We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Convention Center” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sofia Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Sofia Hotel
Ranked #80 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient to Convention Center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights to attend conference at convention center. Convention center is about a 10 minute walk away. Rooms are smallish but still nice.

5 minute walk to many restaurants in Gas Lamp area

My only complaint was that the AC/Heating system would periodically make a loud vibration type noise, would last less than a minute and then would go away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank playasrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    582
    192
    77
    35
See reviews for
159
557
132
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was traveling on business for a conference at the Convention Center. I picked this hotel because of the competitive price, walking distance to the conference and proximity to dining/social venues. The property is a very nicely renovated historic building with city-sized rooms. The amenities are accommodating, though I did not use the fitness center or yoga facility. The Currant restaurant is a nice break from the chains, with an imaginative selection of food and healthy portions (the bacon jam was curious, and the fiery brussels sprouts were deliciously simple).

I do have some complaints about The Sofia, but all are minor. Street noise is a problem as the windows are thin (likely historic, which I understand and expect with a building like this). The carpets are showing their age: my room had several buckles and was poorly vacuumed. The toilet water is a bit high, which led to disgusting contact when seated. Finally, the glasses in the room were simply wiped out between nights -- something I thought was only seen on the news.

I still give The Sofia a strong rating because several of my complaints may be perceived as personal preference/expectations. It is a good location, has a quaint but modernized atmosphere and has a friendly staff. For the price, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCasually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

If u r in town for a convention this hotel is perfect. The rooms r a bit small but clean and very nice. The location is also prime for people wanting to go to gas lamp for the evening or other attractions in the area. You can easily walk to gas lamp in heels, I promise. The happy hour at currant in the hotel lobby is great for starting the evening for ending the day. They have lots of food and beverage specials. There is also a coffee bean in the same building.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKLA600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaWinslow, General Manager at The Sofia Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Sofia Hotel San Diego and we do partner with most conventions in San Diego. With all of the dining choices right outside the Sofia's front door, we enjoyed reading that you were able to experience Currant American Brasserie's food and beverage specials. Hope to welcome you back to Sofia soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erpingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nigts following a Panama cruise. It was only a short taxi ride from the cruise terminal and right on the edge of the Gas Lamp quarter and all the restaurants. It was also in an ideal location for picking up the hop-on-hop-off tram tour and catching the trams at Santa Fe station.
We went on the tram tour one day and via local transport to La Jolla and Paradise beach another day. Both were good value for money and we saw all the best parts of San Diego in just 2 days.

The hotel itself has lots of character and charm and the rooms were a decent size and good value for money. It has a quaint bar/restaurant and the staff on reception and concierge desks were really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: The view from rooms is pretty much the same on all sides of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandD681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaWinslow, General Manager at The Sofia Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Sofia's proximity to the Cruise Ship Terminal, Gaslamp Quarter and Sante Fe Station is very popular with guests looking for a hotel stay before and after their cruise. It was great to read that you noticed the charm, character and history of The Sofia Hotel and experienced great service during your recent stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OFallon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

This was a quick trip through San Diego, and I wanted to stay within walking distance of restaurants. Good location, close to everything, excellent transportation options, close to Santa Fe Depot.
The room was small but lacking nothing, firm bed, wonderful bedding. Staff very helpful, courteous and friendly. The restaurant looked loud & dark but that was only near the bar. I ate an outstanding meal at Currant and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravlrInMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Much more than I expected after getting a great deal online. Arrived and had a serious problem with our room...the heater didn't work and it was blowing like 61 degrees into our already-chilly room! They let us see a second room and that furnace was making all kinds of awful noises too... Third time must be the charm here, because they upgraded us to a suite (with heat!) that was not only adorable, but had a super comfy bed, nice layout and space, and a working heater! I appreciated their desire to please and I would definitely return. The only downside is the price of parking bc we had two vehicles ($30 per night!) but oh well, c'est la vie! The best part: We got to bring our dog with us and he got the couch! (on a blanket, of course...)

Room Tip: They allow doggies!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarJasmine78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We read a lot of reviews about the Sofia Hotel prior to the booking. There was a great concern about the amount of space in the rooms and the semi glassed shower stall.
We arrived at the Sophia at 4 AM because of flight delays, we where pleasantly surprise with the room. We had just arrived from Hawaii and stayed at the Sofia 4 nights before boarding a ship to go through the Panama Canal. Our entire trip had a duration of 30 days so we where not traveling light. We had 2 wheeled carry on, two 26 inch suit cases and a 30 inch suit case. This all fit nicely in the room and there was lot of space to walk around. There was actually more room in the hotel room then our state room on the ship. We must say there was no room to dance but that we did at clubs since we where well situated.
The washroom served it purpose well and I am amused at people that say they flooded the room try showering in a washroom with just a telephone shower attached to the tub now that is challenging not the Sofia
The restaurant was nice, very good food but if you where expecting a 5 start restaurant you are kidding yourself. People need to set proper expectation when traveling.
The staff where more then willing to help and we did cram in a lot of thing in our 3 day stay in San Diego and a lot was done with the help of the concierge desk
We have traveled all over the world and we can tell you the Sofia hotel is a great spot, not the best suit at the Hilton but again not the cost of the best suit at the Hilton. It is great value for your money.

Room Tip: set your expectations to a resonable level when you travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottawa1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Bristol Hotel
The Bristol Hotel
#62 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Z - A Staypineapple Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#57 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#27 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sofia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sofia Hotel

Property: The Sofia Hotel
Address: 150 West Broadway, San Diego, CA 92101-3811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Business Hotel in San Diego
#59 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sofia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of San Diego, The Sofia Hotel offers luxurious accommodations to please every taste. Weather you are traveling for business or pleasure, you will indulge in an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Sofia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofia Hotel San Diego
Sofia San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing