We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay, not the best room location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #8 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to stay, not the best room location”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Homewood suites for a quick weekend getaway. The hotel is in a good location, close to downtown and all the attractions. Free parking, well kept hotel, good service, good complimentary breakfast buffet, a nice walking/running path by the waterfront, nice pool/whirlpool. We had booked a king studio but were upgraded to a two bedroom suite (rm 108) in the North building which sounded great. It was nice to spread out, we each had our own bathroom. However, it was right next to the elevator and the mechanism was loud! If we had stayed a second night, we would have asked for a different room. But we could tolerate it for one night. Maybe they upgraded us to this room because no one else wanted it? The only other negative were the beds, not the most comfortable. We would stay there again, just on a higher floor and far away from the elevator.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the elevators, the mechanism is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHtrvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    351
    81
    26
    13
See reviews for
819
292
46
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had the greatest stay! Better than a 5 star hotel! Very clean, amazing views, quiet, and a friendly and very helpful staff! Great complimentary breakfast and free parking! Thank you for being so hospitable and making our engagement very memorable! I would reccomend this hotel to anyone, business or leisure this hotel is the place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimihermez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, close to the San Diego airport, a short drive to the zoo, seaworld, chula vista etc... The hotel is very clean and located next to the esplanade where there were some great sidewalks and paths for people to stroll along the water front. A couple of neat parks and playgound sets for the kiddies were a short 10 min walk down the esplanade. Lots of great restaurants in walking distance. Free "full" breakfast every morning was very good as was the included dinners during the week. Kitchen staff was very friendly and helpful. Free internet and parking were a great plus! The front desk folks were quite friendly and accomodating. The hotel wasn't too busy so they were willing to change/upgrade our room at no cost so we could be next to our other family staying there. The only minor complaint i had was that The AC in the room made the bedrooms much colder than the common room (vent location?) If you leave the doors open this wasnt an issue but at night we had to close the doors since we had a 16 month old in a separate room. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dejavu73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Homewood Suites on our recent trip to San Diego. If you are looking for a good hotel that is in a central location with out having to pay for parking and good for kids then this is your place. We visited Sea World, The Zoo, LegoLand, The Midway, Gaslight District, Coronado, and Cabrillo Monument during our trip. You can not walk to any of these attractions from the Hotel, but parking is easy and free. The neighborhood is near the airport, but noise was never a problem. They offer complimentary breakfast each day and supper Monday thru Thursday. The meals were surprisingly good for being complimentary. The breakfast's consisted of eggs, meat, waffles, muffins, yougurt and oatmeal, as well as some other items. Each day was slightly different which helped. The two evening meals provided a good selection of food for everyone. The rooms are nice, they all have a full kitchen with utensils and cookware so you could cook your own meals if you wanted, we didn't, we just used the fridge to store water and snacks. The pool was never crowded and nice and relaxing. The staff was curtious and helpful with providing directions and information to attractions. No compliants, glad we chose to stay at the Homewood Suites and will be staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the North Building, it was closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Highly recommend staying here. We stayed here for 5 nights ( my husband, me and 2 children). The room was very spacious, immaculate and daily maid service fantastic.

The beds were very comfortable. Free wifi, included hot and continental breakfast and free evening meal on the 4 nights we stayed meant we didnt need to worry about dinner.

The kids loved the pool and basketball area. Was able to borrow balls, nerf and other sporting equipment as well as board games etc from reception area. Car parking free on site.

Very quirt area to stay with excellent water view from room. Numerous restaurants and takeaway shops adjacent to hotel as well as an ATM.

Ten minute drive to Seaworld and Downtown and minutes to airport.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltraveltravel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Outstanding venue for the price. Loved the free evening snacks and great breakfast! Went for my cousin's wedding and had a great experience. Great location and access to shopping as well. The staff was very polite and helpful. Great view and awesome pool!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

- If you’re looking for a conveniently located hotel providing clean, spacious, comfortable rooms with a great staff and complimentary amenities to include free, yes free, parking, internet and hearty breakfast and evening reception meals with adult beverages without having to leave the hotel area … look no further. Homewood Suites San Diego Airport-Liberty Station provides all of this and more.
- Though its location may appear to be inconvenient for traveling to San Diego’s popular sites (such as Sea World, Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, Seaport Village, USS MIDWAY) and Naval Bases, you will find Homewood Suites San Diego Airport to be a great location for families on vacation and solo business travelers alike. Though it’s best to have your own transportation, the hotel location near the airport provides quick access to all the major sites but with the additional luxury of a quiet setting perfect for a morning run, an afternoon stroll along the US Navy’s historic district, and an evening conversation on the patio.
- My compliments to the Sales Manager (Ms Krueger), the desk attendants and the service staff; their professionalism and courtesy from the moment of making reservations to time of departure were exceptional. Case in point, after my initial reservation request could not be met due to room unavailability, Ms Krueger and the staff took the time to personally contact me when a room became available at the last minute. This is the kind of first-rate service you will find throughout your stay.
- Homewood Suites San Diego Airport-Liberty Station has become my new “home away from home” when business and pleasure travel sends me to San Diego. Great value for the cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing