We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not worth the cost...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #82 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    559
    181
    73
    35
See reviews for
149
540
125
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a quick business trip. As others have reported, the rooms are quite small. So, it's best if you are traveling alone; out of the question if you are traveling with a family. The elevators are equally small. But it is an old historical building, so this is what you get. Check in and check out went smooth. Remarkably, there is a "resort fee" although that is not what they call it. It covers basic things like a bottle of water, internet, and cable TV. Also, as others have reported, my TV was a joke--completely non-functional. There must be a systemic problem with their cable tv or dish tv or whatever it was. I complained about it at check out, and they comped the "fee."

This hotel is well suited for the business person traveling alone and for one night. The on-site restaurant was very good, and the location is convenient to several places, including the state & federal courthouses, if you are headed there. An early morning walk will place the homeless people on full display.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrpaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a great time there. They have a great restaurant in the hotel. They had nice rooms but a little small. Great staff and service. Pets are allowed. Only thing missing is a pool. Then it would be awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great, it was only a few blocks away from San Diego's gas lamp district. Clean rooms, good service, and comfy beds. You can't beat the deal either - I would recommend this place if you're looking for a quick stay in SD.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved this hotel. Yes the rooms were small, especially the doubles, but we asked to be upgraded to a queen and we were. Some of the views were not good - you looked out at the brick side of a building. But if you're not spending hours in your room, it doesn't much matter. The beds were comfortable, and when I asked for a different pillow, I was given a choice of several.

I enjoyed happy hour at the bar. The bartender was friendly and it was relaxing after a day of sightseeing. We were in San Diego for a wedding and most of the wedding guests stayed at the US Grant hotel. They said their rooms were small as well - and they paid a lot more for them.

The location of this hotel was perfect for walking around the city....short walk to the waterfront and to fifth avenue or anywhere in the Gaslamp District. They have computers and free wifi in the lobby for those not traveling with a laptop or ipad.

There is a coffee shop just to the left of the entrance of the hotel. Perfect for that early morning cup of Joe. We did not eat in the restaurant but it was quite busy most of the time so I assume guests enjoyed it. I would recommend this hotel without a doubt!

Room Tip: The king sized bed rooms almost all face another building (or so I was told) Our room was 726 (a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Rooms are very small but excellently appointed! Very clean and well done considering the limited space (it's a historic building). Cozy, quaint...nice deviation from the typical hotel. Not many frills, but the basics are very well done. In my opinion, not the place for an extended stay, but a great get away for a nite or two.

Room Tip: I stayed 2wice, both rooms were about the same. I bet there isn't a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkusSTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently spent three nights at the Sofia Hotel in San Diego. The room was very small, smaller than the inside rooms on a ship. The closet is in an inconvenient place but there is room for clothing in the chest and cubbies on the side. The room was on the dark side and we couldn't open the drapes because the other rooms were very close. The bathroom was tiny and there was only a half glass wall in the shower so the floors were soaked. The tv reception was very poor. But the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Elevators were small but never crowded.

We were attending a wedding at the US Grant so this was a convenient location. I walked for an hour every morning and it was a little disturbing seeing all the homeless people. They did not bother me for the most part but it made me sad that they did not have facilities for them.

Lovely coffee shop right next door to the hotel. Horton Plaza is within walking distance, it is a large mall with Nordstrom's Starbucks, Chico's etc. Many restaurants and bars are also within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank racingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#55 of 283 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#48 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Downtown
Renaissance San Diego Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
The Horton Grand Hotel
#53 of 283 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Piece of Pineapple Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Property: The Sofia Hotel
Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Business Hotel in San Diego
#60 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing