We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere”
Review of Royal India

Royal India
Ranked #740 of 4,744 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 4th avenue
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Was there on Saturday night and they had music with an Indian instrument similar to a guitar....very relaxing music. The wait staff was very pleasant and the food was very tasty...especially the bread with coconut hot. Will return.
Grammy Sharon

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank grammysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    87
    46
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
187 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Speed-eating competition”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The food was good here, although more pricey than the home of Indian food, the UK. What was most irritating though was the determination of waiting staff to snatch away every plate and serving dish before we had finished. It didn't matter how many times we said we'd not finished, another person would pop up saying: "Let me take this out of your way." It was ridiculous, almost as if by rushing us out they could fit someone else in. Not a bad place to visit for a proper British curry but be firm about actually eating what you've bought.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SidCupLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“delicious first class Indian food”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I come to San Diego once a year and I never leave without a dinner or lunch at the Royal India. Food is delicious, level of spiciness according to your taste, always good service, tremendous choice of different entrees and side dishes. Prices are reasonable (with luck you get the meal 50% off during lunch time), though it is above the average price in the area, but well worth it. Indoor or outdoor eating. Best (as will all Indian restaurant) go there with a couple of friends and share the different dishes you order.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ned S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE US
Level Contributor
553 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great ½ price lunch deal”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our lunch here. We had chicken tikki Masala and bengan bartha. We enjoyed them both and they made them spicy per our request. The nan bread was delicious when dipped in the masala sauces We had expected smaller portions at lunch, but the portions were quite large. A great deal for good Indian food. We even got half price on the beer with lunch! We will eat here again next time we visit San Diego.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Twas OK...”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lunched on a Friday. The buffet was small, about 5 or 6 mains. Nothing jumped out at me. I don't think there is a lot of Indian food in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal India also viewed

 

Been to Royal India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing