom with lots of hangers. The kitchen had a full size fridge and lots of counter & cupboard space. Everything about the room was so clean, comfortable and spacious.
The hotel is situated at the far end of the parking area of an outdoor shopping/dining complex (Liberty Station), so there is plenty of free parking.
The staff that we encountered were always pleasant & helpful, especially the staff in the buffet area. The free morning breakfast was the best that we have ever had from a hotel. Too many choices to list everything, but the kids favorites were the cinnamon buns and self-made waffles. I liked the sampling of fruits, yogurt, cottage cheese, and english muffins. It is hard to believe, but they also serve a complimentary small buffet dinner Mondays thru Thursdays. While we were there we missed the baked potatoe bar night, but had dinner on the Orange Chicken night. They also served rice, buns, salad and beverages. As long as you were eating in the lodge area you could help yourself to their beer on tap and white or red wine! Coffee/tea & hot chocolate was available 24 hrs/day.
I would love to stay here during the warmer months as the grounds are beautiful with an outdoor fireplace, self-serve BBQ's for cooking, patio tables, pool, basketball court, and walking path along the water. The location was very easy to navigate from and just minutes to the airport.
If I HAD TO search for something to complain about it would be that housekeeping kept leaving only 3 of each bathroom towel for 4 people. I did leave a note with my tip one day and she did leave 5, but each day after that just 3 again. Also once we used our dish cloth she took it away and never brought another one. Not a big deal.
Overall we are glad we found this #1 rated hotel thru TripAdvisor!

  • Liked — Everything looked brand new & location was great.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank simfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed for Chirstmas Holiday in Dec 2008. To our surprise, the hotel rate includes breakfast (everyday) and dinner (light meal & salad and cocktail) during weekdays.

The room was roomy, we had the two bedrooms and sofa bed and kitchen that had stove, dishwasher and microwave, sink complete with all the utensils and pots and pans. We had free internet acccess from our room included in the hotel room rate. Breakfast was wonderful, from hot entree to cold entree you named it, my favorite was the waffle maker. They also had fresh fruit, yogurt, toaster for bagel/bread and muffins, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatos etc etc. Coffee is offered 24 hrs.

The hotel had a nice courtyard for BBQ or just relaxing for family.

There are two supermarkets located within 5 minutes driving:Von and one offering only organic items.

Around hotel you can also find restaurants like pizza place, sushi, mexican etc within walking distance. Staff are friendly and dilligent. Except for one front desk person during off hours that was not so knowledgeable, the rest of the staff made up for her incompetence.

Tips: Bring your dishwashing liquid if you don't want to use the dishwasher all the time.

We were very happy with our stay, room was clean and amenities were plenty, we had kids with us too.

Fast food chains and other nicer restaurants are also near by with tin 10 minutes driving, like Black Angus, Red Lobster, try Phil's BBQ...

Enjoy!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fellowtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, IL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Booked the hotel based on the excellent reviews from Tripadvisor & other reviews online. Hotel staff were extremely helpful, hotel was clean, well cared for, location was good.

GOOD PARTS: bed was very comfortable, 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms was perfect for 2 adults & 3 kids. Liberty station area is very close to airport, downtown, seaworld. Included breakfast was convenient, hotel was relatively quiet.

NOT SO GOOD PARTS: our suite was next to the laundry room & when the washer/dryer was turned on it made the entire bed shake. The eggs at breakfast are powdered & kind of nasty. A bit far from Mission Bay area and La Jolla, but was doable.

Overall, I think the hotel was very nice & would recommend it to others. Just go for 4th floor, there was some noise from people above us & DON"T go next to laundry machine.

  • Liked — Very comfy bed
  • Disliked — No room service daily, room next to laundry room, powdered eggs
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OzFish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing