We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Phenomenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Vista Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porto Vista Hotel
Ranked #106 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Lincoln NE
1 review
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great atmospere and can feel the laid back vibe of the little Italy area. Porta vista has a nice rooftop hang out area and classy bar. When at the bar ask for Jersey. She was a top notch bartender providing excellent service and advice on the area. Very down to earth personality making everyone feel welcome. 5 star establishment!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
StoneyJS,
Thank you for your feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to the Porto Vista! Jersey is a gem; I'll pass along your comments to her.

Scott G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    495
    303
    174
    177
See reviews for
283
579
123
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Vidalia's services was amazing! The sunset made for a fabulous back drop for pictures! Will recommend the hotel to friends from both in and out of town! Looking forward to returning again soon! A great place for a staycation and weekend get away.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vic_hend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Vic-hend; we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great neighborhood feel with an urban flare. The views are like no other! Stumbled into the Glass Door the restaurant in the hotel to a huge crowd raising money for luekimia... the hotel was getting involved in their community by sponsoring a fundraiser for their employee Vidalia and she made us feel right at home

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank freddyflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
freddyflores,
Thanks for attending our fundraiser... we're glad you had a great time!

Scott G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Great hotel, amazing view, great service. Tuesday night was so much fun with Vidalia. She made us feel apart of the group. The neighborhood was great, safe, and close to everything. If you are looking for value this is the place

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikefitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback mikefitness! We agree, Vidalia is a hoot and always cheery and upbeat. We'll pass along your comments to her!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

On August 1, 2014, my guest and I visited your rooftop bar and ordered drinks from your bartender Jacob. I was in the mood for something different to drink and noticed a menu of drinks you were promoting. Jacob was really nice and suggested to try the one with Ginger Beer in it. He was very nice, made eye contact and smiled. I truly have to say it was a breath of fresh air to have him serve our drinks. I've visited other establishments where the only thing they say is, "What do you want?" and tell you the price when served! I'll definitely come back because of Jacob.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Bman1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments Bman1974. I'll share your comments with Jacob and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at this incredibly overpriced hotel because it was where the wedding we were attending was held. the hotel could not live up to its own pretentions. Our deluxe queen room was tiny, shabby and dark, badly in need of an upgrade. However, the beds were comfortable and the 4th floor bar had a great view of the bay. The venue for the wedding on the top floor was outstanding.

Room Tip: Hint, do not trust the front desk staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pardnersdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott G, Public Relations Manager at Porto Vista Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback padnersdan and we're glad you enjoyed our restaurant and wedding venueI apologize that our rooms didn't meet your expectations. We are currently in the middle of upgrading our rooms and we haven't gotten to every room yet. We expect to be completed with our remodel in March 2015; we hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I am really impressed with all this hotel has to offer, especially when you are able to lock-in a great price! I have stayed here 12 nights in past 6 months and staff has always been very friendly (Jose & Rob in parking, Vanessa & Robert at the front desk) and location could not be better.

I highly recommend this hotel for single business travelers or for a couple looking to stay in downtown area.

Room Tip: Top floor has high ceilings and the least noise (from street and parking lot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#82 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#86 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
La Pensione
#126 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#49 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,128 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#114 of 282 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,932 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Vista Hotel

Property: Porto Vista Hotel
Address: 1835 Columbia St, San Diego, CA 92101-2505
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Porto Vista Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in the heart of Little Italy, only four blocks from San Diego harbor, the Porto Vista Hotel offers a breezy gateway to everything the city has to offer. Whatever you'd like to do, see, taste, or try is only minutes from this hotel on the edge of Downtown San Diego.The quaint bistros, shops and art galleries of Little Italy are right outside our doors. A two-minute cab or trolley ride gets you to Petco Park and the vibrant Gaslamp nightlife district, Old Town San Diego, the museums of Balboa Park, and Qualcomm Stadium. As a truly unique choice among affordable hotels in San Diego the Porto Vista features impeccable service in a dynamic central location. Shuttle service is provided to nearby locations including Airport, Cruise Terminal, Convention Center, Amtrak, Gaslamp Quarter/Horton Plaza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Porto Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascend Collection San Diego
San Diego Ascend Collection
San Diego Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing