We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great rooftop Bar & Pool & Good Nightclub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #69 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great rooftop Bar & Pool & Good Nightclub”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I live 3 blocks down from the Andaz hotel and regularly visit the downstairs nightclub and frequent the rooftop bar for drinks and watching sunsets. The club itself is pretty good and also in the summer the rooftop bar is fantastic.
The hotel itself is located in the historic Gaslamp district and keeps its unique boutique feel as a Hyatt property.

Overall this hotel is normally more expensive that staying at the Manchester Grand Hyatt, but the location of the Andaz is far superior.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    405
    173
    87
    63
See reviews for
94
562
75
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel is located in the Gaslamp Quarter, walking distance to lots of good restaurants and the port of San Diego. Hotel staff was very attentive and bend over backwards to fulfill requests. Check-in and check-out was quick with no hassles. Our room was very nice and had an interesting layout. Instead of a wall separating the bedroom and the bathroom, there was a tub & shower, encased in glass, separating the two areas! This room would be good for couples, but not if you have children because of no privacy when you take a shower. I am sure they must have rooms that have more bathroom/shower privacy - not that we inquired since we were okay with the layout. The rooftop pool is smaller than how it is presented in the hotel photo gallery, however the rooftop area itself is pretty nice, lot of sitting area to just to relax and soak in the sun and the city. We enjoyed the Ivy Wine bar where we tasted all different kinds of wine starting at $1.50 a taste to $17+ for a more expensive wine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1923NK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear 1923NK2013,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay with us at Andaz San Diego. I am delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy our Ivy Wine Bar and sample a few delicious wines, and that our team was attentive and accommodating to your needs. Yes, we have many room options, many with different bathroom configurations. We hope that you will join us again for more visits to San Diego.
My best,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
674 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a good hotel - not great. We found service to be very good - the smiling staff is pleasant and efficient. The rooms (we had a junior suite) are interesting - high ceilings, modern decor, huge bathrooms - the tub is wonderful and you could have 8 people in the shower! Nice. The rooftop pool area is where we had breakfast each day - food and service were good. The hotel's location is interesting: the Gaslight district is the downtown newly-renovated area which is chock- full of interesting shopping and bustling restaurants. I see other hotel guests are commenting on the thumping music - sadly, it is true. Until AFTER 4am? Yes. I guess Andaz is going to have to make a choice between their young all-night party crowd and guests who travel for a good night's rest. I wonder why they can't just switch to some chilled-out music after 2am? Would the rock-star guests throw the furniture over the balcony?

Room Tip: The thumping club is on the roof, so try to get as far away as possible if you go to bed by 2am. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 493Ron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
128 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Located next to the Gaslight area in an old renovated building.

Great roof top pool that morphs into a nightclub on weekends. The only drawback is the sound carries down into the guest rooms on the higher floors (anyone for thumping bass all night?).

Early morning room service seems to have a challenge filling orders in a timely manner, so don't expect to easily grab a quick breakfast before an early flight.

The rooms are sleek. I had a loft suite with plenty of space, a great bed, a mini bar with lots of freebies (and a clear view into all the rooms on the other side of the hotel, which means privacy can be dicey).

This isn't a place I'd bring my kids to, but I'd certainly come back with my spouse.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear NumbersAtlanta,
Thank you for sharing details about your stay with us at Andaz San Diego. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooftop pool, and that the Andaz Suite was to your liking. Thank you for your comment about room service as well, I will make sure to pass that information on. We hope to welcome you and your spouse back for future visits to San Diego!
Warm regards,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I travel across the country for work, and I'm on the road about half of the year. I was completely exhausted from traveling for work over the last 25 days, and needed to recharge the batteries. I decided to stay at the Andaz down in the Gaslamp, where I could check out a Padre game with some friends and enjoy a night out. It was FANTASTIC! This was the best hotel experience I've had in years, and the staff was absolutely exceptional. The food was great, the pool was fun, but the service was the best. They really made the stay-cation feel like a true vacation.

I would definitely recommend the Andaz hotel to anyone! I'll see you again soon!

Room Tip: My room had two beds, was on the 5th floor, and was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Michael L,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your stay with us at Andaz San Diego. I am delighted to hear that your “stay-cation” was a true success, and that our team was able to provide to you with the wonderful experience that you desired. We are excited to welcome you again for future visits!
Best,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here during the Rock n Roll marathon in June. The staff was nice. Room was adequate....though I was not thrilled with the cleaniless. Surface clean...but then not really (bobby pin on the floor, hair, a packet from someone's conference tucked beside the chair). The rooftop pool and bar are fantastic! Great views and drinks. The location is perfect for getting around downtown. I'll definitely go back. (Oh, and it is dog friendly!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhodges71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved the Andaz and had an awesome stay, but I must give the disclaimer that my husband has platinum status with Hyatt (Andaz is part of the Hyatt chain) so they may have affected what room we were given or what not.

The hotel looks AWESOME, very modern and hip without being sterile or cold looking. We requested and received an early check-in, no problems. The check-in staff greet you in lobby with an ipad, you don't even have to walk over the front desk. It's a small and simple thing, but it's a nice touch as if feels very personal. The staff was also very attentive and friendly.

The room was really great and beautiful! Again very modern and trendy but still super comfy to be in. As in usual with a boutique hotel, the room is not "big" but still plenty of room... big super comfy king bed, quite big desk/table area, VERY well stocked bar, etc.

About the noise everyone complains of... we stayed here on the Saturday night before running the R&R 1/2 marathon, so sleep was VERY important to us. We went to bed on the early side and I remember being able to hear some music and it was just loud enough that I was having some trouble falling asleep, so I got up to investigate and realized there was a window propped open. It's hard to explain how the windows are in these rooms (really large windows that do not open in a typical way) but it was NOT obvious that there was a window open. I looked outside in the courtyard facing other rooms and saw that almost all of them had the window propped open, so it seems that is how the set up the room for you, maybe for fresh air. Once I shut mine, I could hear nothing and slept soundly. It really sealed the room from the noise! I can't be sure, but I would wager a bet that some people having trouble with noise had a window slightly open and didn't know.

We received a late check-out the next day with no issues and after our event had brunch at the roof-top restaurant and it was delicious!! Really great food, coffee, and mimosas! There was a bar and pool up top as well. The only disappointment we had was that there was no hot tub, which would have been awesome after running the 1/2 marathon. But I don't fault them for this because it wasn't advertised as such and it's not typical for a boutique hotel.

The location is obviously awesome! Right in the heart of downtown, walking distance to all the of the Gaslamp. We also walked to the convention center, Balboa Park, and Petco.

The Andaz is quite expensive (even parking is valet only and $35/day!) but we got the really nice hotel and urban "boutique" experience we were paying for. Our stay was excellent and I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: I would recommend choosing a room midway up, facing the inside, and find and close the open window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear MerryA,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share detailed feedback about your stay. I am so glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our rooftop restaurant and pool, and that our décor and atmosphere were pleasing to you. Thank you for your recommendation as well, your referral is truly our biggest compliment. We hope to see you again for many more visits!
Warm regards,
Rusty Middleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
1,898 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 279 in San Diego
960 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#46 of 279 in San Diego
2,382 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F Street, Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing