We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern but a poorly designed hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #69 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern but a poorly designed hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a room with 2 beds facing the back. All the rooms in the back form a square with a small open space (or small court) in the middle. Unless the room is on one of the top floors, all these rooms in the back receive no sunlight. Yes, no sunlight in San Diego!! You can also see all the rooms below and above you. The room is just depressingly DARK. The architectural design doesn't make any sense. Now, the interior design is equally poor. There is not a single hook in the shower room to hang clothes or to hang a towel. There is no dresser. There are 2 drawers at the end of the bed, so you need to kneel down to use them. This hotel is just poorly designed. Thank god that we didn't get a room with a bathroom made of glass wall!!!!!
Some good things: snacks and most drinks in the fridge are free, and there are coffee and mini muffins in the lobby in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodenough2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    405
    173
    87
    63
See reviews for
94
563
75
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at this hotel a couple of times. Clean rooms, but be aware some rooms are very dark as they look inwardly onto other rooms. Great location, minutes away from the GasLamp District. Roof top bar was great and the food reasonably priced. Limited amount of minibar goodies including juice, crisps and chocolate. Free glass of wine in reception after 5pm, excellent friendly service.

Room Tip: Room over looking the main road. High rooms can get noise from the roof top bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Had an enjoyable one night stay
at this property as I was down for a seminar. Room was hip and unique. Enjoyed the amenities and shower layout was nice. Excellent location minutes to The GasLamp District. Roof Bar was nice and the staff are friendly. Wish I could have stayed longer. Will be back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kypros73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

From greeting to check out, everyone was as wonderful & helpful. It was a business trip, but your staff and the beautiful hotel made it the pleasurable! My husband was with me & it ended up being simply romantic! The beautiful bathtub was the centerpiece of our stay! Even though we were in the heart of the Gas Lamp district, we didn't want to leave our room, and with the complimentary mini bar, we didn't have to! You provided us (gratis) with things we had left behind & everyone was so gracious! Did I mention the eucalyptus bath salts? Wow! Dreamy! And the adorable touches (from room key to welcome cards in the room) made us smile. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Karan Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you are looking for something more upscale and modern, Andaz is the place to be!!! It absolutely fit my personal style, had an absolute upscale classy feel. The location is right in the heart of the gaslamp quarters, walking distance to nearby wonderful restaurants, bars, and clubs. I love love the rooftop with the city view. The bartender on the rooftop bar is great, friendly and attentive. The design of the hotel is just gorgeous!! This is not a boutique hotel so don't expect anything less then classy and modern!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMillerAndazSD, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Janice,

Thank you for your kind comments and I am so happy to hear that your stay was great. We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Jefffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Great ultra modern hotel. Friendly staff lovely room but very dark as only small window overlooking high rise. Great area for young people who want to party. However we thought the parking fees in L A were crazy but at this hotel even worse. 38 dollars a day! So be aware.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndac1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

From the minute we walked through the door and into the lobby the staff at the Andaz were so friendly and helpful, without being fake or making us feel like they were only doing it to get a tip. They really seemed to enjoy their jobs and it showed in the way they treat their guests.

The hotel is such a cute boutique hotel, with nice modern decor, beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, gorgeous bathroom, and amazing rooftop pool, lounge, and bar. For a boutique hotel I was pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and bathroom. Both are very spacious. The room comes with a mini fridge with complimentary soda, water, juice, and snacks. They also have some other snacks and liquor for purchase. The room also has a Keurig coffee maker for tea and coffee. The rooftop pool and lounge area were by far our favorite place to hang out. There is a view of the city to look at while relaxing on one of the outdoor beds, or while sitting at the pool. There's gas heaters and a gas fire pit so you can enjoy the roof even at night or on a colder day.

The location is also great, right in the middle of the Gaslamp quarter. We walked to some great restaurants and pubs and the outdoor mall. You can find just about anything you need in just a few short blocks. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love_to_travel72011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing