We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“AMAZING!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #86 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Beautiful building outside and in. When arriving to our room we noticed the maids had not been in, the room was in quite a mess! I went to tell the receptionist, thinking we would just have a drink in the bar and wait for our room to be cleaned. I was wrong, the hotel could not of done any more for us, we were put in another room which turned out to be a beautiful suite! Absolutely stunning. The hotel is in a great place right in the heart of the Gas Lamp. Plenty to do and see around or you can take the tram to zoo, sealife center, bay. San Diego is truly a beautiful place. Would absolutely recommend this hotel and for what it's worth the average rooms were beautiful too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    536
    177
    72
    35
See reviews for
140
520
123
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice in the last few years and I personally love it. It's in an historic building, which appeals to me, and the location can't be beat. The rooms are small, but incredibly well decorated and the small space is utilized well. The waitstaff are always helpful and friendly and the restaurant, the Currant, has a great happy hour during the week. It is a lovely little place and I appreciate the quiet ambiance it exudes compared to some of the larger places around it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynantskill, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a nice location in reference to the convention center. It's almost unviable as a hole in the wall amongst the surrounding buildings. First impression: small elevator, small doors, small room! I don't feel like I have enough room to breathe for the price per night it cost. Nice staff though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SqueakFro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Sofia Hotel was excellent. I stayed with my wife and kids and the location was wonderful. So close to all of the area attractions and so many restaurants and entertainment within walking distance. I hope to stay there again soon. It was clean and the hotel staff was absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgaribian24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Pros - nice location convenient to the waterfront and Coronado ferry, a few blocks from the Gaslamp and the mall and easily walkable to the ballpark. Comfortable beds, very clean, nice restaurant and bar (Currant Brasserie) with great happy hour specials. They have bikes you can check out: not the greatest condition and it is part of the $8/day/room resort fee, which includes bottled water and wi-fi. Come early if you want a bike as they don't have that many. Quiet too. Size of the room was smaller as others have noted but we were fine with it and had lots of natural light. Photos from other travelers are very representative.

Cons - housekeeping service was a little strange: we were gone from 10-3:30 one day and no service until 4; 2nd day we called at 11 and said we would be gone for about 3 hours and asked for our room to be cleaned. Came back almost 4 hours later and housekeeper arrives just as we got back to our room! Windows don't open so if you want fresh air, you are out of luck. Also AC has room occupancy sensor, so it sets to a higher temperature if you are gone which isn't the greatest thing when you are trying to cool off a warm room (also seems to be intermittent at night when you are in bed). Service was a little lackluster at the front desk (did not seem like they cared that much). Came on a Bloomspot coupon which was a great deal but probably would not have been as pleased if we had paid a lot more.

Room Tip: We had a SW corner room on the 2nd floor facing the street (room 233) - had windows on two sides so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mobie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

THis hotel is nice and they also cater to dog owners with a floor dedicated to dogs!! What a great idea. THe hotel is in a central location. THey have a Coffee Bean coffee shop below in lobby area. NICE

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank earache88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend of our second wedding anniversary and loved every minute of it! As soon as they found out we were celebrating our anniversary they offered to upgrade our room for free and our room had a great view of downtown San Diego. My husband (I found out later) wanted to surprise me one evening and have roses and champagne waiting for me in the room. He said that the staff was very eager to help him and were great at getting the room set up the way he wanted it. Also, the valet staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dands2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#49 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#39 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#101 of 281 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,738 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Property: The Sofia Hotel
Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing