We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“stop over after cruise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #82 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stop over after cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

close to the cruise terminal,only 5 mins by taxi,centrally located,handy for bus routes & train/tram line so we didn't have to hire a car. We enjoyed our stay here..the room was clean & tidy, not the largest of rooms compared to some we've stayed in in America,but more than adequate. Even though the room faced the main street,noise was not a problem. Check in was friendly & easy,as was check out. Overall we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    559
    181
    73
    35
See reviews for
149
540
125
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Usually when we go to San Diego in April we stay at a high rise resort hotel. This time we chose to be downtown and it was a perfect location for a week. We arrived from Los Angeles on the train and a quick cab to the hotel. Pleasant check in and always informative information from the front desk (Brian in particular is a stellar customer service rep) and the bellman station. We used travel points but when our daughter decided to meet us and stay for 2 nights, we found the hotel rate was 1/2 the price we paid for an identical room, which is to advise people to check with hotel to see if you can get a better last minute rate. Loved the location as close to transportation, great food, shopping. We borrowed bikes and went to Seaport Village early one morning. They have a terrific yoga room and I bought a $5 DVD to do at home. This is something that wish all hotels would incorporate into their rec facilities as I do yoga 6 times a week and its hard to continue on holidays.
One of two elevators was broken for our stay which was fine on the way down but inconvenient wait with parcels for the way up. Nice restaurants and cafes right around the street. We rented a car and thanks to the bellman it was great service and we just returned to another hotel - meant not paying extra airport surcharges. We will certainly stay at The Sophia again - friendly staff, clean and a convenient location. Not 4 stars? Something amiss - couldn't put my finger on it but just the slightest thing that would have made it 5 so really 4 and a half.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlowsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights on a quick trip to San Diego over Memorial Day weekend. Everything was lovely. The room was extremely neat and clean, everything seems recently renovated, nothing was old. The bed was comfortable, there were complimentary water bottles and wine for purchase in the room for $20. The only possibly downside is that it was very small, but we didn't spend much time in the room other than to sleep, shower and change clothes. I maybe wouldn't recommend for a long stay when you'll be in the room a lot, but if you don't plan on hanging out in the room, I wholeheartedly suggest staying here. The location is unbeatable, it's a few minutes walk from downtown, but far enough away that we didn't hear any street noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rough and Ready CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

If we paid full price, I probably would have docked another star. The website we booked through had this room listed as $165 per night over the memorial day weekend. We jumped on it being that most other downtown hotels were upwards of $200 for the holiday. My business partner and I spent Thurs & Fri night there with not too many complaints.

However, after reading a few reviews on a couple sites, I still am unsure why they don't install full shower doors. The entire bathroom is tiled. Toilet and shower are separated by a glass partition. The partition doesnt fully stretch the length of the shower, so the water tends to splash out. IMO, if it wasn't possible to install an entire glass door, shower curtains would have sufficed. The switch to the restroom light is to the right of the main door, however the restroom itself is to the left. The bathroom sink is to the right as soon as you walk into the room.

My one other complaint is the parking fees. When booking online, it first appeared we would be able to pay an "overnight flat fee" of $10. Once we arrived, we noticed that the $10 flat fee is only good until 2am. If your stay doesn't include cruising downtown streets during the witching hours, you actually have to pay $30 for 24 hours of parking. You can self park to get that rate, or you can use valet--it comes out to the same $30. We opted to self park since we were not too sure how long it would take for valet to retrieve the car. We were in town for business, so there was not a lot of free time to dawdle.

There are a good amount of pros to this hotel. The view from the third floor of Downtown San Diego is beautiful both during day and night. The cheapest food options we found within walking distance was Wendy's and a fresh baked large pizza from 7-11. They have 3 different HBO channels. If you don't want to use wifi, they do provide an ethernet cable for internet connection, which I appreciate. They provide 2 water bottles per day as well as coffee, both regular and decaf. Their fitness center is open 24 hrs, although I was not able to use it.

Most of the staff was really friendly. The maid came to clean when we were still in the room, so we sent her away. Before she left, she made sure we had all the supplies we needed...toilet paper, water, shampoo, etc. One of the valet guys threw dirty looks, but whatev. If Hotels Tonight has another special on this hotel, we might just stay again. If you do download the hotels tonight app, make sure you use promo code "sSaenz3" to get $25 off your first booking. Every little bit helps! Safe travels everyone...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I toured the coast of California starting in San Diego and spent 1 night at the Sofia Hotel. We stayed at another nice vintage hotel prior to staying here and all we can say is WOW! We wish we booked here the whole 4 days we were in town. The staff was super friendly, and very knowledgeable about everything we wanted to see close by. They even gave us a room upgrade since we were on our honeymoon. Our queen studio was amazing! We would stay here again in a heart beat. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank corey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Older and nicely appointed boutique hotel in central downtown location. Though shockingly small, my queen room was quiet and comfortable, and just fine for one. Might have been a tad tight for two, but I'm certain they have rooms of varying sizes. Compared to other downtown hotels, the price was a great value. Ten minute cab or van ride to airport. Easy to walk everywhere. It was very nice. I have to say though, that I don't understand the concept of the "resort fee" - and not just at this hotel, but all hotels. Why not just roll this "fee" into the price of the room? At the Sophia, an additional $7.95 fee covers "in-room coffee and water, internet, business center computer," and a few other items which are standard at many hotels at this level. Alternatively, if these "extras" are not utilized, or unavailable (such as the advertised newspaper) then guests should not be charged the resort fee. Just a pet peeve of mine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankieSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

The Sofia Hotel is a lovely, historic hotel in a great location near a variety of very good restaurants and shopping. It is close to Little Italy and the Gaslamp district, Horton Plaza (for shopping) and the bay. The decor is somewhat modern, but updated in a way that preserves the historic feel of the property while offering comfort and nice amenities. Although some of the rooms are a bit small, the beds are extremely comfortable, and I found the hotel to be quiet and relaxing. The front desk staff are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: From some of the rooms on the higher floors, you can glimpse the bay, which is nice in the evenings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#54 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#49 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
The Horton Grand Hotel
#52 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Property: The Sofia Hotel
Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing