We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but nothing there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
Ranked #177 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing there”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with large rooms and comfortable beds....BUT you are right next to the border. As in you can spit and hit the border! The area is very industrial with not a lot of restaurants. There is an area about 6 miles north that has tons of restaurants and shops. The breakfast was plentiful but the pancake maker machine was broken. We were really looking forward to the pancakes! TV, microwave and fridge in each room. Tried the fitness room with no complaints. Quiet area for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talltree24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. The location of our property is perfect for anyone doing business down in the Otay Mesa area or anyone looking to head into Tijuana. We do, however, get a great deal of guests that will decide to take a 20 minute drive south of downtown to stay at our location since we can offer a more economical friendly rate. I do apologize about the breakfast. I hope that you will give us another chance to win you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    48
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
9
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

You know you are in a hotel where management is not in tune with the conditions of the facility when a) you find that the equipment in the fitness center is old and functioning poorly and the remote for the TV doesn't work and b) you have a problem with the toilet flushing in your bathroom and upon further investigation you find that the plunger in the tank is being held together by an old rusted paperclip. (Room 216 by the way). I had stayed at this place before and it seemed ok at the time, but it is clear that the place is starting to get run down, and there doesn't appear to be the sort of concerted effort you would expect at a HIE to address facility issues. It just sort of seemed like the place has been built entirely on the cheap. I'll look for another HIE next time I'm there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThinRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. WOW I can't believe we missed the mark so badly. I would like the opportunity to discuss the concerns you have regarding your previous stay. You can contact me at gmhixom@t4shotels.com. I look forward to hearing from you and I hope that the next time you are in San Diego, you will give our location a second chance to WOW you.

Thanks again for your review and I hope to hear from you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
435 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here as a platinum member on a rewards stay. 25 minutes drive to downtown San Diego/ Gaslamp; Literally 1/4 mile north of the border, take the last USA exit off the 905 to get here or you'll hit Mexico! Gas stations and a McDs are very nearby. The area is very much the business district/distribution.

Plenty of free parking out front. The room was as expected for an HIX...a good standard. Breakfast was served 6-9 a.m. which seemed a bit keen for a leisure traveler and meant a big rush/queue at 830; an email to the manager Greg Williams (thank you for the reply) revealed that they are moving this to 7-10 at the weekend. The rates at the weekend ($63 + Tax at priorityclub . com ) are very low and as always include an easy breakfast & wifi; a great value place to stay if you're happy with the drive into SD (I was). Would I return? With a low rate this needs to be balanced against the drive; either pay double and up and stay around Gaslamp and pay for parking or here...great for a family or friends stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdanielmacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. As you stated, and as I stated to you in our email correspondence, we will be changing our breakfast times on the weekends to better suit our leisure travelers. We are currently awaiting for our appropriate signage so we can display the correct times for breakfast. I estimate that the breakfast times will be changed by May 1st, just before the start of our busy season.

Thanks again for your review and I hope to see you again on your next visit to San Diego!

Greg Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here for business. The staff was friendly and the room was large, clean, and comfortable.

The hotel is in an industrial area right on the Mexican border. It seems to be frequented by blue collar type business travelers who go to bed early and don't make much noise.

This is not a high-end hotel. The breakfast is your typical mediocre budget-hotel type breakfast and you have to take your own bags up to your room. For the very reasonable price, however, you get a huge, clean, modern room. It's perfect for business travelers or even for budget-minded families who need to stay in Otay.

This is a great place to stay for people who have business in Tijuana but prefer to stay on the US side. It's just minutes from the Otay Mesa crossing, which tends to be a lot quicker than San Ysidro.

Room Tip: All the rooms are huge and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieandPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in Otay Mesa. While we may not have a bellman to assist with your luggage here at the hotel, please feel free to ask the front desk for any assistance if needed. Any of our employees (including myself) would be more than happy to assist you bringing in your luggage.

Hope to see you soon on your next visit!

Greg Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Surprisingly easy to find - it's not accessed directly off the main highway. Just follow the satnav. Other reviewers say horrible location - but you choose this location because you WANT to be there so for me it was actually excellent. Large car park, quick and friendly check in. Priority Club membership recognised with upgrade to suite, not that it made much difference on a short overnight stay, Got the impression regular rooms would be very spacious.

No bar or restaurant in the hotel - a number of eateries about a mile east but necessitate a drive.

Only disappointment was the breakfast service - offering was standard HIEx fayre, but it was not produced quickly enough, for most of the time the hot options were empty as food was so slow being prepared as soon as any was put out it was gone. Other items needed refilling more frequently. Basically breakfast team not ready for volume of customers. Seems to be a trend in the reviews here if HIEX Otay Mesa management read them....

I'd happily stay again though if life took me to this part of the world.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n37077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear about your breakfast experience. My fellow managers and I have heard the negative trend about how slow the turnover of the food is taking so we are currently in the process of fixing these issues. I hope to exceed your expectations next time you come to the Holiday Inn Express Otay Mesa!

Greg Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Really nice big rooms, great service. I thought I was getting lost following the GPS. REALLY horrible location. I suppose if I were going to take day trips into Tijuana it would be a great location. Only a few blocks from the border. Was a really great value. I look forward to staying there again in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TopherJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words towards our guest rooms and our customer service. We at the Holiday Inn Express Otay Mesa take pride in the service that we deliver to every guest.

I hope to see you on your next visit!

Greg Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This hotel was alright... a basic room for an alright price (through Priceline) however the hotel was very hard to find, even with a GPS and it's the LAST U.S. exit before the Mexico border. It seemed safe, but the breakfast was awful, and the staff was only mildly helpful. Breakfast was never refilled and I was there for 30 min. It was empty when I got there.

Room Tip: The room was not an issue. It was large, roomy and clean. AC was pretty quiet. Tub was extremely sli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHLEAON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. The location of our property is perfect for anyone doing business down in the Otay Mesa area or anyone looking to head into Tijuana. We do, however, get a great deal of guests that will decide to take a 20 minute drive south of downtown to stay at our location since we can offer a more economical friendly rate.

I do apologize about the breakfast. We are currently working to make our breakfast more efficient during our high demand periods.

I hope that you will give us another chance to win you back.

Greg Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
Quality Suites Otay Mesa
#184 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
33.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
23.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Sea World - Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
Holiday Inn Express Mira Mesa
#185 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
22.5 mi away
Hampton Inn San Diego - Kearny Mesa
25.4 mi away
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
Address: 2296 Niels Bohr Ct, Otay Mesa, San Diego, CA 92154-7915
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa! San Diego flows with the charisma of its Spanish settlers, with sun, sand, beaches, mountains and lakes providing a wide array of options to both business and leisure travelers. This Holiday Inn is centrally located in San Diego County, only minutes from downtown, with easy access to both important industries and the many attractions of the city. Viegas and Barona Casino, located in East County, feature world class gaming, dining and entertainment. Discover some of San Diego's history by visiting Old Town San Diego with its famous Bazaar Del Mundo, Cabrillo National Monument, Gaslamp Quarter or one of the region's many missions. Enjoy Balboa Park, botanical gardens, museums, galleries, even wineries in North County. On the tree-lined streets of La Mesa, Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa is a newly renovated full service hotel, with modern design and highly trained staff. Featuring a state-of-the-art fitness center, a well-appointed heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, and highly equipped business center, Holiday Inn provides the perfect place to stay for any trip to San Diego. Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa--everything you need to visit this coastal Southern Californian city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Diego Otay Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Diego Otay Mesa
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing