We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and location, but not for everyone”
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #73 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 30, 2010

I stayed here a Saturday-Monday a few weeks ago and I really had a great time at this hotel. There is some high and low points to this hotel and I can see it will not be for everyone, but I wanted to share my experience.

STAFF: My girlfriend and I pulled up to the valet and were instantly greeted by a friendly attendant. Check in was a breeze: The staff noticed I was a Gold Hyatt Member and offered me a complimentary 2p check out (I didn't end up using it, but was quite happy with the offer). The staff escorted us up to our room and gave us all the instructions on using their complimentary Cadillac Escalade service and setting up a time for us to pick up our VIP passes for the club (included with the room). We ended up taking up the offer on the Cadillac service to and from a restaurant in down town and had great drivers that saved us the hassle of walking or cabbing, well worth giving them a tip!

Location: The hotel is right in the heart of Gas Lamp. Tons of great restaurants, pubs and nightlife to get yourself into. We did end up at the roof top club of the hotel. It was a great time, but the drink prices were RIDICULOUS. A mixed cocktail (Crown & Coke) is around 12-15 bucks so most of our drinking happened before the club. However, if you are here to party on a Friday/Saturday night, it is well worth checking it out.

Room: I was not a big fan of the room. We were in an Andaz Queen and it was real cramped (see pictures). The bathroom was also real compact and for some reason there was an open hole towel holder on the glass of the shower. This caused the whole bathroom to get full of water whenever we used the shower. I'm not sure about the other rooms, but I would probably consider trying to upgrade to a King if I stayed here again.

Surprisingly, I did not here any noise like other reviewers from the night club. I think it all depends on where you are located in the hotel and we were on the 3rd floor. The room did come with some complimentary soft drinks and bath robes in the closet.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends or another couple, but would not recommend it for my parents or a business traveler.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jay379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,514 - 1,520 of 1,634 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

The newly-rebranded Andaz San Diego is in the heart of San Diego's Gaslamp Quarter nightlife district, and is a destination for the cool and the hip. While the Hyatt-owned nameplate cometes with the established W brand, it does not feel like a copycat.

If you're on business or traveling with family, there may be better options in downtown, but if you are single or a couple, it is definitely worth a visit. The rooftop pool turns into a rocking bar at night, making the hotel lobby feel more nightclub than hotel, and there can be noise from other bars and clubs in the neighborhood.

A warning to anyone traveling with non-romantic interests: the Andaz has showers are all-class boxes that open into the bedroom, so there is no privacy.

On the positive side, soft drinks, snacks and wifi are complimentary, and they do put the hotel guests first.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sosweho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

We got a great rate on a room at this hotel through hotwire. After the booking when we received the name of the hotel, which was advertised on hotwire as 4.5 stars, we went to tripadvisor to read the reviews. We were pretty upset and disappointed to see all the negative reviews about the noise and the clubby atmosphere. But we went anyway, having paid our reservation in full, and hoped for the best. Well, we were pleasantly surprised and had an absolutely marvelous stay ! The hotel is beautiful and trendy and the staff is outstanding. Very impressive. At check in, knowing about the noise problem, we asked if they could put us in the quietest location possible. They graciously upgraded us to an executive king on the third floor, facing the street. We never heard any noise, all night long!!! Slept like babies. The room was beautifully furnished, the bed and linens were luxurious, and the mini bar was stocked with all kinds of wonderful things, some of which were complimentary. The giant tub was a treat too. If we knew we could get this room again, we would go back in a heartbeat. Not sure if we were just lucky, or if the hotel is making more of an effort to acomodate guests who like to sleep !!! All in all, we feel like we really lucked out with a great price for a beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HBLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

As already mentioned, problems with noise make Andaz a no go-er for most people travelling over a weekend. We had no issues with this except for Wednesday night, which was due to a nearby club rather than the hotel itself. Worth noting that we were on a room facing the street so I'm not sure if other rooms would prevent against this.
Pluses: location: easy walking distance into Gaslamp; lots of free snacks and drinks in the mini bar topped up daily; good bathroom (big bath) and size of room; nice pool and rooftop bar (which was virtually deserted when we went on a Monday); Free wireless; Everyone was helpful but it felt like there were a lot of staff with not much to do in the week.
Minuses: Clubby feel of the lobby not my idea of stylish, smells strongly of aftershave in the elevators!

If you know you're staying midweek and can get a get online deal as we did, then it's definitely a worthwhile Gaslamp option to consider. Otherwise you're probably better off elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

What a shame...a great restaurant and exceptional rooms are completely lost to the fact that this is not a hotel. It is a luxury youth hostel nightclub that anyone wishing to actually sleep will greatly regret. I ended up checking out of a very comfortable suite at 11:00PM and leaving to an inferior product at Se Hotel which was at the very least quiet. Go ahead...be lured in...but if the rooftop nightclub is open you will be subjected to a thumping bass drum of hell like you have never imagined. Don't believe this and all the other reviews here stating the same? Give it a go...if you are not driven crazy by the noise you are either deaf or 18.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyechip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Yes, we were warned, but this is basically 3 nightclubs with a hotel built around it. It's pretty noisy. If you're 21-25 and want to do nothing but party, good place to stay. Otherwise, it's loud and the rooms are Euro-styled, with a bath/shower in the middle of the room that leaks. Not an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hk283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Great hotel! Perfect location in the gas lamp area... service was amazing! Would definitly come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvztravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 286 in San Diego
416 reviews
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#38 of 286 in San Diego
2,097 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Address: 600 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6310
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $134 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing