We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but be aware of the hidden charges”
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #81 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great hotel but be aware of the hidden charges”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Make sure you take into account when booking the $30 a night parking fee and the $9 hidden tax per night. The hotel it's self is lovely the rooms are very small but done up lovely, was weird to walk in and see the sink next to the door. The location of the hotel is perfect and there are so many restaurants and shops around. You can get everywhere by bus and trolley which is $5 a day for unlimited access I wouldn't drive everywhere as its busy to drive and parking isn't cheap. I would recommend requesting a high room with a street view, that way it's not so noisy and you get a great view. The staff are friendly enough and always willing to help. The biggest disappointment was the high parking charge and hidden tax as it costs us a $117 plus a tip for the valet to get my car after being stung for the parking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lovelife123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    605
    203
    81
    35
See reviews for
167
579
141
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The location is very good between the ocean, Little Italy and centre. The rooms are not very big but good enough. The products for the bathroom are really nice and the coffee was also very good. We really appreciated the fact that there was an empty fridge and microwave that allowed us to have a warm snack and to store food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawlu_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sofia very much! The room was nicely decorated as well as very clean. There was plenty of drawer space although the drawers kept opening due to a slightly uneven floor which my husband promptly fixed with a small shim! No problem though, that is to be expected and part of the charm of an old building! The bathroom had been recently modernized and was beautifully appointed. There was a slight problem with the shower enclosure in that the glass panel wasn't large enough to prevent water from spilling out on the bathroom floor making it slippery. It also would have been nice to have more hooks for the towels. Other than those few things, we were very comfortable here. The staff was helpful, the restaurant was excellent and the location great!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Amazing location, grand but homely, excellent service, great bed and linen. The room was a little small and the configuratiuon a little odd (shower and toilet in one alcove and the hand basin in another. But heaps of character.
5 minutes walk to gas lamp quarter. 5 minutes to Amtrak and local trams and busses.
Well priced

I loved it

Room Tip: Rooms with a view probably have street noise. My room had no view but was exceptionally quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San diego
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed in the 1bedroom suite. Perfect location in between embarcadero and gas lamp. Horton Plaza was accross the street for shopping. Room was great.
I didnt try the restaurant in the hotel so can't speak to it's quality but it looked very nice.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDdad8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

NIce option for downtown San Diego. Rooms are tight, very nicely appointed and well designed. Rooms looked new, fresh, very trendy and stylish. Bed was comfortable, small closets, with lots of drawers. Free daily bottled water was much appreciated. I'm not a big guy, but showers were a bit tight - long enough but narrow, needed to turn sideways. I was more concerned about the water splashing out as there is only a half panel shower wall. Would have given this property a 5, but bellman was a little unfriendly on arrival. Note: Had the same bellman at check-out and he was prompt, courteous and very helpful.

Room Tip: May suggest a room on the street side for a little better view. I was on the back side overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DashDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Let me say up front that I really wanted to like this hotel. The location is great (central downtown SD) and, while the rooms are small, they have nice amenities (frig, microwave, etc.). Plus the bed is comfy. And front-desk staff was very personable/professional/helpful if there's not a major issue (I appreciated the hour late checkout).

But comfort and security matter as much to me especially when paying a kinda gouged-rate for Comic Con. A rate that hides an $8/night fee (reads like Vegas resort fee) that includes the privilege of staying at a historic hotel plus free daily water and wifi. These two deal-breakers make me reluctant to ever consider this hotel for a stay again, even though I truly want to like it.

The real negatives -- and these are big) are:

* Room Security -- there is no deadbolt/chain/2nd lock meaning that if you're in the room, only the primary lock must be opened. During CC, I was recuperating from a broken foot (in shoes for 1st time in months) so taking it slow (foot pain, swelling...need to take frequent breaks). Part of this involved heading out and then crashing for a few hours.

When a DO NOT DISTURB sign is on your room door, that does not give permission to a housekeeper to knock and then help herself to entry (even if the motivation is to provide towels, etc.). People like me can be soundly sleeping attired in underwear and not hear the initial knocks -- and then have their privacy violated upon the housekeeper entering anyhow (what if I was naked and in the shower unable to hear the knock?). When this happened, I did politely by phone with my voice shaking inform the front desk attendant of the issue and that this may present a "coaching opportunity."

No follow-up ever occurred from a manager or anyone else (even at checkout the staff do not even ask "how was your stay?"). Further, I am not doubting the integrity of the housekeeper who did this, but the violation does make a hotel guest think aloud if a dishonest keeper would do this to gain entry to a room as a guide to grab valuable items. Again a deadbolt/chain would resolve this issue permanently and taken any implications away from what is likely an honest keeper and provide proper privacy/security to a hotel guest.

Comfort -- This was San Diego in summer time. Yes, It is admirable to be a green hotel and conserve water, energy et al -- in fact I will re-ue towels and bedding within reason. However, it is absolutely unacceptable to have air conditioning controls on a motion-sensor so that A/C turns off when you're not in the room. People are staying in your hotel to be comfortable and when visiting SD, they will go out and about during summertime when it is warm/sunny outside -- the last thing that a guest wants is to sweat in his/her room while your auto-turned-off AC gradually turns on (and very slowly).

So my recommendation is if the price is right, stay in this hotel during a non-warm time of year (so AC doesn't matter) and place luggage stand/chair in front of room door (to prevent housekeeping from violating privacy).

Room Tip: When relaxing in the room during the day, place an obstacle (luggage rack or chair) in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FairmindedTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#70 of 278 in San Diego
1,211 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
910 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Property: The Sofia Hotel
Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing