We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One star rating- totally not true!!! Stay here ASAP!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porto Vista Hotel
Ranked #114 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Ventura, Ca
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One star rating- totally not true!!! Stay here ASAP!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2006

I had the pleasure of staying here for the past two nights and enjoyed my time so much! Yes- its right by the airport- and you can hear the planes when you are outside.... yes there is construction that starts at 8am and you can hear it sometimes.... but OVERALL- it is a cheap- totally clean- friendly great place to stay in one of the very safest neighborhoods. They shuttled us to the zoo and back and to the amtrak station for free and it was only $79 a night. We had a great time and the sunsets from teh 3rd floor are breathtaking- if you want a 4 star then pay $200+ for a room- if you enjoy a value- stay here- we will be back!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank alliebaby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    548
    336
    188
    197
See reviews for
318
639
133
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room was nice for the price - had a slightly odd smell, but was not really a problem. For someone that enjoys a 30 minute walk, it is fantastic. I found it close enough to walk to most places I wanted to go - walked to Balboa Park, Downtown, Seaport etc. If walking is not your thing, it has shuttles to the Zoo, and is very close to the Metro (County Center/Little Italy). If you stay, make sure to try Felippi's Pizza Grotto on India St just around the corner. And Caffe Italia had superb coffee. Also the elevator is reliable which is nice (See photo).

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2006

The location is not bad being residential and quiet, and close to "Little Italy" area of town. The rooms are clean but nothing special. The hotel service leaves to be desired. When I arrived, the key to my room didn't work, and it took me 4 trips to the reception desk, to get them to fix the problem. I didn't feel a "welcome" feeling in this place, so I was glad when I left.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

London, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2006

We stayed here in Sept of last year for a couple of nights.

Firstly we had a nice guy collect us from the Greyhound station in SD - which was a great help. He also offered to take us to collect our hire car 2 days later (they don't offer that service, but i am assuming he would of done this for a nice tip - which we would of been happy to pay).

You feel secure here - we were on the 2nd / 3rd floor (can't quite remember) and you first have to go through a gated door (you use your room key) - i know if people really wanted to get in they would, but it still makes you feel at ease.

The room was fine - clean and tidy. The only downside was the construction site right outside our door (it was the 2nd part of the hotel being constructed) - this meant that we had sheeting pinned up along the walkway to stop dust etc getting in, which wasn't nice looking, but did the job. We were out almost all of the time and the work didn't bother us at all.

Breakfast is ok, the usual coffee/OJ and muffins pastries.

The pool was ok too - small but clean.

The location was great - near to Little Italy - we used the trolley stop lots and also walked around the neighbourhood generally - we found we didn't need the car in SD (we took a cheap taxi to the Zoo one day).

All in all a good motel - i would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clairerosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2005

We stayed here during the week of 12/4-12/10. We reserved a single queen bed room, and the night we arrived we were told that the construction would not be noisy in the morining. Uh, no. They start working at 8am on the dot. The construction is literally outside your door - you can shake the scaffolding if you like. If you are an early riser, then these rooms won't be a problem. It was extremely clean, but small. All single queen bed rooms are on the construction side. It did smell like rug shampoo, so maybe the staff read some previous reviews!
The construction is expected to be completed in April 06.

The next morning I asked to be moved to the other side, and for an extra $10 a night, it was so worth it. Definitely spring for the double queen rooms - much bigger and quieter. I should have heeded the advice of the previous reviewers! I highly suggest staying on the other side with the double beds! Again, extremely clean.

The staff were also very nice and knowledgable about the area, as posted by previous reviewers. The breakfast is coffee, juice and a very small tabletop counter which had various muffins and pastries, not enough for an actual breakfast, but good for a snack. Just be sure to check your food first, on my last day as I was peeling the wrapper from a muffin, a not so small but very dead beetle fell off of it. (I'm sure this could happen anywhere though.)

The view rocks, just like the pictures posted by a previous reviewer. No matter what floor you're on, go up to the 4th (top) floor and check out the skyline, especially at sunset! It really is a nice view.

The motel is located in a safe area, as we walked around almost every night and never felt less than safe.

We didn't use the pool or jacuzzi but they were very small and not lit at night which I thought was odd.

Bottom line-the rooms are very clean, all the staff we encountered were very friendly, it's in a safe area and it was cheap!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ytse411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2005

We enjoyed the bay view every day. We could walk everywhere. The motel staff was helpful.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
La Pensione
#110 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#81 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,283 reviews
Downtown
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Vista Hotel

Property: Porto Vista Hotel
Address: 1835 Columbia St, San Diego, CA 92101-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Porto Vista Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the heart of Little Italy, only four blocks from San Diego harbor, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a breezy gateway to everything the city has to offer. Whatever you'd like to do, see, taste, or try is only minutes from this hotel on the edge of Downtown San Diego.The quaint bistros, shops and art galleries of Little Italy are right outside our doors. A two-minute cab or trolley ride gets you to Petco Park and the vibrant Gaslamp nightlife district, Old Town San Diego, the museums of Balboa Park, and Qualcomm Stadium. As a truly unique choice among affordable hotels in San Diego the Porto Vista features impeccable service in a dynamic central location. Shuttle service is provided to nearby locations including Airport, Cruise Terminal, Convention Center, Amtrak, Gaslamp Quarter/Horton Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Porto Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection San Diego
San Diego Ascend Collection
San Diego Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing