We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put a drawer in the room”
Review of Andaz San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andaz San Diego
Ranked #71 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Put a drawer in the room”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yes,no place to unpack suitcase. Very small room Bathroom has no door Shower leaked all over floor. Service and attentiveness of staff great, room service quick and good, valet expensive but expected. Rooftop bar great but was raining the 3 days we were there Close to everything

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdr1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    784
    429
    176
    96
    66
See reviews for
99
595
78
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sawyer Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Chic hotel just east of main gaslamp streets. Cool rooms if you get a larger one. Keurig coffee room, wonderful staff and close to resturants. Awesome roof pool and bar and lounge. GREAT food for breakfast lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the street. The views aren't great as you are in town but the roof top pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had a very short stay so I can't comment on all the amenities as I normally would. I was really wowed by the art and design of this hotel, from the large painting in the reception area to the European-style bath/shower in my room. It was a treat to visit the rooftop bar at night and gaze across the pool at beautiful views of the San Diego's Gaslamp district and the rest of the city. A large blue-flamed fire pit kept us warm on the roof in the evening, as did the bright sunlight at breakfast on the roof the next day. I found the staff incredibly responsive and helpful. The location is perfect for a San Diego "city life" visit (rather than a beaches/hiking/watersports-style visit). I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank time2getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had a suite here and the room was amazing. Saw the standard room and it is a little small. However, if you're not spending a lot of time in the room, then the standard is fine. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooftop bar is very nice. Good vibe on a Saturday---yes, drinks are expensive, but welcome to going out downtown!

Room Tip: If you can afford suite, upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennnickrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Very cool, sophisticated vibe at the rooftop nightclub. Tons of people nicely dressed. Drinks seemed a little overpriced, bartenders seemed too swamped for friendly service. We didn't stay at the hotel, but had a really nice tour of a couple of rooms by a helpful staff member. They're sleek and nice, if a little small.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wife&Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed at Andaz this week in Gaslamp District. Lovely, trendy and newer boutique hotel by Hyatt. Beautiful rooms with excellent staff. Heated swimming pool on the roof (with a bar close by) with 24 hour gym and lots included in the rate. Close to everything. - Convention Center, shopping, yummy restaurants, and baseball stadium can be seen from roof just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Don't take a room 1 (e.g. 401) on any floor as it backs up to elevators. Higher numbered rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,Ca.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great customer service. Everyone from valet to club security super friendly and considerate. We did have a minor housekeeping issue. Apparently, we either had a bathroom flood or a flood in the hallway in front of our room. We had a giant fan in the hallway drying the carpet from the time we checked in until we checked out. We also had a soggy carpet spot in our room. We understand things happen. It didn't affect our stay but soggy carpet is a little gross. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ygeyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#41 of 278 in San Diego
1,981 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
984 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#44 of 278 in San Diego
2,432 reviews
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz San Diego

Property: Andaz San Diego
Address: 600 F St, San Diego, CA 92101-6310
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#25 Green Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#36 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz San Diego Hotel San Diego
Ivy Hotel San Diego
Ivy San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing