We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Ranked #10 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Midland,Mi.
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We loved the location of this Homewood. It is located right in the middle of all the sights of San Diego. Parking was great, free breakfast was nice and the area was safe. Room was clean and beds were great. Free dinners were a bonus. Will stay here again if in San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnrdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    358
    82
    27
    15
See reviews for
834
293
46
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We really love the Point Loma/Liberty Station area and this is ideally located within walking distance and right on the bay. We had a lovely bayview room, a suite, which is a must for us when traveling with our young daughter. Good free breakfast if very busy on weekends. We had TONS of trouble with our electronic room keys, which you need to enter any part of the hotel except the front lobby. We had to get new keys no less than FIVE times because they failed to work. We did not have them by any type of magnet etc in our pockets/purses but they kept getting deactivated which meant a walk all the way back to the lobby every time. I'm not sure where the problem was but it became very frustrating. We noted that the hotel was kept very clean and tidy the whole time we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zooprgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed during the busy week before the 4th of July and that holiday weekend. The hotel was full but we never felt it too crowded. The pool is on the small side however it was never crowded. The breakfast area was always busy but we always got a table after a few minutes. I love the fact that the breakfast was served early and you have the choice to eat in or out. Some days we took the food to our room to let the kids sleep an extra hour. When you register, be prepared to get a "hold" in your account for a high amount . Ask the person at front desk to give you the precise number. We saw many families and it was summer so be prepared to get some noise and screams. However, we slept every night without problems even when we had a room with "parking" view. I didn't like the food served during the reception days and I didn't love the breakfast either (I loved the food at the Marriott next door) but we chose the suite to have the convenience of a kitchen and 2 rooms. The staff was super nice and were very attentive to our requests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cusita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2011

First stay that prompted me to write a review in two years of being on Trip Advisor. Everything about this property is outstanding. It was clean, quiet well maintained
and close to everything. Highly recommended for a lovely Dan Diego stay!!
P.S. Free parking is a huge plus!!

Room Tip: If you want the 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite, book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucson2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMAC21, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Homewood Suites Liberty Station. Our staff strives to provide exceptional service and we appreciate your recognition. We hope you are able to return in the near future so we can again welcome you to San Diego.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Homewood Suites Liberty Station Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here in June.
On check in we were given a ground floor room with a queen bed and a fold out sofa for the kids.It was very homely and had a modern practical kitchen.
The thing I liked most about this hotel was the surrounding area.
It is beautifully landscaped and there is a walking path along the water in front of the hotel and a park next door where the kids can run around and kick a ball.
We didn't use the pool but that looked very clean.
It was also great having the restaurants next door.One night we fed the kids the free meal and then took them to Oggi's for an icecream while we had a pizza and pasta.
The next night we got Japanese takeaway from the Asian restaurant.
Even though this hotel is next to the airport you can't hear the planes and you can't see the airport. I did notice a free shuttle bus taking people to the airport.You could stay at this hotel and not have a car. It would be possible to get cabs to the zoo, USS Midway and Sea World as they are all so close. We did have a car and there was plenty of free parking, but one night we went to the baseball and just took a cab there and back so we didn't have to worry.
The breakfast is more than adequate and the dinner was good for the kids.
It was a nice touch to have it included.Our kids loved the pool table.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegWesternAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMAC21, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time and appreciate you recommending us to “everyone!” Our staff is always willing to help out and enjoys providing the little touches.

We hope to see you back soon, and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels,
Homewood Suites Liberty Station Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This hotel was beyond our expectations. We booked thru Expedia (which I would not recommend as you can get better rates using AAA or direct reservation with the hotel). The location is perfect for visiting the zoo and Seaworld - super easy access to both. The hotel staff is wonderful- helpful and friendly. Although it is near the airport we never heard planes from our room. We faced the old naval ship and that was a great spot. Everything is clean and well maintained! Super bonus for famlies the hotel provided comp breakfast AND dinner! Both were well done. There are other dining options within walking distance also. This will be our permenant booking location when visiting San Diego.

Room Tip: I would recommend requesting a room at the end of the hall facing the old navy ship. It is quite an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank famtime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMAC21, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank You choosing Homewood Suites Liberty Station and bestowing us with five stars, our goal is to consistently provide superior service and accommodations. Your comments are very important and will be shared with the staff.

Kind Regards and Safe Travels, Homewood Suites Liberty Station Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelbAussieland
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, whilst we were happy with how clean & spacious the room was, but the walls were thin, we could hear everything the person was doing in the next room.
The fridge was so noisy, to the point were the kids couldnt sleep out on the sofa bed!! they ended up sleeping with us. because all the racked next door, i ended up on the sofa bed & it was extremly uncomfortable. so ended back into the crowded bed, woke up with a really bad back & so did my husband was complaing of a bad back. Also you could hear the people above us aswell, stomping around all night. mind you this was a first night. I was ready to pack up & leave!!
we went down for breakfast, the breakfast area was nice, but the tables were flithy, we had to clean the table ourselves!!
Also there are hidden taxes & fees they charge, which werent mentioned when making a booking.
when we told the person at the front desk about our experience, they just didnt care.
very disappointing

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natstar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DJMAC21, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
We appreciate your business and your constructive feedback. I was glad to hear you found the room clean and spacious.

We sell sleep here so we take issues like noise complaints very seriously. I am truly sorry that you were disturbed.

As you know our breakfast is self seating and although we strive to clean tables as guest leave it would appear that in this case we were slower than normal.

I am sorry you feel you were misled by hidden taxes and fees. Like every hotel in San Diego we quote a base room rate. The taxes charged are mandated by the State of California and the City of San Diego and are included in the total that is on your email confirmation.
Your comments will be shared with our entire team and will certainly assist us in our ongoing improvements throughout the hotel.

Happy travels to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,994 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Address: 2576 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in San Diego
#5 Family Hotel in San Diego
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites San Diego Airport - Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Homewood Suites Liberty Station
Homewood San Diego
San Diego Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing