We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #9 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Twinsbur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My stay here was fantastic! I was here for a month and did not have any problems at all. I was worried about hearing the planes but I had no problem sleeping at all (I was facing the marriott).

The entire staff was very friendly. I never walked by without getting and warm smile and a hello. Martin was very helpful with my special diet during the manager's reception. The front desk staff was always helpful and friendly, they even gave me anti-biotic cream and ban-aides when I cut myself.

The hotel was very clean and the housekeepers were great!

As a previous employee of Hilton Brands (I worked front desk at a Hampton Inn during college) and Radisson Hotels I have a higher expectation of the service I receive while staying at hotels and the staff here blew me away. Before this trip I was commited to Hilton because of my previous work experience and your hotel showed me why your brand is the best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashbash529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    343
    77
    26
    12
See reviews for
782
283
45
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Very roomy for the family with 2 seperate rooms in the suite. Friendly staff, excellent breakfasts and loved the complimentary midweek dinners. Excellent laundry facilities. And very clean rooms. Heaps of meal options within walking distance.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Beautifuly located, large and convenient family rooms, very quiet, very nice breakfasts and evening receptions.
The hotel staff was also exceptionally friendly, helping out with directions and tips regarding the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The location of the hotel is such that all activities within San Diego are easily reached. The Hotel Services were awesome with an excellent selection of breakfast and dinner items. The suites are every bit the best rooms to relax in after long working days. The hotel personnel were the best that could be and always went out of their way to accomodate any needs. Although this stay was for business and over five weeks long, I would bring my family here for a stay anytime. This is my first choice for hotels whenever I go to San Diego which is fairly often.

Room Tip: If you can, request a room in the back overlooking the pool area and harbor inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We recently stayed at this location from October 3 - 10, 2012. I have stayed at a Homewood Suites in Ohio previously so wanted to try Homewood Suites again to see if I liked it as much the 2nd time. This was my husband's first stay in a Homewood Suite.
We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED everything about it. The staff (as are staff everywhere in US - unlike Canada) were amazing - particularly Stella. She went above and beyond when I had a minor issue with my key card. This hotel had everything you could possibly need - I didn't realize that they had laundry facilities until we arrived - next time I'll know to pack less. Your stay includes a full breakfast every day - you pick from a large number of foods - and a full supper Mon - Thurs. I thought that the supper "meal" was only appys - boy was I mistaken. What a cost savings when 2 of your 3 meals are provided for you. I could go on and on. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel chain. I think I am forever spoiled for anything else!! The view from our room was amazing and the grounds were so well kept and beautiful. To be honest neither of us wanted to leave when our stay was up - who says that about a hotel?? I would totally recommend Homewood Suites - especially if you are travelling with family - which we were not - but if we were it would be the best place for kids. All the rooms have a full kitchen (less oven) so you can make your own meals if you would like to. There are 2 fantastic grocery stores within walking distance if you don't have a vehicle - close to the airport and downtown and everything so handy.

Room Tip: If you can afford it - ask for the Bayview and one of the higher floors (3rd of 4th). It's well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite at this location from Oct 3rd to Oct 8th. We had breakfast there every day and 1 evening dinner the day we arrived-both were good. The location is ideal. We had a rental car and it took us at most 15-20 mins to get to most places we visited. Plenty of free parking. Suite was nice and clean. We had issues with our key cards for the 1st 2 days we were there. Of the 3 cards, we had 2 working and then it went down to 1. They would work for all common areas but not our room. We went back and forth to the front desk staff who kept re-issuing us cards to try (must’ve tried about 10-12 cards) which continued to be non-functional. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating however did not escalate the issue until the evening of our 2nd night. On the morning of the 3rd day, Henry (forgot his last name) from maintenance came to the rescue! It only took him about an hr to figure out the problem and we finally had 3 working cards! He left us a nice personalized note saying thanks for being patient and if there was anything else to let them know. All in all, our stay was great and we’ve decided we will stay here again the next time we go back to San Diego.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

stayed there recently on a weekday night. first of all, the staff at check in was very friendly, had a little bag of things, i think it was water and some snack ready for me. so it was a nice touch.
now comes the not so great part
1. the bed sheet was so old, it didn't feel smooth at all, and it made me ich. at first i thought it was a dirty bed, after examining it carefully, it was the old sheet. i don't remember when was the last time i stayed at a hotel with such old sheet, maybe in a motel some many years ago. I ended up taking out some spare sheet from the closet (since it was past mid night) and it was newer.
2. the breakfast was really underwhelming, i couldn't find anything to eat. Not even the coffee as they didn't even have decaf there, ( i think they normally have it since i see this big gap between the pots, but they certainly didn't replenish while i was there)
3. No recognition of gold status. There was not recognition of Hilton gold there, no upgrade, no nothing. not sure if the bag of water and a packaged cookie at check in was meant to be it, but i sure didn't see any other benefit.
4. the room configuration. the way the room was laid out, it was very awkward. felt like the bed was enclosed in a small space without any windows. the room itself was big, and it was decorated okay. but then it seemed like they carved out this space at the corner of the room to put in the bed, and there is no window in that space. I really don't know how to describe it. You will have to see it to understand. this may not be an issue with folks, but i just felt a little awkward sleeping there.

Maybe i am spoiled as a Hyatt Diamond, Marriott Gold, maybe that's just the way it is at Homewood suites. This was my first stay at a Homewood suites, But i checked out and went to courtyard San Diego central the next day and it was a much more enjoyable experience. I am quite surprised that this one is ranked as #2 on tripadvisor. Maybe it was just a bad experience for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek K, Front Desk Supervisor at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize for the condition of your guest suite. We will take your comments about this and our dining and service issues under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Derek Klompien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing