We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #74 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The room was well cleaned everyday and the complimentary beverages were convenient. however it was obvious that the furniture is worn from maybe a lot of hotel room parties. definitely a baby sister hotel of the grand hyatt and it's class. in the middle of the night there were guests in nearby rooms constantly exiting and entering neighboring rooms and speaking loudly at 2/3/4 am. it wasn't just fri and sat night.

great room service, very prompt and the food & bev staff were very warm and interactive.

felt the the lobby needed a good clean/shine, despite the number of people they have entering and exiting this area, it should still maintain a level of shiny lively cleanliness.

the reception staff were pleasant, all the ladies were nice, there was one chap that unfortunately was not very helpful. i had asked him for thoughts on how to get to the las americas outlets, he was adamant that it was not possible to take the Trolley but instead only by taxi, car hire or limo service. you can definitely take the Trolley down that way and a 15min walk to the outlets. Similarly, there are many buses nearby to the hotel in which you can take to Fashion Valley, USS Midway and even the local airport. Taxi's are abundant and the hotel location is close to restaurants and several Trolley stop points (10+min walk in whichever direction). there wasn't an obvious concierge desk so i assume the staff would be wearing dual hats to service guests properly.

Overall, still think it was a great hotel in comparison to the others located in the area, but staff should probably become more familiar with the common questions and answers and if they aren't sure, the best answer might be 'let me just look it up for you or check with my colleague'.

Not the W hotel, but i felt it was a similar theme.

Room Tip: booked a king room not facing the street or near the elevators for less noise. bathroom a decent siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel. Lots of complimentary snacks and drinks with the room. Clean, modern decor. Excellent service and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Only complaint was noise in room-right behind elevator on 6th floor led to rumbling constantly and early on the morning there was noise from the roof that sounded like furniture being dragged for at least an hour. I would definitely stay here again but not in room 634.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear GVB23,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our fresh feel and that our staff could accommodate your needs, I will make sure to pass on the compliment to our team. Please let me know if I can be of any assistance in booking your next stay with us to ensure that you are in a more quiet location.
Kind regards,
Rusty Middleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel was great in every way... very very clean rooms.. glass walls, glass showers, and nice setup all around... very nice rooftop bar with fantastic crowds and the poolside is nice too. All the staff have been super awesome and professional since I've been here and I've been here for 2 weeks. They almost go outta of their way to make sure I was taken care of. The location is in middle of Gaslamp so only blocks from Petco or steps from 5th Ave. I rate the gym a little low since not much equipment and I was hoping for a sauna, but it works for a little cardio. Breakfast isn't free but is made to order and fantastic views since it's on the rooftop. Plenty of amenities around. Highly recommend!!

Room Tip: some of the views are better than others... if you can get a room on the front side of the hotel, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koronakidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusty_Middleton, General Manager at Andaz San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Koronakidd,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and amenities and that the staff was accommodating to your needs. We hope to welcome you back for future stays. Thank you as well for your recommendation, your referral is our biggest compliment!
All the best,
Rusty Middleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yes,no place to unpack suitcase. Very small room Bathroom has no door Shower leaked all over floor. Service and attentiveness of staff great, room service quick and good, valet expensive but expected. Rooftop bar great but was raining the 3 days we were there Close to everything

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterdr1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Chic hotel just east of main gaslamp streets. Cool rooms if you get a larger one. Keurig coffee room, wonderful staff and close to resturants. Awesome roof pool and bar and lounge. GREAT food for breakfast lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the street. The views aren't great as you are in town but the roof top pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had a very short stay so I can't comment on all the amenities as I normally would. I was really wowed by the art and design of this hotel, from the large painting in the reception area to the European-style bath/shower in my room. It was a treat to visit the rooftop bar at night and gaze across the pool at beautiful views of the San Diego's Gaslamp district and the rest of the city. A large blue-flamed fire pit kept us warm on the roof in the evening, as did the bright sunlight at breakfast on the roof the next day. I found the staff incredibly responsive and helpful. The location is perfect for a San Diego "city life" visit (rather than a beaches/hiking/watersports-style visit). I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank time2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a suite here and the room was amazing. Saw the standard room and it is a little small. However, if you're not spending a lot of time in the room, then the standard is fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooftop bar is very nice. Good vibe on a Saturday---yes, drinks are expensive, but welcome to going out downtown!

Room Tip: If you can afford suite, upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennnickrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#36 of 278 in San Diego
2,060 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#51 of 278 in San Diego
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#47 of 278 in San Diego
2,484 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 278 in San Diego
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Address: 600 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $170 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing