We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely Boutique Style Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #86 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Boutique Style Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Sofia is a lovely hotel located in downtown SD, the room we stayed in had a city view, small but modern decor and thoughtfully decorated and very clean! Loved the fitness/yoga room and the nice restaurant. Staff was very helpful and friendly, great rate for SD checking in on a weekend. The only downer was the thin wall could hear the loud people next door in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    536
    177
    72
    35
See reviews for
140
520
123
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Sophia is conveniently located in the lively DT San Diego.
The lobby is small but simple and nice.
The room is really big, there is a sort of sitting room with a couch, chairs, desk, a big TV.. The bed is fairly sized and there is another large TV in front of it. The sink is not in the bathroom though but looks nice.
The bathroom looks obsolete.

There might be small details to be fixed in the room but it is not a big deal.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nadim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The good: Great location, nice views from the room, very comfortable beds, good tv, good service.

The bad; tiny rooms, thin walls, very expensive ($30 parking).

And beware of the HotelsPlus website. Very misleading and the hotel folks even said others have had issues with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Booked a last minute room the Saturday of Comic-Con this year via HotelTonight. The rate was only $253 which was a HUGE bargain for that weekend. I mean a $500+ bargain.

It's in a great location, albeit a tad bit removed from the action of the Gaslamp. Still, nothing that a ten minute walk can't fix.

The rooms are tiny, but nothing unexpected from an older boutique hotel. No complaints since I was traveling solo, however I think even for two people it would be a little tight.

Great atmosphere and a wonderful check-in guy made this stay great for me. I'd go back if the price were right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orangeskittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Beautiful building outside and in. When arriving to our room we noticed the maids had not been in, the room was in quite a mess! I went to tell the receptionist, thinking we would just have a drink in the bar and wait for our room to be cleaned. I was wrong, the hotel could not of done any more for us, we were put in another room which turned out to be a beautiful suite! Absolutely stunning. The hotel is in a great place right in the heart of the Gas Lamp. Plenty to do and see around or you can take the tram to zoo, sealife center, bay. San Diego is truly a beautiful place. Would absolutely recommend this hotel and for what it's worth the average rooms were beautiful too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice in the last few years and I personally love it. It's in an historic building, which appeals to me, and the location can't be beat. The rooms are small, but incredibly well decorated and the small space is utilized well. The waitstaff are always helpful and friendly and the restaurant, the Currant, has a great happy hour during the week. It is a lovely little place and I appreciate the quiet ambiance it exudes compared to some of the larger places around it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynantskill, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a nice location in reference to the convention center. It's almost unviable as a hole in the wall amongst the surrounding buildings. First impression: small elevator, small doors, small room! I don't feel like I have enough room to breathe for the price per night it cost. Nice staff though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SqueakFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#49 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#39 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#101 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Property: The Sofia Hotel
Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing