We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay with kids...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #11 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with kids...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our two young boys on our trip to Sea World. It's a short drive (less than 10 minutes) from Sea World and the rooms were spacious. Staff was excellent and the breakfast was great. Can't complain. We enjoyed the pool and we also enjoyed the fact that we could walk to the park! Great location. Highly recommend to families...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunocean18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi Sunocean18,

Thank you sincerely for your kind words and great review. I must agree with you about our excellent staff and great location. We do have a great team and are very fortunate to have such a beautiful park so close. Please come back and stay with us again sometime.

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    329
    74
    25
    12
See reviews for
751
268
42
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Only stayed one night before flying to NY, got upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite, very nice place, left early so didn't have breakfast, wish we could have stayed longer, had a drama with Delta and front desk were very helpful trying to contact Delta for us. Try the sushi at the sushi place out the front it was awesome and very cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoldCoastGillos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi GoldaCoastGillos,

I'm happy to hear we were able to upgrade you and you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for choosing us and providing a review. Next time you will have to try out complimentary hot buffet breakfast.

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a secret hotel! There are so many positives about staying with Homewood Suites. The room was comfortable for our family of four. Having the breakfasts provided seven days a week and suppers Monday to Thursday is a great time and money saver. The location close to the airport is a great bonus. The airplane noise, if you are in the north building is loud and goes on well into the night but the kids were not bothered by it. (Ask for the south building). The pool was a little bit cool at the end of February but the hot tub made up for that. The location on the Estuary was fantasic for walking and the playgrounds for the kids was really handy. We also ventured away from the playgrounds towards the harbour on foot and enjoyed the sailboats. Just follow the path over the bridge. It is a quick and easy walk. There are many washroom along the way. The hotel is located in a great area that had good access to the attractions of San Diego and the highways.

Room Tip: Ask for the South Building as the North Building faces the runways
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattypotato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Patty Potato,

You're not the first to try and keep us a secret, so we will try to keep it down but no promises! Thanks though, for the shout out and good review, we do appreciate it. Next time you come back please remind us that you want to stay in the south building and if our pool is still cold. I'm not sure how warm the pools are in Canada, ours is heated but don't hesitate to let us know if so and we will turn it up!

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had concerns about staying so close to the airport but these were quickly put to rest our first night when no one heard a plane while sleeping. The hotel is close to the bay and has a great walking/running trail, including a walking bridge over the bay that runs parallel to Harbor Drive. The hot breakfast is a great feature, as well as the free wifi and parking. The location is near a grocery store and many restaurants. We didn't make to any of the dinners due to being out, but the menu is posted in advance and looked good. Our kids used the outdoor pool and basketball court, which were both in good condition and we made several trips to the terrace just to check out the view. The staff was friendly and the service was excellent. My only complaint is that the bedroom is crowded between the end of the bed and the dresser. Our kids slept on the pullout couch and didn't complain. Overall, our family of four really enjoyed staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the south building which was further away from the lobby, and likely a little less crow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OT7662586265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi OT7662586265,

Thank you so much for your review, I'm glad to hear your concerns were put to rest quickly and you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can come back and visit us again so you can try our delicious dinners and please let us know any request you have so we can make your stay more enjoyable!

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We visited Seaworld and stayed at this location. Great value!! Free breakfast and dinner? you cant beat that! The room was spacious and has a kitchen which comes in handy when you travel with preschoolers. I would stay here no questions asked, plus free parking! Close to seaworld

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgalindo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi cgalindo03,

Thanks for the great review. We would love to have you back here anytime!

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The basketball court at this hotel was a hit! They also had breakfast 6 days and dinner 4 nights a week that was free with your stay. Can save you lots on your meal costs while traveling. Also, they have free grocery shopping service through a local store, so you can send them a list of stuff you want in advance and they will have it waiting for you in your room when you arrive! Staff is very helpful, too. The only negative was the pull-out bed, which the kids (ages 12 & 8) said was uncomfortable to sleep on.

Room Tip: There is a naval base very close to this hotel, so if you want to avoid their morning runs, get some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Beth A,

Our basketball court was definitely a hit this year during spring break. We have about 10 basketballs for guests to use and a couple days in a row we ran out, so I'm happy to hear your family was among the ones were able to enjoy! We like to take pride in the extras that we provide here that are complimentary to guests one they arrive; things like WIFI, parking, basketballs, soccer balls, footballs, horseshoes, board games, DVD's and players among some others. We also have new memory foam-pads for your extra comfort, so next time you come back please let us know and we will do the best we can to make sure everyone is comfortable! Thanks for your great review.

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our experience at this hotel was very positive. We were assisted by David during the check-in process. The room we had been pre-assigned did not have the view that we preferred. We had our 87 year old mother along who really enjoys balconies and views that look out onto the water as well as the city. When we expressed these needs, David worked very hard to find just the room that would work. And, what a great room it was! We had a small balcony that did, indeed, look out onto the bay as well as downtown San Diego. We felt fortunate to have such a caring employee working with us.

The room, while compact, was a one-bedroom suite. Since we needed to also use the fold out couch for sleeping, we asked if they might have a mattress topper. The topper brought to us was memory foam and one of the most comfortable we had slept on.

The hotel was clean and the grounds were beautiful. We especially enjoyed the outdoor fireplace. We also enjoyed the expansive walking paths on the promenade at the water's edge.

We enjoyed the variety of items served at breakfast as well as the manager's reception and nightly food choices.

For us, the hotel was centrally located to all that we wanted to do. Even though it was very near the airport, when we were in the building or our room we could not hear the aircraft taking off. The sound proofing was very good.

Our thanks to Homewood Suites, and especially to David at the front desk, for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristeneTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonBatt, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Kristene,

Thanks so much for your review and for choosing us! It is always great to hear such good comments about our staff here and I will make sure David is recognized for his excellent service. He is such an asset to our team and will be happy to hear you were so thankful. It's also good to hear about your opinion of the airport noise or lack there of, because often questions come up about that and this may help answer some of those. Thanks again, we hope to have you back here in the future.

Sincerely and respectfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing