We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway without any need of transportation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #13 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

an excellent spot and hotel to getaway without a car needed...EVERYTHING is within walking distance, even the airport!...if you are used to a walking, active lifestyle, this is the place for you!...with the kitchen, this even makes a better place for a fitness makeover...there is a trader joe's within walking distance where you can get your food and cook clean during your whole stay...there is a trail and a very large park right outside your door...a brisk 45 minute workout walk and you're at ocean beach and ready for a healing plunge in the pacific...everything you can imagine is at your fingertips...a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We love Liberty Station! There is so much to do here, from eating to shopping, and exercising. I’m so happy to hear you were able to take full advantage of the area while you were in town. Come back and see us when we have the stand up paddle boards behind the hotel; you’d love it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

873 - 879 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Staying at the Homewood is a must for any trips to San Diego. They offer a free breakfast and dinner that is really good eats. It is nice being on travel and having a separate place to be an office separated from the bed room. Having the full kitchen is great. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The location is great with many things to do close by or even just a walk across the parking lot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

You’re awesome too! Thanks for always staying with us when you’re in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This location was ideal for us. The views were beautiful and the drive was very short to almost everything we wanted to do while in San Diego. We had a very eventful trip driving in (car trouble and had to be towed the last 100 miles) plus this was our wedding trip (married 3/17/14 in La Jolla) and the lovely staff (Amanda) upgraded us when we arrived. In fact every staff member was very helpful and pleasant. Yes, the property is being renovated and this resulted in some heavy elevator use in the north building were we stayed, but noise was no issue (renovation or airport). Also, there is plenty of parking and unless you are against walking even 50 yards, we always found a convenient parking spot. The only issues we had were the sink in the bathroom (rm 303) not draining properly and the way the meals were run. We didn't bother saying anything about the sink because we were never in the room during the day long enough for them to come in and fix it. As for the meals... first off, we spent a whole week at the property and the addition of the evening meal, complete with beer and wine, saved us on feeding a family of four each weeknight (though I think the price of the stay did cut into actual savings). And the food (both breakfast and dinner) was as good as you would get at most chain diners like Dennys. The only problem was keeping things stocked! Staff was constantly working to bring more of something... food, coffee, silverware or dishes. Granted, these meals were highly utilized by guests and the room usually used for the meals was under renovation so they were using a different room further from the kitchen. Still, somewhat inconvenient. Anyway, they definitely made up for this in service. On the evening before our wedding, we hosted a small bbq welcome dinner for our wedding guests (we only had about 20 ppl) at the hotel.... yes they have huge gas grills with utensils for the guests to use! Only about half our guests were actually staying on property but the staff was very accommodating, even bringing out the heaters for us. Overall very pleased. Will stay here again if we have our kids with us and are staying for an extended period of time. But for just us and for a short trip, we may choose a more affordable property.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank araes2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us over your wedding weekend! We hope it was an unforgettable stay. We like to think that our property has a ton of added value to offer. From the free meals, to treating our guests to complimentary room upgrades when available-which can be up to a $200 value! We hope your barbeque was a success. We normally charge $300 for events that use our heat lamps, and require attendants, but we were happy to make an exception for your special day. We hope that when taking into consideration these features, it makes your stay seem worth those extra dollars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

This is an older property and is not up to par for most Homewood suites. Although under construction the rooms are getting upgrades they are smaller than most suites I have stayed in. The staff here though are very friendly and helpful and it is nicely located close to many shops and the the airport.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Meceebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback but are disappointed to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory. We were originally built to be a Residence Inn, but the property changed half way through the building process, which is why our rooms are slightly smaller than some Homewoods. The designers took this into consideration for the renovation, so now the furniture that is moving in is better suited for the space to provide guests with more room. Hopefully post renovation you would be willing to give us another chance. Also, we do have some corner rooms that are slightly larger than others, so feel free to give us a call and we can try to assign you to one of those rooms. Thank you again for staying with us. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two of our four nights total while vacationing in San Diego for spring break.

Overall we liked this hotel but had to move due to fewer rooms than usual while they were remodeling.

Our family of five enjoyed our site overlooking the pool and the free parking and Wi-Fi. The free breakfast was not very good the first morning but we got a late start and that improved the rest of our stay when we arrived earlier.

We hope they fix the funky smell on the first floor of the north unit we stayed in. Fortunately, we were on the fourth floor which had no such issues.

Finally, this location is convenient if you don't wish to be downtown or elsewhere near your points of interest. We ended up staying at the embassy suites downtown which was worth the extra money in our opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShStSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your candid review of our hotel. We apologize for the fact that your stay was not ideal. While working through a renovation there can definitely be a few challenges that arise, such as room type availability. I am not sure what the smell was that you had mentioned, but I have discussed your comments with our renovation team to make sure the issue is addressed. Thank you for staying with us, and should you be in the area at a later date, we would love for you to come back to the property post renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel is currently under renovations for floors 2 and 3 of the north building. However the contractors were treated better than the guests. They consistently occupied the elevators and took all the parking around the hotel. I had to park a good distance away from the facility and wait several minutes up to 30 at times in order to get to my required floor. Management had absolutely no concern for the quest. If I had known this I would have not stayed a night, I didi manage to change hotels for the remainder of my stay. I almost fewel i should contest the charges with my credit card company and deny Hilton any compensation. I will never stay at a Hilton or associated inn again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Kirby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

To address the issue of the guests not mattering, we very much care about each and every one of our guests. We take our role in hospitality seriously and strive to make every experience at our property an enjoyable one.

We understand the impact we have on people that are on important business trips, vacations, or just being away from home. I’m sorry we failed to deliver this experience to you in your visit. We can always improve, and mistakes do occur, but we spent a lot of time working to minimize the impact the renovation would have on our guests, including having the majority of the furniture and fixtures delivered through a balcony, rather than utilize the elevators.

As far as the parking, with the constant delivery of new furniture we had to eliminate the parking directly in front of the building for safety reasons, so for that inconvenience we very much apologize.

I’m sorry that you didn’t let us know when you were here because we have another separate building that isn’t under renovation that we would have happily moved you to. Again, I’m sorry you had a bad experience and we have discussed your comments with our renovation team as well. Thanks, and all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The location is ideal if you have a car, although there is some trolley service to get you to some sights for a day's outing. It's an easy 10 min drive to Old Town, and the Harbor. Lots of restaurants to choose from if you don't plan on eating the free prison food in the hotel. The parking is free so that makes this choice the easiest to pick if you are on a tight budget. Add to that the free 7 min shuttle to the airport and you can save even more money by shortening the car rental period if you fly in.

Room Tip: One side faces a parking lot, the other a bay. Might be able to negotiate at check in by paying a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for the candid review of our hotel. I’m happy to hear you saw the value of the amenities we offer. The parking, meals, and shuttle definitely help the bottom line, which can quickly add up when traveling. We hope to see you next time you’re in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $148 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing