We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Chic”
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #67 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Modern Chic”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The service at this hotel is exceptional! This hotel has character with it's chic design throughout the hotel. The staff are very courteous and attentive. The food was very flavorful and plated very attractively. No complaints about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank TravellerluvsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    435
    178
    97
    67
See reviews for
103
601
79
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few wonderful nights. Him on a Conference and me 'shopping' :) I went to two shopping malls and they were both great - everything you could wish for.

This hotel which is a great boutique type hotel (Hyatt property) - 5 star - in the middle of the GasLamp Quarter of San Diego. Walk to everything! Wonderful, friendly service. Nice rooms (terrific use of mirrors to make rooms feel larger) Keurig coffee maker with flavored coffee. Free soft drinks and fridge full of wines and champagne if you wanted it. Free crisps/nuts/chocolate - not many hotels do that! Baths/shower in the middle of the room surrounded by glass - lol - very sexy and this is going to be in the next house I 'do up' :) Beautiful rooftop sitting area/bar/pool. We will definitely stay here again.

Staff are superb - if there is anything you want or need - you only have to ask and you get. Nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: The only thing I would say is to ask when booking - whether you want a shower in your room or a bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Housedoc2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited for a business trip. This is a very nice hotel located in a great spot in downtown in the Gaslamp district. Walking distance to tons of wonderful restaurants and two short blocks away from Westfield Horton Plaza with great shopping. Not a lot of storage for clothes. There was a closet but not a lot of other storage drawers. Shower was strange. Open to the rest of the floor in the bathroom. The front lobby staff was helpful and friendly. I would stay here again when in San Diego.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pettite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The good - easy check in, friendly staff, clean hotel and free in-room refreshments.

The bad - My room was on the 6th floor facing the Salvation Army. I was woken after midnight by a homeless person screaming from the Salvation Army. You should request to not be on that side of the hotel. The second night a couple entering their room, talking loud and playing music at 3 A.M as if it were the middle of the afternoon. I requested my room to be moved and the front desk did so graciously. I learned the hard way through bass thumping and window rattling music that on Friday evenings the rooftop just above the 6th floor becomes a club till 2 A.M. If you want to party in your room to loud music this is great. If you want to get a good nights rest, then this is not so good.

Room Tip: There is very loud music that can be heard till 2 A.M. in you room on Friday night due to the roofto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel was really nice, everything I would expect. The bathrooms were really great with large spacious showers. But, the most important thing I noticed was the customer service, the attention to detail was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RenoirF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The Andaz San Diego Hyatt hotel has an amazing staff that were empowered to help make my stay comfortable. All the little things that were provided in the room - robe, chocolate, etc, really made the stay memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

A great boutique type hotel (Hyatt property) in the middle of the GasLamp Quarter of San Diego. Walk to everything! Wonderful, friendly service. Nice rooms (terrific use of mirrors to make rooms feel larger) Keurig coffee maker with flavored coffee (a plus for me!) Beautiful rooftop sitting area/bar/pool. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Andaz

Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
1,997 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
991 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,452 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6310
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#24 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing