We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved loved the Homewood Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #9 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved loved the Homewood Suite”
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed for Chirstmas Holiday in Dec 2008. To our surprise, the hotel rate includes breakfast (everyday) and dinner (light meal & salad and cocktail) during weekdays.

The room was roomy, we had the two bedrooms and sofa bed and kitchen that had stove, dishwasher and microwave, sink complete with all the utensils and pots and pans. We had free internet acccess from our room included in the hotel room rate. Breakfast was wonderful, from hot entree to cold entree you named it, my favorite was the waffle maker. They also had fresh fruit, yogurt, toaster for bagel/bread and muffins, eggs, bacon, sausage, potatos etc etc. Coffee is offered 24 hrs.

The hotel had a nice courtyard for BBQ or just relaxing for family.

There are two supermarkets located within 5 minutes driving:Von and one offering only organic items.

Around hotel you can also find restaurants like pizza place, sushi, mexican etc within walking distance. Staff are friendly and dilligent. Except for one front desk person during off hours that was not so knowledgeable, the rest of the staff made up for her incompetence.

Tips: Bring your dishwashing liquid if you don't want to use the dishwasher all the time.

We were very happy with our stay, room was clean and amenities were plenty, we had kids with us too.

Fast food chains and other nicer restaurants are also near by with tin 10 minutes driving, like Black Angus, Red Lobster, try Phil's BBQ...

Enjoy!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fellowtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    359
    82
    27
    15
See reviews for
847
293
46
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, IL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

Booked the hotel based on the excellent reviews from Tripadvisor & other reviews online. Hotel staff were extremely helpful, hotel was clean, well cared for, location was good.

GOOD PARTS: bed was very comfortable, 2 bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms was perfect for 2 adults & 3 kids. Liberty station area is very close to airport, downtown, seaworld. Included breakfast was convenient, hotel was relatively quiet.

NOT SO GOOD PARTS: our suite was next to the laundry room & when the washer/dryer was turned on it made the entire bed shake. The eggs at breakfast are powdered & kind of nasty. A bit far from Mission Bay area and La Jolla, but was doable.

Overall, I think the hotel was very nice & would recommend it to others. Just go for 4th floor, there was some noise from people above us & DON"T go next to laundry machine.

  • Liked — Very comfy bed
  • Disliked — No room service daily, room next to laundry room, powdered eggs
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OzFish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

Used Hilton points for a free stay so I can't complain too much. Although this place has so many positives having it as the number 1 out of over 260 places to stay in San Diego may be a bit deceptive to those looking for a 4 or 5 star experience. This was one of the best 3 star places I have ever stayed in. It was clean, had granite in the kitchen and was all new. The restaurants in the parking lot were close. The Zoo was close, and so was the airport.

The pool view was great, although the pool is not heated so a bit too cold for this time of year. The complimentary breakfast and dinner were a nice touch and the food was not bad at dinner time. Breakfast was just as good as any other hotel buffet I have been too. Nice having a suite with 2- 42 inch flat screen TVs. Brought a portable DVD player to hook up to one and set it up in one room for our 18 month old to watch her favorite shows and still had room to do other things.

  • Liked — It was new
  • Disliked — Rooms were a bit small considering that they were suites with a kitchen
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TrojanLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston WV
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

I can recommend this hotel highly. It is in a wonderful area of San Diego called Liberty Station, which is an old naval base converted to a residential and tourist area. It is quiet and serene with lots of room to relax and play and exercise, but convenient to the rest of San Diego via Harbor Road and I-5 and I-8. The hotel is clean, the staff is helpful and friendly, and there are complimentary morning and evening meals. I used the fitness room, and the equipment worked! The shower experience was satisfactory. The wi-fi is free and fast. There is a full kitchen in each suite and everything worked as intended. The housekeeping staff came in every day and even did extra, unexpected duties like washing our dishes! Two large flat screen TVs were appreciated. The bedding was nice and comfortable, with more than enough blankets and pillows. The only two downsides to the hotel are more related to its location, and not the fault of Homewood Suites. It is almost directly under the flight path of the large jets taking off from nearby San Diego International Airport, so it can get noisy. However, the planes cannot start taking off until 6:30 a.m. and must stop by 11:30 p.m. And while there are several small restaurants around the hotel property, there are no nearby convenience stores to pick up a quick soda or snack. The hotel itself does offer a small selection of snacks and drinks, however, in their lobby. Overall, an excellent stay in a welcoming, laid-back city.

  • Liked — the friendly staff and great service
  • Disliked — not pet friendly
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bricksclick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days while on a business trip to San Diego. My wife and infant son accompanied me on the trip. We had a 1 bdrm suite. We have stayed at several Homewood Suites locations over the last couple of years.

Overall we had a very good experience I recommend this hotel for business and for family trips. The staff is very professional and helpful. The hotel was clean and well maintained. It looks newly built. The surrounding community appeared safe. The hotel is in a good location. It's no more than a 5 minute drive to the convention center and the heart of downtown. It's almost walking distance to the airport. The weekday evening meal and the breakfast were good.

The living room and the kitchen were spacious but our bedroom was a little small. The king size bed was a very tight fit for the room. The weekdays we were there the hotel's other customers appeared to be mostly men b/w the ages of 30-50. We did not see another family at the hotel for 2 days. I thought that was odd. The other customers appeared to be at the hotel on business. My wife speculated that the close proximity to the Navy submarine facility and that it was the off season for the amusement parks,i.e. fewer tourists and families, were the reasons for this. We did see several families with young children checking in on the weekend.

We had a good experienced and I would stay there again.

  • Liked — The service I received from the staff.
  • Disliked — Small bedroom.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cbc110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

Well, we finally went on our 2 week golf vacation to San Diego. I have followed the comments about the hotel for 6 months. I was not disappointed. Great location to downtown and getting any where else. You need a car!. Great Sushi across the parking lot. Restaurants include a greek, Italian,mexican thai all within a 2 min. walk. The free morning breakfast was a great deal. The staff was awsome. The suite was clean and fairly spacious. Von's ,Trader Joe's market are with in a 3 min. drive. Sammy's wood fired Pizza at the Plaza was very good. Great Hotel and great location. Thanks fellow Trip advisors we loved it. We stayed 11/06-11/20/08. great weather

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank richardBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Took my boyfriend to this hotel for his birthday and couldn't be happier. Best night ever! I called the hotel directly to book the room and the guy I spoke with was so helpful. I wanted to get a 2 bedroom suite with a view of the bay and he did all he could do to help me get the room I wanted. When we arrived, the room was HUGE! Full kitchen with appliances provided, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, flat screens, etc. Way more than I expected! And the price I paid was ridiculous! $250 for one night, so cheap! You will not get a better deal in San Diego. Continental breakfast also provided the next morning with great variety. Highly recommend staying here!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantallly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing