We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 8 days at the Sofia”
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #79 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I came to San Diego for her AORN convention. This was one of the hotels they recommend. I checked it out on TripAdvisor and it had mixed reviews. We chose it and were very happy with our choice. The staff was very helpful with all of our needs. The hotel is with in walking distance of the Convention Center, Gaslamp Quarters, and the water front were there is all kinds of great places to dine. We would stay there again the next time we are in San Diego. John & Janet C

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JovialJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaWinslow, General Manager at The Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Sofia Hotel San Diego and we enjoyed hosting and meeting AORN convention attendees. It was great reading the positive comments about your stay with us and even better that after an 8-night stay would return to The Sofia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Near Horton Plaza, Gaslamp and public transportation makes this a good location for a downtown experience. The first room I was assigned was on the 5th floor when jack-hammering was occurring under the hotel. When I asked for a room away from the noise I was told there were no two bed rooms on the other side of the hotel. I did my own research and found a two bed room, albeit larger, away from the noise and asked to be moved, which did occur. On the second day of our stay we did not receive housekeeping service. I also had to ask that the slide bar be repaired & that the shower head be re-attached. The carpet & cabinetry in the room needs to be refurbished & there was no security chain or hasp on the door. The hotel waived the destination marketing fee and have offered me a complimentary night stay in a suite during the next year if I return to San Diego. I don't have plans to return and if I did would look for a hotel that is more attentive to maintenance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

This was quite possibly the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The exterior of the hotel was absolutely gorgeous and in an excellent location, close walking distance to everything. The room itself was very clean and trying to be stylish, but was still a bit dated in some of its decor. The room was incredibly small, and had one of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in. The pillows were horrible too, my neck hurt for a good week after 1 night here! We were given a corner room which allowed for a great view of the city. Overall, we were pretty pleased because we got a good deal with hotel tonight. But if you're paying full price, you might be disappointed with what you are getting for your money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Look no further, if travel brings you to downtown San Diego then your loding experience must be at The Sofia Hotel on Broadway near the Gas Lamp Quarter. The Front Desk personnel are professional and most helpful. My room was smaller than other hotels, but spotless, roomy enough to workout and more than adequate for a short stay. It was also very nicely appointed with a comfortable bed and linens, a small 'frig, m/w and quick Internet service. The in-hotel bar/restaurant was fun, and provides an extensive menu for a reasonable price. Happy Hour is a must attend! ENJOY!

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms are 1st class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaWinslow, General Manager at The Sofia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Thank you for providing a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate you staying with us and that you were able to try Currant American Brasserie located in the lobby of the hotel. Friendly staff, cleanliness and great location are important to all of our guests and thank you again for noticing. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Sofia Hotel San Diego again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a vacation to San Diego where we stayed at the Sofia for 4 nights. Upon checking in, the staff was ok but not overly friendly or welcoming. Our room was on the 7th floor, but like others have said the view is just of a brick wall and other windows. Wish I would have noticed that in the reviews before I booked, as I was really hoping for a view of the city. The room was clean, and nicely decorated, but much too dark. At times I had to haul my suitcase into the bathroom to find things. Rooms are small, but not too small. However, you could hear EVERYTHING in the adjoining rooms! Luckily the people staying next to us were quiet, but every morning we could hear them wake up, clear their throats, could even hear every word of their conversations! The $8/day "resort fee" is ridiculous, in my opinion. Just include it in the rate since it's not optional anyways. And the $30/night parking is also terrible. We only did that 1 night, then opted for street parking (which there is plenty of) for free the other nights. The location is what we liked best about this place. Close to all the action in the Gaslamp, and right across the street from our favorite restaurant, Sushi Deli! All in all, we enjoyed our stay, but I think for our next trip to San Diego we will definitely try another hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank epeterson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Sofia. The service was great and the rooms were clean. The Hotel is close to everything. The Gaslamp Quarter, harbor and PetCo. Park. Aside from the construction at 9am on the day of checkout everything was great. We would definitely go back

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

A tiny room with a view of anther guests bed resulted in me have the drapes down for 4 days and nights. The room is well appointed and comfortable. However the real let down for me was the front desk staff. Professional in standard dealing ie checkin and check out, however as cold as the prevailing weather at other times. No smiles or greeting when walking past the front desk even if they were not engaged with other guests at the time. My request to book a shuttle to the airport was met with the unhelpful advice to do it myself online because he didnt know how to do it and the concierge was off duty.
Appreciate the free wifi and in room water. The housekeeping staff were also pleasent, perhaps they could be redeployed to the front desk?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 278 in San Diego
2,690 reviews
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $135 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing