We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Service and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Soleil k

Soleil k
Reserve with OpenTable
Soleil k is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,074 of 4,717 Restaurants in San Diego
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Between 6th and 7th
Description: Among the Best Restaurants in Gaslamp District! Find something fresh, bold and creative at our a unique downtown San Diego dining destination. Offering delectable cuisine all day, with the best breakfast in San Diego’s Gaslamp District, a fresh yet hearty lunch, and a tantalizing dinner to round out the day. Enjoy these added perks when you dine with us: Priority access to Altitude Sky Lounge—no waiting in line to get upstairs Complimentary valet parking for three hours The exclusive Eat, Drink, Park special, available during Padres games During baseball season, join us during Padres games to enjoy a special Game Day Menu.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good Service and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Our server Lena, did a great job all around. She recommended several dishes that were unusual and surprisingly good. The food came quickly and was well presented. The atmosphere in the restaurant was also perfect for a slow paced longer meal. Definitely much better than average "hotel restaurant" food and service, and on par with the other local upscale offerings. They also have a full bar and extensive wine and beer selection.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ehowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

The breakfast bar was good, but the rest of the food was average at best.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awful breakfast... and it was free...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I usually don't go out of my way to write a bad review, but this place is terrible. Awful service, flavorless food, buffet items were barely kept warm. Again, the service was non existent! It was comical to see restaurant customers getting up from their table and knock on the kitchen door, to ask for some water, more coffee (in most cases everyone wanted their bill asap).

We got comped breakfast the night before because of a mishap in the bar, should we have known that the breakfast was going to be this bad, we would have gone somewhere else and paid for it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeaweedGravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Soleil - What a hit !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left we had an amazing experience !! We were greeted by Eric who made us feel so very welcome ! Our Server Leann was charming and very knowlegable about the menu . Without hovering she anticipated pur every need ! The ambience was romantic and not stuffy . The presentation of each course was amazing & artful ! Our appetizors were incredible - shrimp cocktail with a spicy sauce & delicious quacamole & the flat bread with vegetables & freshly melted cheese was delectable ! The tortilla soup and the chicken & rice soup was served hot & was very delicious ! Our Entrees were served hot & timed perfectly after our soup ! My husbands rib eye steak was cooked to his perfection - tender, moist , amazing taste! My short ribs melted in my mouth & I was tempted to lick the plate !! Our desert - a freshly baked warm brownie served with vanila bean ice cream on top was incredible ! ( My husband doesn't usually eat desert however he ate most of mine !! ) When we left Eric, once again greeted us & treated us like old friends ! I can't wait to visit Soleil again !

Helpful?
Thank elsa n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise.....good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I like the morning buffet. Great choices and very attentive service.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravlinSpeecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soleil k also viewed

 

Been to Soleil k? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing